We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of a disappointment” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Metropol Hotel

Save Saved
You added Metropol Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Metropol Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Roseni 13, Tallinn 10111, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 84 hotels in Tallinn
Finland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A bit of a disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

The lobby and the breakfast bar are great and modern but the rooms are not. The bed was not comfortable and the bathroom was worn out. Breakfast was poorest one I have had in my many visit to Tallinn's hotels. In the same money category there is Park Inn Central that has much better breakfast and rooms are about the same. Location of Metropol Hotel is nice, about a few hundred meters to Viru-centrum and to old town. Hotel staff were not so friendly. No playground for children. Extra bed was not made but you had to make it yourself.
Free parking is a plus. Free morning sauna also.

Room Tip: You can pick a room looking at the harbour or to the old town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    119
    85
    21
    6
See reviews for
27
86
39
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius, Lithuania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We traveled here for our tennis trip. It has good location in the city, well furnished rooms and great service. Breakfast was nice too. The look from the window was not so nice, but actually we have arrived there not to look through the window...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Good clean spacious hotel with great breakfast buffet.Rooms large and with large windows and nice shower. Staff very helpful as we rented a car through the front desk. All was smooth and well done and punctual. Nice 10 min walk to the old town which is wonderful.I climbed the church steeple and the views were magnificent. You can spend a few days here.

Room Tip: Rooms at back look out to old town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahti
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Hotel has good location close to the center and harbour. The price is good and hotel is quite confortable, not exlusive but suitable for staying couple of nights. But service or actually the missing of it! Our keycard did not work and the receptionist did not even say pardon for that. Actually he did not say anything.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TALLINN
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Very near of everything by walk. Personel is friendly and quick. This hotel is not anymore new. Have used meny times.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
112 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I booked a room here at a very low rate and wasn't quite sure what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised. The lobby area/restaurant area were nice looking. The room was not luxurious but it was very clean and comfortable. I slept very well here. THe bathroom was quite large. I did not eat breakfast nor any other meals at the hotel so I cannot comment on that. I thought the location was quite good. THe Roterman Quarter where the hotel is located has some good restaurants. It was a very short walk to the old town. I was really happy with this hotel and I would definitely stay here again. The staff could answer questions and were professional but not very friendly. The Alter Ego restaurant nearby had a good lunch special.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is an inexpensive hotel that is close to a lot of amenities. We caught a bus from Talinn International airport and it was very cheap. The hotel was a short walk from the bus stop.
the room was quite big and we had a magnificent view of the old town one night we saw a beautiful sinset from the window.
Good base for a quick trip to Helsinki, we caught the ferry and spent a day in Helsinki. (Not to expensive!) Bit of a problem was the ferry meant a bit of an early start that day and we asked for an early mornng call, which never came, fortunately we woke up in time and managed to walk only a short distance to the ferry boat to catch the crossing.
talinn was reaally interesting with a colourful history and an abundance of churches and old buildings.
We enjoyed our trip.

Room Tip: take an alrm clock
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Metropol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropol Hotel

Address: Roseni 13, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Metropol Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel offers modern amenities and technologies, meeting facilities and casino; located near the old city, 1 km from train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Metropol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropol Hotel Tallinn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropol Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.