We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ribe

Ribe
Vene tn 7, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
+372 631 3084
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 599 Restaurants in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $21
Cuisines: French, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

good menu, lovely cheese soup and choclate marble cake (More cheese cake than what id call cake) you can eat outside or sit in nice staff

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    90
    23
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Over priced and over complicated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Went there following suggestions from a local friend but were highly disappointed by both service and food.
Ambience is nice, you can see that they have spent some time and resources trying to make the place comfortable and cozy, but there it stops unfortunately.
Our waitress never smiled (even when I asked her too) and food was a terrible mixture of so many spices that was impossible to distiguish one taste from another. Even a simple thing like the mozzarella salad (Caprese) was so overspiced that I needed 2 glasses of water to wash out my mouth and get the feeling of the bred again.
Most probably they think to serve excellent and imaginative food but to me the result is honestly embarrassing, like experimenting with something you have never done before and see what happens.
Cheery on the cake we paid almost 120$ for 2 people so we definitely reccomend to avoid the place!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great potential but overcomplicated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We visited Ribe for dinner. The restaurant is well designed and the service was excellent. The chefs are talented and are able to make and deliver exceptional food, however, they put far too many flavours on one plate that cancel each other out. We had a starter of mozarella ice cream, tomato jam, tomatoes etc etc. Separately all the items on the plate were delicious but together all we could taste was the jam. We then had confit lamb neck with a goats cheese crust, lamb croquette, aubergine, yoghurt gel and potatoes. The dish would have been much improved without the goats cheese, which overpowered the superb lamb, also the aubergine which added nothing to the plate. I think the chef has the potential for a michelin star but needs to have the confidence to put less on the plate and think about how everything works together, rather than too many items fighting and over powering each other.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Stylish and tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This restaurant is in the very centre Vene str,7 Tallinn we visited in August 2012& The modern style together with exquisite serving of meals and the food is delicious. In my opinion, it suits better for a romantic supper. Enough space for tables for two persons, waiters and waitresses are quite helpful and service is timely organised.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
256 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Average all round...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The service at this place is terrible. They are rude and abrupt and need to learn how to smile. Are you trying to run a business?
Food was very good and the seating on the footpath is very pleasant. If the service improved, this place would be great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ribe also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Ribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ribe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.