We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Kept Secret Spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bern

Save Saved
You added Hotel Bern to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bern
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aia 10 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 84 hotels in Tallinn
Gottingen, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Well Kept Secret Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

If what they say is true, that a hotel is only as good as its employees, this one is worth gold... Among all the places I've visited and hotels I've stayed in either on business or holidays this one has a special something, of course you can find more luxurious places around, but what makes this one special besides its well centered and strategic location is its personnel, always friendly (not because they have to, but because they like their job) and ready to help you.
Everywhere I stay I make it a personal point to interact with the locals starting with the people who work where I stay, and I must say I have never met such an unorthodox yet friendly and outgoing bunch, for whom I have the utmost respect and gratitude for making my short stay in Tallinn a fun and great experience...!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Reception staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Christian,

Thank you for keeping us in your memories!
You pointed out just the thing we thrive to - that special something.
We are extremely happy that you saw your visit here as the best you have ever had.

You are always welcome back!

Happy Christmas!

Ele, Sven and Kristi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    277
    281
    70
    12
    2
See reviews for
79
302
54
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Balcombe
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We were lucky enough to have a great room on the 3rd floor which also had a sauna.the room was very clean and we were provided with robes and slippers. The staff were great, really helpful organising tours for us and ringing for taxis. Breakfast which was included was also very good. The location just outside the city wall was perfect just a ten minute walk to old town place.

Room Tip: Room 303 is the one to ask for, a double bed with sofa bed. Sauna and jacuzzi bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, The staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Lozzer,

Thank you for your kind comments!
Surely the other tripadvisor users can find your tips and comments very useful!

We are very glad that your were pleased with your visit to Hotel Bern and all we can say more is that you are always welcome back here in Tallinn!

Merry Christmas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed in Hotel Bern for two nights and chose the hotel based on the Tripadvisor reviews. We got a room from the first floor facing the courtyard. On arrival there was a used condom in the litter bin. First night there were a lot of young people drinking beer in the courtyard next to our window so we didn't sleep well. The other night there was a party next room, so no sleep again.

Breakfast was good and the location almost perfect.

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, The staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Jenninen,

Thank you for reminding us this issue again. It is unfortunately a memorable day for us as well because this mistake is not something that is correct for our standards.
Hopefully you can forgive us this terrible mistake.

As far as the noise part goes, we are improving daily. Although in the old town area there is very difficult to keep the noise level at the bare minimum we have still discussed this matter with our neighbors and we reached to several points of agreement that will hopefully guarantee more quiet sleeping hours for our guests.
Hopefully we can make this up to you sometimes in the future.

Have a lovely Christmas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estonia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Bern is a very charming hotel at the begginning or Tallinns' Old Town. I have stayed there 3 times and even if to hotel is packed it is quiet there, alwayg get a good nights sleep.
It also has very nice and friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, The staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Kidra,

As always, we loved hosting you here at Bern!
Enjoy the snowy december and see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Very good hotel with comfortable rooms and a good selection for breakfast. The reception staff were very friendly giving good advice on places to eat and drink. There is a pub called the Beer garden which is adjacent to the hotel that was good. All in all we had a good stay here and I would definately return...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, The staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear tf,

We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed Bern!

Nothing would give us more pleasure than seeing a guest visit us a second time!
We hope your Christmas dreams will all come true!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth,australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We travelled as a couple in September 2012 and we loved staying at this hotel. The location of this hotel is fantastic! Literally behind the old town so it took barely 5 mins to walk to the old town. All the staff were very welcoming, cheerful,helpful and smiling all the time which was great. The reception staff was very excellent! They were really with it. The feel of this hotel was very warm and homely. The rooms were very comfortable and functional. There was lots of storage space. They were cleaned impeccably everyday. The breakfast was quite a nice spread as well. We stayed here on the way to Helsinki and back. Unfortunately they were fullly booked up for the weekend so we ended up spending one night at another hotel.
I cannot think of anything negative to say about this charming little hotel and I would definitely recoomend this hotel to everyone wishing a functional and comfortable stay in Tallinn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, The staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Urvi,

Thank you!

With Christmas nearing each day it is extremely delightful to see these kind of comments. You’ve made the perfect present for our staff by mentioning them with a good word.

Have a happy holiday month in Perth!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We spent 6 days in Tallinn, Estonia. It was our first visit. The Hotel Bern was within a short walk to the old city. All of the desk staff were very friendly and tried their very best to help. Breakfast was very nice, a great selection. The room was clean, effecient. Glad we stayed there on our visit to an interesting city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, The staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Nanook,

Thank you for putting in a good word for us here!
It is nice that we managed to leave you with pleasant memories about Tallinn.
Enjoy your holidays in New York!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bern

Address: Aia 10 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#10 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#11 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bern 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A host with an individual and attentive approach!* Located in Tallinn Old Town, amidst historic sights and cultural events* Cordial and helpful staff* Rooms with connecting doors for families* Equipment includes a bathrobe and slippers. Hotel Bern is situated in a bright and peaceful backyard, about 100 m away from the main street of Tallinn Old Town, called Viru street. About the same distance to popular shopping center, Viru Centre, hop-on hop-off buses, Spa which has a 50-meter swimming pool and children pool plus all Old Town important sights are in a reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bern Hotel Tallinn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.