We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bern

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Bern to your Saves list
Hotel Bern
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aia 10 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Barneveld
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay this week in the Bern hotel in tallinn. We would recommend it to others if they are thinking of taking a short visit to tallinn. Its in a very handy place, nice and near to the old town centre, walking distance from everything nice to see or the public transport locations such as bus stops.
Hotel room was always nice and clean, shame the beds were single beds and not just a double bed though we did move them to be together to try and make a double bed. The bathroom design was lovely and the showers are small but nice. The workers at the reception were friendly and helpful. There is really nothing to complain about there. lovely hotel for the amount we paid!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, The staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Ruben,

Thank you very much for the kind words!

We appreciate your comprehensiveness and help to the other visitors of Tallinn.
Hopefully we will meet again in the future!

Greetings to Barneveld!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    323
    81
    17
    2
See reviews for
93
325
62
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

A wonderful little hotel in on the edge of the Old Town, convenient but quiet. The hotel is nice with good rooms, good food and fantastic staff.Without exception they were helpful and very friendly. If I were ever to return to Tallinn, there is only one place that I would stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Ken,

Thank you!
It was very humbling to read that you enjoyed Bern Hotel this much.

Hopefully we will meet again!
Greetings to UK!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earth
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Difficult to fault the Bern for the money, located right by the main gateway into old town, lovely helpful staff, decent spacious room with comfy beds and excellent breakfast. Would certainly recommend to anyone visiting Tallinn.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, The staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Gazwar,

Thank you very much for the feedback and the recommendation!
We hope that you will like the times here that are yet to come as much as the first one!

Until then have a happy winter time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Great place to explore Tallinn from. Just a short 10 minutes ride by taxi from the airport and 5 minutes walk to the town square. Clean room and great breakfast. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Had a great time. Only suggestion would be some kind of mat to place near the door coming into the rooms to put wet boots/shoes on to save getting the carpet wet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, The staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Lilacgoat,

Thank you for your comments!
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at Bern Hotel.

Until the next time we meet we wish you a fine winter in the UK!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The hotel is situated near the old town, near all the sights. The way from the airport by taxi took us 10 minutes. The staff was very friendly, always tried to help. I've booked three rooms, the staff made us neighbors, and it was very nice. After check-out we left our luggage in the room near reception. There is a safe at the reception. The rooms are small, but comfortable. The only disadvantage for me was two beds instead of one (I was travelling with my husband). Breakfast was very good. I recommend Hotel Bern for staying in Tallinn.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, The staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Nati,

Thank you very much for the comments!

We are extremely delighted to hear that your stay here was pleasant.
Enjoy the winter and greetings to Moscow!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The hotel is less than 5 minutes walking from the old city center so the location is excellent. Reception very friendly and informative (warned us about the taxi scams in Tallinn). Rooms are clean and comfortable. The only minor point was the bar in front of the hotel which can be noisy. There is a grocery store very close to the hotel. Breakfast is a big buffet with eggs, meat, salmon, fruit, croissants, ... I would go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, The staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear MaartenvanDamme,

Thank you for your fulfilling knowledge about Hotel Bern!

This is surely a helpful note about our location and quality for the other visitors of Tallinn.
we hope when you return we can thank you properly with a good night sleep and a quality that you already recognized.

Happy new year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Hotel Bern was a very good placed hotel in Tallinn.It was peaceful, small and in the old town, every thing is less of five minutes walking. The grand breakfast is extraordinary. The staff is very professional and helpful. We suggest the nearest (it's next) restaurant-bar "Beer garden" , there is good food and the place is special.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear JudTurku,

Thank you for your commentary!

It is great to hear that you found our hotel excellent. This makes us work even harder to exceed this standard next time we see you.
We will also give our regards to our neighbors at the Beer Garden!

Have a lovely 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bern

Address: Aia 10 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#13 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#16 Business Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bern 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A host with an individual and attentive approach!* Located in Tallinn Old Town, amidst historic sights and cultural events* Cordial and helpful staff* Rooms with connecting doors for families* Equipment includes a bathrobe and slippers. Hotel Bern is situated in a bright and peaceful backyard, about 100 m away from the main street of Tallinn Old Town, called Viru street. About the same distance to popular shopping center, Viru Centre, hop-on hop-off buses, Spa which has a 50-meter swimming pool and children pool plus all Old Town important sights are in a reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Escapio, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bern Hotel Tallinn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.