We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delicious food, good service and cozy atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Le Chateau

Restaurant Le Chateau
Lai 19, Tallinn 10133, Estonia
+3726650928
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #104 of 599 Restaurants in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $36
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Stepping into Le Chateau is like travelling back in time to 17th century France, when the chefs serving Louis XIV and his court were coming up with completely new ways of preparing and serving food. This led to the birth of haute cuisine, which is the foundation of modern cooking. Le Chateau is continuing this tradition, offering haute cuisine in an authentic atmosphere of The Three Musketeers. Our chefs not only prepare the classics, but also contemporary dishes.
Kyiv,, Ukraine
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“delicious food, good service and cozy atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

After several unsuccessful attempts to have a table in one of the restaurants in the old town we came upon Le Chateau and were lucky to have a table. Since then we have had dinner there till the last day spent in Tallinn. The food was perfect - tasty and fresh, but be careful when making the order - portions are very big (and delicious) and you risk to put on several kg afterwards ;) Soup is served in the tureen and 1 portion will be enough for 2. We tried different kinds of main courses and I can't say which one was the best as each was savoury and interesting (lamb, pork, duck). I also must admit, that we had there the best mulled wine ever - spicy, with almonds and raisins, so good in winter time. The restaurant itself is situated in the basement of old building. Decorated on medieval style - simple but cozy, with candles sharing the warm light. Waiters are all friendly and attantive.
Everything in the place makes it a perfect place to spend an evening - relaxing and enjoying every moment.
For one immense dinner for 2 you would spend around 40-60 Euro.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    27
    10
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parainen, Finland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cozy cellar staurant with pretty good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

As it is hard to find restaurants in Tallinn that clearly list glutein-free items of the menu, we ended up in Le Chateau with no particular expectations. It turned out to be a really nice choice! With pretty young, extremely friendly staff and an old-style but simple interior the overall atmosphere was nice and relaxed. The starter soups were not particularly interesting but the slice of bread served with the mushroom soup was very good. For the main course we decided to go with boar and lamb. Boar was served in a pot (the most common presentation in Estonia from my experience) and quite okay. The lamb was an entirely different matter. At least my serving was absolutely fantastic, with perfectly cooked texture, a spicy sauce and herbs. The sides of creamy potatoes and fried vegetables were okay but the portions unnecessary large... The pretty inexpensile bottle of Malbec fulfilled the tasty meal.
A very nice dining experience all in all, with a no-frills and warm medieval atmostphere

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Tasty, cozy, medieval and French”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

After a few disappointments with Italian restaurants, this French retreat proved to be a very nice change. It is cozy, atmospheric and nice all around – located in medieval building, with candle lit halls and vaulted ceilings, leather bound menus, appropriate music of just a right volume, tasty food and generous portions. Waiters are nicely dressed and very attentive, polite and friendly. The menu and the food arrived in the blink of an eye. When we visited Le Chateau Friday evening, it was pleasantly full and buzzing with different languages (Swedish, German, Estonian, English).

There is one of the rare occasions when you can find a lot of seductive and interesting things to choose from in the menu. It is not haute cuisine where they draw with the food; here you eat, enjoy and feel like a nobleman of medieval times in a hunting season.

We had onion soup which came in a tureen with a plate of excellent home-baked bread, and one portion was more than enough for two. This is the only place in Tallinn we managed to find which was serving duck thigh instead of usual boring dry breast. We found duck too salty, however ratatouille was excellent – way better than the one we had in Nice.

For one soup, two mains, a cake and a bottle of wine we paid 55 eur.

It is a real danger that you get a medieval belly if you visit this place regularly. It feels that we are already in the process.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly service, themed costumes and nice location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

We went on a wet fall Tuesday evening and there were not many other patrons. The cellar was a warm, welcome, candle-lit respite from the damp night air. Service was also warm and friendly. My onion soup and rosemary lamb were just right. My wife chose oso bucco which was huge, but good. ( photo attached.) Would recommend for a nice tourist evening in Old Town Tallinn.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Huge portions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I visited this reasturant twice: march and september 2012. Both times we enjoyed a lot. The food is deliccius and the portions are really huge. The personnel is very friendly and professional. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Le Chateau also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Restaurant Le Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Le Chateau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.