We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bern

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bern to your Saves list
Hotel Bern
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aia 10 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The hotel is less than 5 minutes walking from the old city center so the location is excellent. Reception very friendly and informative (warned us about the taxi scams in Tallinn). Rooms are clean and comfortable. The only minor point was the bar in front of the hotel which can be noisy. There is a grocery store very close to the hotel. Breakfast is a big buffet with eggs, meat, salmon, fruit, croissants, ... I would go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, The staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear MaartenvanDamme,

Thank you for your fulfilling knowledge about Hotel Bern!

This is surely a helpful note about our location and quality for the other visitors of Tallinn.
we hope when you return we can thank you properly with a good night sleep and a quality that you already recognized.

Happy new year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    420
    110
    20
    5
See reviews for
107
419
85
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Turku
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Hotel Bern was a very good placed hotel in Tallinn.It was peaceful, small and in the old town, every thing is less of five minutes walking. The grand breakfast is extraordinary. The staff is very professional and helpful. We suggest the nearest (it's next) restaurant-bar "Beer garden" , there is good food and the place is special.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear JudTurku,

Thank you for your commentary!

It is great to hear that you found our hotel excellent. This makes us work even harder to exceed this standard next time we see you.
We will also give our regards to our neighbors at the Beer Garden!

Have a lovely 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Took the bus directly from the airport and the hotel was a 5 minute walk from the stop. Although the rooms are small you have everything you need for a short break including a very comfy bed. The staff are very helpful and friendly and the hotel is ideally situated for the old town - a very short walk away, restaurants (recommend the Chicago almost opposite) and all amenities.

Room Tip: Go for the deluxe which apparently has a sauna. We faced the courtyard and found it very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, The staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear lookingforshangrila,

Thank you for your feedback!

We find your comments very valuable and also believe that you could be a big help for someone looking for a place to stay in Tallinn.
We appreciate that very much!

Happy new year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gottingen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

If what they say is true, that a hotel is only as good as its employees, this one is worth gold... Among all the places I've visited and hotels I've stayed in either on business or holidays this one has a special something, of course you can find more luxurious places around, but what makes this one special besides its well centered and strategic location is its personnel, always friendly (not because they have to, but because they like their job) and ready to help you.
Everywhere I stay I make it a personal point to interact with the locals starting with the people who work where I stay, and I must say I have never met such an unorthodox yet friendly and outgoing bunch, for whom I have the utmost respect and gratitude for making my short stay in Tallinn a fun and great experience...!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Reception staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Christian,

Thank you for keeping us in your memories!
You pointed out just the thing we thrive to - that special something.
We are extremely happy that you saw your visit here as the best you have ever had.

You are always welcome back!

Happy Christmas!

Ele, Sven and Kristi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balcombe
Level Contributor
122 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We were lucky enough to have a great room on the 3rd floor which also had a sauna.the room was very clean and we were provided with robes and slippers. The staff were great, really helpful organising tours for us and ringing for taxis. Breakfast which was included was also very good. The location just outside the city wall was perfect just a ten minute walk to old town place.

Room Tip: Room 303 is the one to ask for, a double bed with sofa bed. Sauna and jacuzzi bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, The staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Lozzer,

Thank you for your kind comments!
Surely the other tripadvisor users can find your tips and comments very useful!

We are very glad that your were pleased with your visit to Hotel Bern and all we can say more is that you are always welcome back here in Tallinn!

Merry Christmas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed in Hotel Bern for two nights and chose the hotel based on the Tripadvisor reviews. We got a room from the first floor facing the courtyard. On arrival there was a used condom in the litter bin. First night there were a lot of young people drinking beer in the courtyard next to our window so we didn't sleep well. The other night there was a party next room, so no sleep again.

Breakfast was good and the location almost perfect.

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, The staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Jenninen,

Thank you for reminding us this issue again. It is unfortunately a memorable day for us as well because this mistake is not something that is correct for our standards.
Hopefully you can forgive us this terrible mistake.

As far as the noise part goes, we are improving daily. Although in the old town area there is very difficult to keep the noise level at the bare minimum we have still discussed this matter with our neighbors and we reached to several points of agreement that will hopefully guarantee more quiet sleeping hours for our guests.
Hopefully we can make this up to you sometimes in the future.

Have a lovely Christmas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estonia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Bern is a very charming hotel at the begginning or Tallinns' Old Town. I have stayed there 3 times and even if to hotel is packed it is quiet there, alwayg get a good nights sleep.
It also has very nice and friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, The staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Kidra,

As always, we loved hosting you here at Bern!
Enjoy the snowy december and see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#1 of 84 in Tallinn
5.0 of 5 stars 891 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#17 of 84 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 407 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
PK Ilmarine Hotel
PK Ilmarine Hotel
#29 of 84 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 643 reviews
0.7 mi away
L'Ermitage Hotel
L'Ermitage Hotel
#20 of 84 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 469 reviews
0.3 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#11 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bern

Address: Aia 10 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#18 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bern 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A host with an individual and attentive approach!* Located in Tallinn Old Town, amidst historic sights and cultural events* Cordial and helpful staff* Rooms with connecting doors for families* Equipment includes a bathrobe and slippers. Hotel Bern is situated in a bright and peaceful backyard, about 100 m away from the main street of Tallinn Old Town, called Viru street. About the same distance to popular shopping center, Viru Centre, hop-on hop-off buses, Spa which has a 50-meter swimming pool and children pool plus all Old Town important sights are in a reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bern Hotel Tallinn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.