We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel is OK - nothing more nothing less” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tallink Spa & Conference Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tallink Spa & Conference Hotel to your Saves list
Tallink Spa & Conference Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sadama 11a, Tallinn 10111, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Borgå
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“The hotel is OK - nothing more nothing less”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night, my friend and I. The check-in was smooth and the guy behind the counter very relaxed and pleasant. The room was a small Standard Double Room with shower, hairdryer, air conditioining, telephone, bathrobe, TV, Pay-TV, safe and mini bar. The room was furniced with two single beds, armchair, writing desk, 2 night stands and 1 extra chair. That's about all that fit in the room. I'm used to more space in this price-class. The hotel was quite noisy with clean common areas and good service. The breakfast was ok for a Scandinavian regular breakfast. The selection was bread, butter, cheese and salami, boiled and scambled eggs, sauercraut - sour cabbage, salt pickles, meatballs, wieners (= small sausage) some basic fruit and berry pie for dessert. The drinkselection was coffee/tea/juices and water. My friend said the coffee was horrible and according to me the apple juice was some very strong and nasty unblended concentrate. But well, the breakfast did it's puprose and fed us. Went dining in the Nero restaurant which was quite pleasant. The atmosphere was nice with live music and the staff friendly. My friend ordered salmon with steamed veggies and she really liked it. I chose the 6 cheese tagliatelle which was really good but oh too cheesy. The portions were of goods size, not all you can eat - not gourmet (=looks beat the size) but there in between. The house red wine is worth a try! Far better than many other places'. One big minus came from the not manageable shower. The shower was fixed - period. And half of the wholes being clogged adding little water pressures the waterjet didn't shower onto the wanted spot, ie head, arms, back but showered all over, One waterjet left, one right the other across and the fourth up... The shower experience was very frustrating. The other big minus was the blankets in the bed.. I love a warm sleep and this blanket barely kept me warm beneath - and it was small. The spa looked oh so alluring and we regretted that we didn't take our swimsuits along. Especially the bar in the pool looked tempting =)
The hotel is located right in the harbour - 3 min's walk from where you exit the ferries and is a 15-20 min's walk to the city centre and the old town. We found the location sufficient because we made all our shoppings in the harbour area but for those wanting to discover Tallinn, the core centre and the Old Town - don't choose this hotel. If you're just looking for water realaxation and some sporadic shopping in the harbour markets then this hotel is for you.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    158
    89
    29
    8
See reviews for
76
115
13
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hvidovre, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

the whole purpose of this review of Tallink spa hotel is to tell other future visitors not to eat at the Restaurant Nero in the hotel Tallink.


Breakfast (also served in the restaurant Nero) lacked variety and quality. Just about eatable.

Dinner (a la carte) was disgusting. Hard to pick from a very strange menu serving e.g. "smoked eel in cappucino sauce" , "horse flesh served on green salad leaves"
Even though we selected the most normal and very expensive dishes these turned out to be un-eatable!!! The Angus meat tasted old, the foie gras smelled and tasted like sewer.

The hotel Tallink has a spa - but don't expect anything fancy - it consists of two pools and two jacuzzies. The spa is crowded but kept cleanly.
The entrance to spa is not included in the room price

We would not stay there again...

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

A group of eight of us stayed here for a bucks night after taking the ferry from Helsinki. The hotel is situated close to the ferry terminals, easily within walking distance. It presents well from the outside and the lobby is nice. The staff were friendly enough and spoke good English. Upon getting our keys we headed upstairs to the rooms and this is where the almost-gaudy decor began. The carpets are of a sea anemone pattern which is intriguing at first but becomes nauseating after a while. The rooms are a bit better but the interior design comes of as trying too hard to be ultra modern; strange fabrics and wall coverings abound. Not the sort of environment I like to relax in. The room itself was spacious enough. The shower gave no hot water unless the basin tap was running on hot which was not only inconvenient but wasteful. We complained about it but it wasn't fixed within a day. The spa was fun but nothing mind-blowing. Overall good enough for a convenient stay but I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Stayed here for 1 night on a business trip.

Location: at Tallinn harbour. Walking distance from all terminals (5-10 minutes). Also walking distance from Tallinn old town (10-15 minutes). If you want to have a weekend in Tallinn, maybe nice to have a hotel in the old town itself, as the surroundings of Tallink hotel lack atmosphere.

Rooms: even though quite small, the rooms are clean, quiet and trendy. Please see my pictures.

Hotel: Clean hotel, business facilities (conference rooms). Modern and pleasant to be.

Breakfast/lunch: Lunch was good, allthough nothing spectacular. Breakfast was good. Good selection. Only downsize is that is was busy.

As I did not book the hotel myself, do not know the prices. But from internet I noticed you can have a room, breakfast and roundtrip by ferry from Helsinki for 70 Euros.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

The hotel is located in the harbour of Tallinn. The futuristic decoration of the hotel makes you feel like being on a some other planet. It is very easy to go from Helsinki by boat and all the restaurants, old town and shopping centres are only a few hundred meters away from the hotel. It´s clean and the spa is the crown of the hotel.
Just remember that you cant get the room before 3pm, if you arrive in the morning.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

Accommodation price doesn't fully correspond to the room's particulars.It was a little bit higher than i suppose it was to be. Average price of about 100 EUR room per day is not the best when alone picture you can see from your window is a wall of the hotel next to your one. And there was no a balcony... I understand that the hotel has four stars, but at the same time you need not to forget that the hotel is located at the port area and this area has not been fully developed yet. Nevertheless general impression of the visit is good. I would like to express special gratitude to the SPA area and restraint personnel. I travelled with small child so their assistance was very useful. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

Short walk to Old Town. Rooms were modern and stylish. Good bed, great pool- and sauna opportunities. The breakfast buffet would have been better if they had a wider selection of salami, ham, etc. for your sandwiches. Should have been more to choose from. Nice hotel staff. We were recommended Old Hansa restaurant before we arrived to Tallinn. So we wanted to visit this restaurant. The reception wanted to recommend another restaurant (The Peppersack), but since we had heard so much about Old Hansa, we were determined to go there. We should have listened to the hotel staff. Old Hansa was no good regarding drinks and food. Of 8 people, only 2 were partly satisfied with their meals.... So let the hotel advise you what restaurants really is worth visiting.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tallink Spa & Conference Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tallink Spa & Conference Hotel

Address: Sadama 11a, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#25 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tallink Spa & Conference Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Tallink Spa & Conference Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tallink Hotel Tallinn
Tallink Spa And Conference Hotel
Tallink Hotel Conference

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tallink Spa & Conference Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.