We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terviseks

Terviseks
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Terviseks to your Saves list
Terviseks
Raekoja Plats 10, Tartu 51003, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Tartu
Giessen, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Awesome.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I'm not very hostel-experienced, but I'm pretty sure it doesn't get much better than Terviseks. The staff is incredibly nice, all rooms are clean, the kitchen has everything you need. It felt like staying at a friend's place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    4
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
2
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Terviseks is a really cozy place. It doesn't look like any ordinary hostel I've been to, it looks like you are actually staying at someone's place. It has a living room and kitchen at your disposal, and two bathrooms. The location couldn't have been better, located on the top floor of a building in the middle of Raekoja Plats, the town square. The staff is also really friendly, helpful and welcoming. I stayed here for two nights in april, I really wish there was more to do in Tartu so that I could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

This place is great!, my first experience in a hostel and I loved it. The staff where very nice, Christian is great to deal with and also very good at pub music quizzes (so he tells us). We visited Tartu on part of a stag do road trip. It's a beautiful place with lots to see! We did the le ale coq brewery tour and had such a great time.

The rooms where clean and secure the shower and toilet also.

Thanks guys and gals

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Puerto de Santa María, Andalucia, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Great and clean hostel in the middle of Tartu! I'd love to spend there an another night or two anytime! It was spotless, cozy and fun!
We were the only guest at the time. But there were a few other people staying there also so it was nice.

The breakfast was okay- the normal hostel one. The staff were helpful but we didn't talk with them much cause we arrived so late.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Great Hostel, very friendly helpfull stuff, and most possible perfect location on mainsquare!
Nothing to complain about. If you stay in Tartu, which is a great students packed town, you will enjoy it here for sure! worth the price

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Well, I have been in 15 cities over 45 days and this hostel is by far the best one. Wonderful staff, large kitchen, cool hang out room. plenty of bathrooms too! Great location. The place feels very spacious and they are not looking to jam a lot of people in the rooms. I stayed in a dorm room a few nights and the private room a few nights and both were very comfortable. There are often festivals on the main square and you can sit in the 4th floor window sill and watch the festivals and other people passing by.
The staff is fantastic and caring. I asked to borrow an iron and the girl ironed the shirt for me. They just tend to go out of their way to make you feel at home. The mix of people visiting this hostel also leads to a nice vibe among fellow travelers from all over the world.
I would highly recommend Terviseks to anyone who is either just passing through or needs to stay for a week or two.

Room Tip: book ahead since they get full. All rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This was one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in. Superb location on the main square in Tartu, with a huge kitchen and lounge, as well as spacious and bright rooms and dorms. Beds were comfortable and big.
The staff were friendly and helpful, and had suggestions for things to see and places to drink/eat.

Room Tip: I didn't stay in this room, but one dorm is in a flat over the main square and could be noisy of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Terviseks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terviseks

Address: Raekoja Plats 10, Tartu 51003, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Tartu County > Tartu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Tartu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terviseks is a home away from home for travellers wanting to visit Tartu and explore the South of Estonia. Our Backpackers Bed and Breakfast, located on the Town Square, is run by Canadians, English and Estonians who will make you feel as welcome and as comfortable as possible. Tartu is Estonia's University Town and home to 20,000 students so you don't need to ask if you can find a good party here! There are several quirky little museums so if you want to see a 5kg pair of testicles, or the actual offices that the KGB worked in you can do it in Tartu. If that is too much you can simply enjoy the parks, old buildings and river. We were responsible for the twice winner of Hostelworld's "Best in Country" and bring all that experience and knowledge of the town to our, and your, new home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Terviseks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terviseks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.