We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food. Great music” 4 of 5 stars
Review of African Kitchen

African Kitchen
Uus 32/34, Tallinn, Estonia
+3726442555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #199 of 546 Restaurants in Tallinn
Cuisines: African, Vegetarian, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Our restaurant offers a wide range of African dishes which our chefs have made even more mouthwatering in their own special ways. Our wait staff will be happy to help you choose a meal. Our careful selection of music means that every minute you spend in African Kitchen is as pleasurable as possible. So sit back, relax and enjoy!
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food. Great music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Nice and cosy atmosphere with trendy music not very loud but not too feeble that you will ignore it. Food was ample and yummy. We tried the vegetarian oritaiko and the vegetarian ebe. Both were well made. I have never had authentic African before. So it sounded a bit Asian to me with well cooked vegetables in curry (sweet or spicy). Only complain is the seating. We were sitin inside and the tables are low tables. Which made us lean forward for every spoon. Otherwise a place worth a try, and esp if you prefer vegetarian.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    59
    25
    18
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aachen, Germany
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fair quality, but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Heard about the restaurant from a city guide and from ads in a local restaurant guide. had great expectations, but they were not fulfilled. Food is not bad, but also nothing special. Prices are o.k.. Pro: The building is quite interesting - and there is a terrace on the roof.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Vegetarian Yumminess”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had a really nice meal and few drinks here one April night. Great relaxed atmosphere and really nice food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good food and reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We were 8 persons and booked a table same day from the roof terrace. Place is really attractive and the young staff were smiling all the time, even that they did forget to bring the wine, but food was super. We all ate different meals and yes, we did enjoy it. We will go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Food 5 stars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

So the food was amazing, absolutely no complaint there.
They have a great selection of cocktails which they couldn't make for us the night we went and it took more than an hour for our food to come, so we got a little irritable and more annoyed than we should have been about the cocktails.
I would go back and give them another go.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed African Kitchen also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to African Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage African Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.