We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere, avagare food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pussirohukelder

Pussirohukelder
Lossi 28, Tartu 51003, Estonia
37 27 30 35 55
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 86 Restaurants in Tartu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $21
Cuisines: Brew Pub, Pub
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Finland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice atmosphere, avagare food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Visited here first at lunch time but just for beer. At least during weekend more tourist groups then local. Certainly worth of visit during day time also.
We also had dinner with our group at same place. We had pre-ordered menu - food was good but quite salty. When one of group members mentioned this to waitress, all got free small drink.
Service was good even waitresses were very busy during evening hours.
I would recommend this to friends and also visit there again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    44
    18
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Highest pub in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Travelling to Tartu,Estonia many times we always visit this, very special place. It is included in Guinness World record book as highest pub in the world with height of roof more than 10 m. Really great food, fantastic beer and atmosphere of olden times,periodically live music.Many regular visitors have their own mugs for beer with written name and their are hanged out around the pub.If it is need, very kindly staff, just take it off...to enjoy taste of beer. Very, very special place!!!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pori, Finland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“To party”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Live music, food was good. Friendly staff. Restaurants specialty is red beer. Here you can find people aged between 18 to 80 years.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
126 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“perfect atmosphere with great beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

it is the best place in Tartu to drink beer. the small home beer is 50cl and is for 2.2€, the big beer is 1L and is for 2.5€. and it is delicious!!! if you like beer you must go there!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great ambiance, great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Went to eat here on recommendation from locals. We were early, so it was not crowded. Many tourists came in to first of all make pictures of the place. The pub is actually mentioned in Guinness Book of Records for having the heighest ceiling in the world (11m). Food was really good - both wild boar and rabbit were fresh and tasty. Children's menu with excellent choice (for our kids, at least). Service was good with honest advice on the size of portions - they made us pick 3 deserts instead of 5. Best of all: we paid half the price we we would have paid in Western Europe. The only downside: food was not served for all at the same time, but this seems a common thing in Estonia.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pussirohukelder also viewed

Tartu, Tartu County
Tartu, Tartu County
 
Tartu, Tartu County
 

Been to Pussirohukelder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pussirohukelder, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.