We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We really liked it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Olav Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added St Olav Hotel to your Saves list
St Olav Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lai 5, Tallinn 10133, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
UK
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“We really liked it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This hotel is really special, quaint, quirky and attractive. It was clean, friendly and best of all the location is amazing. It is built into the city walls so it is unique and very Estonian. Breakfast was amazing with lots to choose from and well prepared and displayed. Rooms were large and comfortable. It is less than a minute to the old town square. Can't be beaten!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    121
    86
    68
    42
See reviews for
72
170
24
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I have stayed here a couple of times as the location is quite perfect.You are literally a two minute walk away from the Old Town Main Square. The rooms are basic but very clean and the staff are formal and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

In the center of old city.
No elevator. Do not come with a lot of luggage!
Steps are very steep.
Very very hot room.Has floor heating in the bathroom all year...Even in the summer when not needed.
After complaining about the hot room,we received another fan.It was still not enough.
There are 3 small windows that don't help much when opened.
Service was good and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We did spend two nights on hotel. The reservation was made via Eckerö Lines and on voucher we had standard room with double bed. When we arrived the first given room was very small economy room on third floor with two different beds- so we climbed back from the third floor back to reception to change the room. A new room was quite much like it was written in the voucher, still quite small. There was no air condition so the window was open all night long. Breakfast was littlebit below avarage and same with the service attitude of staff. So smile was quite hard get from them..Historic style is quite nice in hotel, but overall it is not worth for 4 stars. Still the location is ok.

Room Tip: Higher floor is probably quite hot on summer- no air condition on rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Me and my wife stayed here in October.
Our room was small but it was perfect for our needs.

It was comfy and had a nice bathroom and was very clean.

We were on the top floor, which was up quite a few steep stairs but it wasn't a problem.
The staff were formal but helpful.

the location was excellent, it was just a 1 minute walk from the centre of the old town.

I would have no hesitation staying here again when visiting Tallinn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed a week in Tallinn and we were not satisfied with the hotel. Our room smelled very bad and we had to sleep with open windows. I guess there simply was fungus in the building. The beds were awfull to lie in and the breakfast was average. Only very good thing to say about the hotel is the location central in the old city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed with the family (two adults and two teenagers) for one night in July. We booked by Eckerö Lines, together with ferry tickets from Helsinki. The hotel is in the heart of Old Town, reasonable walking distance from the ferry terminal.

Our two rooms were already available at noon. Both rooms were huge! And the bathrooms were even bigger! I expect we were upgraded for one reason or another, as we booked standard rooms. Other one of the rooms had even fully equipped kitchen. In any case, this was way beyond our expectations.

The service was kind and good, breakfast ok, and no complaints at all. Definately will come again if coming to Tallin again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St Olav Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Olav Hotel

Address: Lai 5, Tallinn 10133, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — St Olav Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your St Olav Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Olav Tallinn
Hotel St Olav

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Olav Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.