We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding: what more can one wish for?!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antonius Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Antonius Hotel to your Saves list
Antonius Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ulikooli 15, Tartu 51003, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Tartu
Szeged
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Outstanding: what more can one wish for?!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The room (16 only): functional, comfortable, high quality and very elegant but not girlish.
The hotel: antiques, fresh flowers, best breakfast buffet/a la carte ever! Staff that goes out of its way to help the guests etc.
As this time I was not able to bring a computer of my own, I was happy I could use a computer which the hotel has available for their guests.
I actually have only been experiencing this kind of service and quality in high end Asian hotels!

I needed to visit the university. right across the street. But just around the corner is the town square. And shopping centers are also within walking distance.

Room Tip: 205 and 306 can only be reached over a courtyard, which might not be very nice depending on the weat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    23
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
47
13
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands England
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

This a lovely friendly hotel.
The reception staff were very helpful.
The breakfast was excellent and again staffed by very nice ladies.
The hotel was quiet and the superior room beautiful. I wish I'd stayed longer just to stay in the room.
So all made a little disappointing by the dangerous and, to me, just plain wired "wet room".
What do continentals see in these????
They're slippery and thus dangerous and, well, wet .
I believe one can request a room with a shower or even a bath which had I been there more than one night I would have done.
Other than that - lovely.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

hotel in the heart of the old town opposite the university, we stayed in deluxe room on the top floor, the rooms are large clean, decorated in the old style, but without towel dryer. Breakfast nice a large choice (do not sit on a diet). Parking is really cheap, but access narrowish s500 not fit. Restaurant worthy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I decided to book a room in this 5 star hotel for a conference I attended in Tartu because of its fair price (100 euro per night). My stay there turned to be one of the most memorable experiences for me. The hotel is situated in a historical building, and keeps its charm with the furniture, basment dining room, great food, and - most importantly - best attitude I ever experienced from hotel staff. Location is also good (short walk from the city center, about 5-10 minute walk from the concention center. I recommend without any reservation!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
258 helpful votes 258 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We spent a night in a double room with a bath. Attentive service, excellent restaurant, extraordinary breakfast.

The hotel is only three years "old". It was renovated with style and the hotel has romantic atmosphere and the rooms are comfortable.
This hotel has good gourmet food stylish restaurant!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I shared a twin room with a friend when I was in Tartu June 21st - June 23rd for a wedding.
The most impressive thing is the quality of service and atmosphere.
The staff were exceptionally pleasant to deal with and very attentive. The staff seemed genuinely friendly and there was nothing forced in their manners.
The staff were up front about any extra charges which were reasonably priced and good value. I was able to completely switch off from the normal hassle of traveling. The car, luggage and pressing of my clothes were all taken care of for me, and I didn't have to worry about a huge bill for extra services at the end due to them being so up front about costs.
I really liked the style of the hotel and it was in very good condition.
This was probably my best hotel experience ever and the next time I'm in Tartu I will definitely be trying to use this Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
256 helpful votes 256 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Stayed here for one night and loved it. This is truely a botique hotel with charming, comfortable rooms with great decor. Hotel is in a great spot, surrounded by restaurants and near some of the major sights, and a short walk to the bus station and river. If your staying in Tartu, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Antonius Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antonius Hotel

Address: Ulikooli 15, Tartu 51003, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Tartu County > Tartu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Tartu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Antonius Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Antonius is a charming and luxurious boutique hotel in the centre of Tartu, directly opposite the university. This brand new hotel offers 16 romantic suites and rooms on 4 floors. The decoration and design of each room was carefully chosen and thought out, combining special colour and wallpaper patterns, wall paintings, fireplaces, stoves, and antique furniture. Some rooms have amazing views of nearby Tartu University, while others face the old town’s red roofs. The Antonius Hotel is located in a building with a long and dignified history, being first mentioned in the historical records of the 16th century. During the subsequent centuries the building was home to a hat shop, the Livonian Noblemen’s Manor House Credit Association, and the famous Guild of Saint Antonius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Antonius Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antonius Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.