We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location & never smiling staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Metropol Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Metropol Hotel to your Saves list
Metropol Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Roseni 13, Tallinn 10111, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent location & never smiling staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel has an excellent position - very near to the Old City, city-center and ferry terminal. Room & bathroom were big and clean - but the corridors of the hotel look pretty 'tired'. Wifi connection was excellent in the lobby but very poor in the room.
Never-smiling staff at the reception (they look like being up-set all the time); they charged us with 0.2 Euros for printing 1 page from my boarding pass - it was the first time in my life I had this experience (paying for printing the boarding pass in a hotel).

Stayed July 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    133
    113
    31
    11
See reviews for
40
118
55
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Located less five minutes walk outside of the old town, in the renovated Rotermanni Quarter. Clean room and good standard buffet breakfast. Good free wifi in the room. Friendly and helpful staff. The bus from the airport stopped about five minutes walk from the hotel. Many restaurants and cafes in walking distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here for three nights and was very impressed with this hotel! It is located right on the edge of the old town, (not in it, but a five minute walk away). The hotel is situated in an old industrial area that has been redeveloped for shops, restaurants, etc., giving lots of options for dining. The hotel does have a restaurant but I did not dine there; (breakfast was great, and the place seemed full every night). The rooms are large, clean and modern with good WIFI connections. The hotel staff are friendly and were able to help with everything I asked for. One final note is that if you are planning on arriving/departing/day-tripping from the port it's only a ten minute walk away! I can highly recommend this Hotel to make for an enjoyable visit to Estonia!

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015

Within walking distance to the Old City, the hotel is even more convenient for reaching the ferry terminal. The room was tidy and well furnished. I would specially recommend rooms with sauna (for those who like it, of course), since they are not much more expensive than standard ones. In general, I found the price very reasonable.

Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

I tried to write open and fair reviews we only stayed for two night I would not say it is the best hotel. Our room had only one window that looked into the lobby they tried to make up for this with an elaborate lightbox showing a picture of brightly colored flowers, it sounds cheesy but it worked I guess. I guess I would say above average especially considering its location. I guess if it comes down to would i recommend it to someone I guess the answer would be a slightly reluctant yes..

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015

My 5 friends and myself came to Tallinn for a nice citytrip. The package we booked included a 4 night stay in this hotel. The rooms were quite nice and very much suited our needs. We had a beutiful view of the harbour and the Old Town, and we really enjoyed our stay. Not the best hotel ever, but definitely worth our money. The staff was not very friendly and welcoming but I can understand they are a bit doubtfull when 6 youngsters aged around 20 barge into your lobby. Didn't have any problems though, and the staff was very professional.

Room Tip: Make sure you are on one of the top floors. View over the Old Town is breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2015

The Hotel is conveniently located close to the old town and has adequate parking available. The rooms are of a large size and are clean and comfortable with all necessary facilities.
Breakfast is very good with an adequate choice of good quality, well prepared food.
The staff are efficient, courteous and helpful.
I have stayed at the hotel a number of times over the last few years and can certainly recommend it to visitors to Tallinn.

Room Tip: The rooms on the higher floors are quieter. There can be some noise from nearby nightclubs, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.7 mi away
GoHotel Shnelli
GoHotel Shnelli
#29 of 84 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 631 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Braavo
Hotel Braavo
#63 of 84 in Tallinn
3.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baltic Hotel Vana Wiru
Baltic Hotel Vana Wiru
#39 of 84 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gotthard Residence
Gotthard Residence
#56 of 84 in Tallinn
3.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
0.6 mi away
Economy Hotell
Economy Hotell
#28 of 84 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 365 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tallink Express Hotel
Tallink Express Hotel
#36 of 84 in Tallinn
3.5 of 5 stars 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropol Hotel

Address: Roseni 13, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Metropol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel offers modern amenities and technologies, meeting facilities and casino; located near the old city, 1 km from train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Venere and TripOnline SA so you can book your Metropol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropol Hotel Tallinn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropol Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.