We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad at all” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Peking

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Peking
Muurivahe 52, Tallinn 10140, Estonia
+3726440571
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #507 of 599 Restaurants in Tallinn
Price range: $22 - $29
Cuisines: Chinese
Description: Peking Restaurant is located in Muurivahe Street in the very heart of the Old Town of Tallinn. All lovers of Chinese cuisine are welcome. We await all lovers of Oriental cuisine.
Restaurant details
Description: Peking Restaurant is located in Muurivahe Street in the very heart of the Old Town of Tallinn. All lovers of Chinese cuisine are welcome. We await all lovers of Oriental cuisine.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not bad at all”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

If you are jonesing for Chinese food, you could do worse than Peking. The food isn't bad, but obviously more catered to Estonian tastes. But the prices are quite good if you are travelling from wealtheir parts of the world. They had buffets and pri fixe menus, when I went

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    0
    1
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
“Terrible atmosphere, substandard food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Visited restaurant on Chinese New Year with some expectations concerning the celebrations. Unwelcoming atmoshpere, waitress forgot what we ordered, cold (literally), now much people that night but still the waiting time was exceptioanally long. The food ordered tasted the very same - lamb, veal and speciality (bulls balls) all teasted the very same and consisted mostly of veggies - difficult to pinpoint any meat in there. Duck was little bit better, but also mostly veggies, not much duck. DO not go! And then we were charged pretty hefty bill - EUR84 for two, incl only two glasses of wine.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Very poor quality!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Very slow waitress, had to ask twice to bring a menu, were told to wait for 40 minutes for our order (of course, we didn't!), and when we asked for black tea, the waitress brought us karkade!!! Shame!!!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Reasonable food spoilt by surly service and unwelcoming atmosphere”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

I don't know who the owner of this restaurant is, but he or she should get some new staff in, particularly those who were serving on 19 August 2010. See Tallinn life for further reviews, but we went here twice and were reasonably satisfied. The third night - and remember we had tipped quite generously like the silly foreigners we are - we were met with an overtly hostile response, such that we walked out. We are three middle aged and respectably dressed people, and this was an empty restaurant each time we visited. Two of the meals on the two nights were standard ok sort of westernised Chinese fare, but on each night one of the meals was above average ("sizzling chicken curry" on the second night). To me, if you are the manager of an empty restaurant when every other restaurant in Tallinn is full, and you are doing food that is above mediocre, you should ask some serious questions. Get rid of the boot faced madam who tells you where to sit, I would!

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Standard fare delivered...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2007

Standard fare delivered relatively slowly and not very hot when I was there. Maybe they had an off day.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peking also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Peking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peking, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.