We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location and lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bern

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bern to your Saves list
Hotel Bern
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aia 10 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Newbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Convenient location and lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Great place to explore Tallinn from. Just a short 10 minutes ride by taxi from the airport and 5 minutes walk to the town square. Clean room and great breakfast. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Had a great time. Only suggestion would be some kind of mat to place near the door coming into the rooms to put wet boots/shoes on to save getting the carpet wet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, The staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Lilacgoat,

Thank you for your comments!
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at Bern Hotel.

Until the next time we meet we wish you a fine winter in the UK!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    334
    84
    18
    3
See reviews for
93
335
66
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The hotel is situated near the old town, near all the sights. The way from the airport by taxi took us 10 minutes. The staff was very friendly, always tried to help. I've booked three rooms, the staff made us neighbors, and it was very nice. After check-out we left our luggage in the room near reception. There is a safe at the reception. The rooms are small, but comfortable. The only disadvantage for me was two beds instead of one (I was travelling with my husband). Breakfast was very good. I recommend Hotel Bern for staying in Tallinn.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, The staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Nati,

Thank you very much for the comments!

We are extremely delighted to hear that your stay here was pleasant.
Enjoy the winter and greetings to Moscow!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The hotel is less than 5 minutes walking from the old city center so the location is excellent. Reception very friendly and informative (warned us about the taxi scams in Tallinn). Rooms are clean and comfortable. The only minor point was the bar in front of the hotel which can be noisy. There is a grocery store very close to the hotel. Breakfast is a big buffet with eggs, meat, salmon, fruit, croissants, ... I would go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, The staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear MaartenvanDamme,

Thank you for your fulfilling knowledge about Hotel Bern!

This is surely a helpful note about our location and quality for the other visitors of Tallinn.
we hope when you return we can thank you properly with a good night sleep and a quality that you already recognized.

Happy new year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Hotel Bern was a very good placed hotel in Tallinn.It was peaceful, small and in the old town, every thing is less of five minutes walking. The grand breakfast is extraordinary. The staff is very professional and helpful. We suggest the nearest (it's next) restaurant-bar "Beer garden" , there is good food and the place is special.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear JudTurku,

Thank you for your commentary!

It is great to hear that you found our hotel excellent. This makes us work even harder to exceed this standard next time we see you.
We will also give our regards to our neighbors at the Beer Garden!

Have a lovely 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Took the bus directly from the airport and the hotel was a 5 minute walk from the stop. Although the rooms are small you have everything you need for a short break including a very comfy bed. The staff are very helpful and friendly and the hotel is ideally situated for the old town - a very short walk away, restaurants (recommend the Chicago almost opposite) and all amenities.

Room Tip: Go for the deluxe which apparently has a sauna. We faced the courtyard and found it very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, The staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear lookingforshangrila,

Thank you for your feedback!

We find your comments very valuable and also believe that you could be a big help for someone looking for a place to stay in Tallinn.
We appreciate that very much!

Happy new year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gottingen, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

If what they say is true, that a hotel is only as good as its employees, this one is worth gold... Among all the places I've visited and hotels I've stayed in either on business or holidays this one has a special something, of course you can find more luxurious places around, but what makes this one special besides its well centered and strategic location is its personnel, always friendly (not because they have to, but because they like their job) and ready to help you.
Everywhere I stay I make it a personal point to interact with the locals starting with the people who work where I stay, and I must say I have never met such an unorthodox yet friendly and outgoing bunch, for whom I have the utmost respect and gratitude for making my short stay in Tallinn a fun and great experience...!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Reception staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Christian,

Thank you for keeping us in your memories!
You pointed out just the thing we thrive to - that special something.
We are extremely happy that you saw your visit here as the best you have ever had.

You are always welcome back!

Happy Christmas!

Ele, Sven and Kristi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balcombe
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We were lucky enough to have a great room on the 3rd floor which also had a sauna.the room was very clean and we were provided with robes and slippers. The staff were great, really helpful organising tours for us and ringing for taxis. Breakfast which was included was also very good. The location just outside the city wall was perfect just a ten minute walk to old town place.

Room Tip: Room 303 is the one to ask for, a double bed with sofa bed. Sauna and jacuzzi bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, The staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Lozzer,

Thank you for your kind comments!
Surely the other tripadvisor users can find your tips and comments very useful!

We are very glad that your were pleased with your visit to Hotel Bern and all we can say more is that you are always welcome back here in Tallinn!

Merry Christmas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bern

Address: Aia 10 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#6 Best Value Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#15 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#15 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bern 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A host with an individual and attentive approach!* Located in Tallinn Old Town, amidst historic sights and cultural events* Cordial and helpful staff* Rooms with connecting doors for families* Equipment includes a bathrobe and slippers. Hotel Bern is situated in a bright and peaceful backyard, about 100 m away from the main street of Tallinn Old Town, called Viru street. About the same distance to popular shopping center, Viru Centre, hop-on hop-off buses, Spa which has a 50-meter swimming pool and children pool plus all Old Town important sights are in a reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bern Hotel Tallinn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.