We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanted experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant O

Restaurant O
Mere Puiestee 6e, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
661-6150
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 546 Restaurants in Tallinn
Price range: $0 - $141
Cuisines: Scandinavian, Eastern European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Enchanted experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We came to this restaurant by chance as it was the 23 December and many places were closed. However, we are so happy that we went there. The ambiance was welcoming and food was a bliss. I had smoked eel as a started plus scallops and Baltic herrings as a main course. Everything was excellent. In between we had some nice compliments from chief, the most memorable were butter (almost wiped cream) served on a black stone and apple sorbet sprinkled with pine needles, very unusual. For the desert I had a good selection of local cheeses.
Overall, although we visited some other nice restaurants in Tallinn, this one was a highlight of our trip

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    42
    11
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing food, chic place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is an amazing place with amazing food - fusion of European and local cuisines. Ö has been voted by chefs and foodcritics as the no1 restaurant in Tallinn many times. It's chic and clean, service is perfect. You should definitely try the Estonian national cuisine influenced foods here, they really know what they are doing. The quality is not 100% stable tough - I've eaten the Perfect Beef here but once after that, also an okay one - that is why the rating is 4 and not 5.
This place can be found near the old town, walking towards the passenger harbour. Really close if your staying at city center hotels like Nordic Forum, Sokos Viru, Tallink and such.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A very nice but a bit overpriced luxury”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

The decoration was modern, dark, almost a bit Scandinavian style. The service was really really professional and friendly. The menu looked very nice. Our starter foie gras was delicious, a real treat. As a main course the venison was to our liking, tender meat and tasty dressing. The scallop and baltic herring portion only contained one scallop and three small overdone herrings, even though the included side dishes were delicious. We had hoped a bit more from the cheese plate and chocolate cake. We regarded the wine list wide enough and quite well priced, considering the Tallinn price level. We enjoyed our evening, and felt the restaurant was worth our visit. For the total price, especially regarding the rich resraurant scene in Tallinn, we probably eat around a while before returning, though.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempten, Germany
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“delicious and beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The place is a bit outside of the old town but definitely worth the walk. Beautiful place with delicious food and attentive, friendly and knowledgeable staff. One of the best!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Really don't know where to start praising this place - it's just immaculate! Great food, best waiter ( guy in glasses was our waiter), we had such a nice time!!! Highly recommend it!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant O also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Restaurant O? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant O, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.