We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel for our trip to Tallinn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bern

Save Saved
You added Hotel Bern to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Bern
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aia 10 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 84 hotels in Tallinn
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel for our trip to Tallinn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This hotel is situated on the edge of the Old Town, extremely good location for all the restaurants, bars, and sights! It is a two minute walk from the bus stop where you can get a bus to the airport or out of town. Opposite is a supermarket and next door is a Beer Garden, which shows Premiership football.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. We were greeted with a smile every time we entered the hotel, and we were provided with very useful tourist information when we asked for it.

Our room was slightly smaller than we expected, but actually was very very clean and decorated to a high standard which we thought was more important, so we weren't so bothered by this. The bathroom was a wet room with heated floor and we had sufficient heating/air condition throughout the room.

The breakfast was good and open until 11am at the weekend. Selection of breads, cheese, meats, fruit, cereals, yoghurt, scrambled egg, sausage balls and porridge. There was also a selection of teas and fruit juices.

As it was our anniversary we were given a small bottle of Champagne!

We really enjoyed our stay here and would fully recommend this hotel :-D

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, The staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear JCliff,

Thank you for the comprehensive commentary!

We appreciate that you noticed our positive energy and we also want to thank for bringing yet another smile to our faces with your utterly positive feedback!
Hopefully we will meet again in the Bern Hotel when you decide to revisit Tallinn, because thanking you via text only seems not quite enough!

Best of luck to you and your favourite team in the Premier League!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    294
    294
    72
    14
    2
See reviews for
78
296
53
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vantaa, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Hotel is located close the old town. In the hotel is not parking places but there is parking hall about 5 min walk from hotel. Rooms are clean but small. Hotel is very quiet. Breakfast is good. Everything is very close.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Viva Stay

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, The staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Jarmo,

Thank you for your concrete and precise feedback!
Like a true Finn you said it all in a couple of sentences and this is what we, Estonians can understand and value.

See you next time and enjoy the rising of spring's sun in Vantaa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barneveld
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay this week in the Bern hotel in tallinn. We would recommend it to others if they are thinking of taking a short visit to tallinn. Its in a very handy place, nice and near to the old town centre, walking distance from everything nice to see or the public transport locations such as bus stops.
Hotel room was always nice and clean, shame the beds were single beds and not just a double bed though we did move them to be together to try and make a double bed. The bathroom design was lovely and the showers are small but nice. The workers at the reception were friendly and helpful. There is really nothing to complain about there. lovely hotel for the amount we paid!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, The staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Ruben,

Thank you very much for the kind words!

We appreciate your comprehensiveness and help to the other visitors of Tallinn.
Hopefully we will meet again in the future!

Greetings to Barneveld!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

A wonderful little hotel in on the edge of the Old Town, convenient but quiet. The hotel is nice with good rooms, good food and fantastic staff.Without exception they were helpful and very friendly. If I were ever to return to Tallinn, there is only one place that I would stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Ken,

Thank you!
It was very humbling to read that you enjoyed Bern Hotel this much.

Hopefully we will meet again!
Greetings to UK!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earth
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Difficult to fault the Bern for the money, located right by the main gateway into old town, lovely helpful staff, decent spacious room with comfy beds and excellent breakfast. Would certainly recommend to anyone visiting Tallinn.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, The staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Gazwar,

Thank you very much for the feedback and the recommendation!
We hope that you will like the times here that are yet to come as much as the first one!

Until then have a happy winter time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Great place to explore Tallinn from. Just a short 10 minutes ride by taxi from the airport and 5 minutes walk to the town square. Clean room and great breakfast. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Had a great time. Only suggestion would be some kind of mat to place near the door coming into the rooms to put wet boots/shoes on to save getting the carpet wet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, The staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Lilacgoat,

Thank you for your comments!
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at Bern Hotel.

Until the next time we meet we wish you a fine winter in the UK!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The hotel is situated near the old town, near all the sights. The way from the airport by taxi took us 10 minutes. The staff was very friendly, always tried to help. I've booked three rooms, the staff made us neighbors, and it was very nice. After check-out we left our luggage in the room near reception. There is a safe at the reception. The rooms are small, but comfortable. The only disadvantage for me was two beds instead of one (I was travelling with my husband). Breakfast was very good. I recommend Hotel Bern for staying in Tallinn.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, The staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Nati,

Thank you very much for the comments!

We are extremely delighted to hear that your stay here was pleasant.
Enjoy the winter and greetings to Moscow!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bern

Address: Aia 10 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#7 Best Value Hotel in Tallinn
#10 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#11 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bern 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A host with an individual and attentive approach!* Located in Tallinn Old Town, amidst historic sights and cultural events* Cordial and helpful staff* Rooms with connecting doors for families* Equipment includes a bathrobe and slippers. Hotel Bern is situated in a bright and peaceful backyard, about 100 m away from the main street of Tallinn Old Town, called Viru street. About the same distance to popular shopping center, Viru Centre, hop-on hop-off buses, Spa which has a 50-meter swimming pool and children pool plus all Old Town important sights are in a reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bern Hotel Tallinn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.