We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Metropol Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Metropol Hotel to your Saves list
Metropol Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Roseni 13, Tallinn 10111, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Marseille, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Very well located, a short walk from the historic center. The hotel was easy to reach by local bus from the airport, since the final bus stop was only two blocks away.
Comfortable rooms, quiet surroundings, delicious buffet breakfast. Perfect compromise, I appreciated a lot this stay and would return without hesitation.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    117
    96
    28
    9
See reviews for
31
106
46
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Good value, serviceable hotel with clean and reasonably spacious rooms. I was slightly worried that the karaoke bar would mean noise and revelry, but saw no sign of it and found the hotel to be calm and quiet. It's in a good location for accessing the old town without being part of it - just a short walk away. It's also close to the airport bus stop and only a few minutes walk to the ferries for Helsinki. Breakfasts were fine, and there is a bar which also serves food - though I must admit that the it's the first time I've ever had a club sandwich containing a beefburger!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed in the Metropole for 2 nights. It was a good sized room and the curtains were adequate for keeping out the light from the long May days in Estonia.
It is in a great location for wandering around the old Town without the hassle of staying in the old town. There restaurants and supermarkets within a couple of minutes walk and it is in a gentrifying and interesting section of Tallinn.
The hotel seemed very popular with tour groups and , as a result, breakfasts were a little difficult to deal with. Finding a table was a hassle on both mornings.
Desk staff spoke good English and were helpful.
Two things were a little irritating. There was no safe in the rooms and storage of passports and other valuables had to be done at the desk and there was a surcharge of 3.5 euros a day for this service. The other was the floor of the bathroom. This was heated and this made the bathroom overly warm and humid.
I would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Some rooms have better views than others. Check first before signing in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This hotel is 5 minutes walk from the Old Town. The rooms are large and I was fortunate to get a room with its own sauna in the bathroom. The breakfast is good with plenty of choice. The hotel staff are helpful and friendly and I was sorry that I only stayed here one night.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I spend two days in this hotel after arriving by ferry from Helsinki. With a walking distance to the city center, the old town, the ferry terminal, the hotel location is perfect for getting around to know Tallinn. The room was spacious and calm. Toilets OK, a bit small but with all what is needed and clean. Breakfast was good and big enough. Will definitively recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estonia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We visited hotel Metropol with our little family on 24th of May (just one Friday night). My husband checked in with our little 5 month old daughter and told me later that everybody were very kind and helpful. The room was spacious and clean and the bed was very comfortable. The curtains made the room exactly as dark as needed when You want Your baby to fall asleep.
So everything seemed to be perfect until the party started in the karaoke bar two floors beneath us. And it lasted until 3 am. After that most of the karaoke "stars" thought that they should keep on singing outside and in front of the hotel (under our window). We did have loud "neighbours" as well - they came into their rooms after the karaoke bar was closed and we heard everythig they talked and laughed about until 5 am (the noise from rooms beside you comes through the ventilation system). Because of that, unfortunately, we didn`t get to sleep much that night. In case it would have been only me and my husband, we would have asked for another room, but it would have been too much to move all our things, baby`s bed and the baby in the middle of the night...
So this was our only disapointment (the location of our room), because we had informed the hotel a week prior arrival that we are coming with our baby and we would have appreciated if they`d given us a "quiet" room.
Nevertheless we recommend hotel Metropol! And in case You`d like to sleep in a quiet room, ask a room as far as the karaoke bar as possible.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far from the karaoke bar as possible!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thetford
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Nice Hotel. Arrived from the Helsinki - Tallinn ferry. Made to feel very welcome by good staff. Room very large and on 5th floor - perhaps the decor was a little 'dated'. Good views across Tallinn. The food, however, was really excellent both for dinner and breakfast. Can recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Metropol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropol Hotel

Address: Roseni 13, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Metropol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel offers modern amenities and technologies, meeting facilities and casino; located near the old city, 1 km from train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Metropol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropol Hotel Tallinn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropol Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.