We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute fantastic find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Von Krahli Aed

Von Krahli Aed
8 Rataskaevu, Tallinn, Estonia
+372 626 90 88
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 547 Restaurants in Tallinn
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Chester
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“An absolute fantastic find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed only a few doors away from here and from the outside it wasn't anything to look at. However, once you step inside it's completely different. Very olde worlde, ambient lighting and cosy.

The staff couldn't have been more helpful or friendly. The food was fantastic, very tasty and the best we've had so far in Tallinn. It definitely deserves it's rating in Tripadvisor. We had the house red wine which was very good, and a lamb and beef dish. Neither of which we could fault. We finished off sharing a chocolate dessert which was just enough for us.

I would highly recommend this restaurant as one of the best I've ever been to anywhere. Don't miss out by not going here!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    688
    255
    47
    27
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Nice food and lovely decor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Great place indeed. Food has a natural taste and excellent presentation. Visited for dinner with wife and children. Everyone was satisfied. Reservation needed!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Tried pasta with tofu and smoked cheese / tomato soup. Pasta was great, soup was very basic but tasty. Atmosphere was nice. Prices are moderate. The only little flaw in service is that it took them 15 min to take empty plates away. Wine glasses were ok. Overall experience is very good but not exceptional. Worth trying.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Close to perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This restaurant is a great place to sample some of the Baltic's finest cuisine at a refreshingly reasonable price. Went here with friends on a Saturday night for dinner. Recommend that you book as much in advance as you can...we went in low season and could only get a table at 10pm thanks to a cancellation. Overall, the service was friendly and unfussy, the food amazingly tasty and the setting charming. We were all amazed when the bill came after three courses plus wine to only be parting with around 35 euro apiece. My only niggle, if have to come up with one, was the white wine wasn't quite as chilled as it could have been, but that really didn't detract from the overall experience.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice little place with very reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We visited the restaurant for lunch, and were very positively surprised by food quality, service and not the least very reasonable prices. We would definitely go there again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Von Krahli Aed also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Von Krahli Aed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Von Krahli Aed, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.