We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not usually my thing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Olde Hansa

Olde Hansa
Vana Turg 1, Tallinn 10140, Estonia
+3726279020
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 599 Restaurants in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $31
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The medieval restaurant Olde Hansa is the home of a rich merchant, whose guests enjoy delicious, authentic Hansa-era meals and drinks, true period music and always friendly service. All of the dishes on the menu, including many wild game delicacies, are cooked using 15th century recipes and methods. Medieval musicians delight the guests every night of the week except Mondays. Tallinn Card holders receive a sweet treat with every meal purchased - a bag of freshly roasted almonds, on the house!
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Not usually my thing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Olde Hansa is a medieval theme restaurant set on three floors of an ancient building in the old town of Tallinn. With the staff in costume and acting in period , candlelight and the menu to match it is aimed at the tourists and could be just terrible. What saves it is that the staff are so friendly and enthusiastic about what they do, and that actually the food is rather good. It is authentic feeling food, well prepared and tasty and gives you a chance to try game and rabbit, even bear.
Personally, I am not sure it really works for couples, but I can see that it would be a lot of fun if there was a group of you, especially if you had a few drinks first. Two courses plus beer for the two of us came to €70 so it isn't horribly expensive.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,014
    677
    275
    111
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Amazing medieval dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

I had dinner in Olde Hansa my first day in Tallinn, and I wish I ate there every single day. The staffs are fantastic, they wear all these medieval costumes, act and talk in a way that makes you feel you're in Westeros. I was walking up the stairs to the second floor when in the corner someone offered to pour water for me to wash my hand. I was totally geeking out. The food was completely medieval, I even ate with my hands, though I wouldn't say the taste was fantastic but it was pretty good. In the middle of the meal, we enjoyed a ladies trio playing music, you know flutes, tiny drums and so on they were amazing. And great honey beer too!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“You need to visit while in Tallinn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

My husband and I went this evening. Great atmosphere, authentic surroundings and costumes. You eat by candle light . Staff are polite and friendly. We recommend the honey beer and the mushroom soup was delicious. €74 for 2 courses and a round of drinks. Make sure you check out the bathrooms !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Medieval experience in the centre of the Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

This is an excellent themed Medieval Restaurant and bar in the centre of Tallin. The staff are in Medieval costumes and the food is presented in ancient style. It is a must for anyone who is on holiday in the area.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great medieval experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

i was in Tallinn last weekend for my birthday we found this restaurant on the first night but decided to leave it till the sunday my actual birthday. What a great find it was too all the staff were helpful and freindly, the atmosphere was a lot of fun you could tell a lot of effort had been put in. The most important bit is the food! It was fantastic the portions are generous and it tastes fantasic! Would definitely recommend to anyone in Tallinn!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olde Hansa also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Olde Hansa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olde Hansa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.