We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bern

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bern to your Saves list
Hotel Bern
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aia 10 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Balcombe
Level Contributor
122 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fantastic value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We were lucky enough to have a great room on the 3rd floor which also had a sauna.the room was very clean and we were provided with robes and slippers. The staff were great, really helpful organising tours for us and ringing for taxis. Breakfast which was included was also very good. The location just outside the city wall was perfect just a ten minute walk to old town place.

Room Tip: Room 303 is the one to ask for, a double bed with sofa bed. Sauna and jacuzzi bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, The staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Lozzer,

Thank you for your kind comments!
Surely the other tripadvisor users can find your tips and comments very useful!

We are very glad that your were pleased with your visit to Hotel Bern and all we can say more is that you are always welcome back here in Tallinn!

Merry Christmas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    420
    110
    20
    5
See reviews for
107
419
85
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed in Hotel Bern for two nights and chose the hotel based on the Tripadvisor reviews. We got a room from the first floor facing the courtyard. On arrival there was a used condom in the litter bin. First night there were a lot of young people drinking beer in the courtyard next to our window so we didn't sleep well. The other night there was a party next room, so no sleep again.

Breakfast was good and the location almost perfect.

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, The staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Jenninen,

Thank you for reminding us this issue again. It is unfortunately a memorable day for us as well because this mistake is not something that is correct for our standards.
Hopefully you can forgive us this terrible mistake.

As far as the noise part goes, we are improving daily. Although in the old town area there is very difficult to keep the noise level at the bare minimum we have still discussed this matter with our neighbors and we reached to several points of agreement that will hopefully guarantee more quiet sleeping hours for our guests.
Hopefully we can make this up to you sometimes in the future.

Have a lovely Christmas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estonia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Bern is a very charming hotel at the begginning or Tallinns' Old Town. I have stayed there 3 times and even if to hotel is packed it is quiet there, alwayg get a good nights sleep.
It also has very nice and friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, The staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Kidra,

As always, we loved hosting you here at Bern!
Enjoy the snowy december and see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Very good hotel with comfortable rooms and a good selection for breakfast. The reception staff were very friendly giving good advice on places to eat and drink. There is a pub called the Beer garden which is adjacent to the hotel that was good. All in all we had a good stay here and I would definately return...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, The staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear tf,

We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed Bern!

Nothing would give us more pleasure than seeing a guest visit us a second time!
We hope your Christmas dreams will all come true!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth,australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We travelled as a couple in September 2012 and we loved staying at this hotel. The location of this hotel is fantastic! Literally behind the old town so it took barely 5 mins to walk to the old town. All the staff were very welcoming, cheerful,helpful and smiling all the time which was great. The reception staff was very excellent! They were really with it. The feel of this hotel was very warm and homely. The rooms were very comfortable and functional. There was lots of storage space. They were cleaned impeccably everyday. The breakfast was quite a nice spread as well. We stayed here on the way to Helsinki and back. Unfortunately they were fullly booked up for the weekend so we ended up spending one night at another hotel.
I cannot think of anything negative to say about this charming little hotel and I would definitely recoomend this hotel to everyone wishing a functional and comfortable stay in Tallinn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, The staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Urvi,

Thank you!

With Christmas nearing each day it is extremely delightful to see these kind of comments. You’ve made the perfect present for our staff by mentioning them with a good word.

Have a happy holiday month in Perth!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We spent 6 days in Tallinn, Estonia. It was our first visit. The Hotel Bern was within a short walk to the old city. All of the desk staff were very friendly and tried their very best to help. Breakfast was very nice, a great selection. The room was clean, effecient. Glad we stayed there on our visit to an interesting city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, The staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Nanook,

Thank you for putting in a good word for us here!
It is nice that we managed to leave you with pleasant memories about Tallinn.
Enjoy your holidays in New York!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Bern, Tallinn, for three nights in October 2012. Having previously visited Tallinn we knew our way around quite well, but the location of this hotel is excellent.Just a 5 minute walk from the Old Town. The staff were friendly and were only to happy to help and made us feel very welcome. The hotel provide bathrobes and slippers for guests and I thought this was a nice touch especially as my feet were sore from walking around on the cobbled streets. The hotel room and bathroom were extremely clean and as other reviewers have stated, look like they have been recently refurbished. The continental breakfast was good and much better than I expected. Fresh pastries, fresh fruit, juices, tea, coffee, toast, cereals, scrambled egg were among the items available. There is a supermarket across the road from the hotel which was very handy. Overall, I had an amazing, relaxing and comfortable stay at Hotel Bern. I would like to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#1 of 84 in Tallinn
5.0 of 5 stars 889 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#17 of 84 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
PK Ilmarine Hotel
PK Ilmarine Hotel
#29 of 84 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 641 reviews
0.7 mi away
L'Ermitage Hotel
L'Ermitage Hotel
#21 of 84 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 467 reviews
0.3 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#12 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bern

Address: Aia 10 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#19 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bern 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A host with an individual and attentive approach!* Located in Tallinn Old Town, amidst historic sights and cultural events* Cordial and helpful staff* Rooms with connecting doors for families* Equipment includes a bathrobe and slippers. Hotel Bern is situated in a bright and peaceful backyard, about 100 m away from the main street of Tallinn Old Town, called Viru street. About the same distance to popular shopping center, Viru Centre, hop-on hop-off buses, Spa which has a 50-meter swimming pool and children pool plus all Old Town important sights are in a reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bern Hotel Tallinn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.