We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, but some issues” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Tallinn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Swissotel Tallinn to your Saves list
Swissotel Tallinn
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tornimae 3, Tallinn 10145, Estonia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, but some issues”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I visit Tallinn regularly, but this was my first stay at this hotel. While this wasn't quite the fabulous hotel various reviews had indicated , I was quite pleased with the stay. I was in standard room and received the amenities I usually receive in a business class room. Great big bed with very good pillows and linen. Robes which were regularly changed throughout my weeklong stay. Expresso machine and good internet/wifi. Lighting in room was very good. Very good efficient front desk service for my various needs throughout the week. Nice spa and fitness room which had adequate equipment and weights for a workout. Nice, large sauna with an open view of the city.

On the negative side, decor was a bit 1990s and could use an update. Breakfast service was not particularly impressive and the staff was overwhelmed on the weekend days. Breakfast buffet offered a lot of choices, but it was all rather generic and not particularly tasty or local. Items were
slow to be restocked and usually were not restocked if during the last 45 minutes of breakfast time.

Bathroom in the hotel room was separated from the main room by a smoked glass wall, but all sounds were audible, person in bathroom was rather visible and impossible to turn on bathroom light without waking your partner.
So, overall a very nice place to have spent a week, but some issues that prevent it from being on the top of my international hotel list

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,061
    251
    39
    12
    12
See reviews for
159
544
78
375
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

During our recent Business trip to Tallinn we stayed at the Swissotel. This was recommended by our Partners. I had travelled all over the world and stayed in many different hotels. We really enjoyed this stay, I had noticed unique things which is a new learning for many other hotels

1) English speaking person gave a very beautiful explanations about usage of various electronics items / gadgets at the room
2) Since we were staying in a Suite, even Registration Check in facility were offered at a separate place with ease of convenience
3) Evening there was a second cleaning done at the room before we go for sleep
4) Coffee and Tea options were unique for various International Customers
5) Since I was a Vegetarian the Chef came personally and understood my requirements and made the Dinner for me. Normally in Big Hotels you need to choose only from the listed options

Overall enjoyed this stay and wish them all the very best

Room Tip: We preferred a Non Smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STL_Swissotel, General Manager at Swissotel Tallinn, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for sharing your impressions on TripAdvisor! It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us during the business trip. It is truly a great honour to see that we got a chance to make your stay with us comfortable in so many levels. Your compliments to our Food & Beverage Department have been forwarded and are highly appreciated. I am happy to hear that our Chef got a chance to prepare a suitable vegetarian dinner for you. We value our staff and we all do our best to maintain and improve the level of service provided. Hearing your compliments makes us feel even more grateful for having a team like this around us. Hopefully we´ll have a chance to welcome you here again and if it will be a non-business trip, we definitely recommend you to visit our Pürovel Spa& Sport facilities. Until then, happy travelling and welcome back to Swissôtel Tallinn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Great service, stylish, clean and comfortable rooms, great views in each direction- city view, sea view. Wonderful Spa center with 20 m long swimming pool, steam and finnish saunas and gym.
Espresso machine in every room, glass window from floor to the ceiling.

Room Tip: Try to get a room to the highest floor possible (because of the view).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STL_Swissotel, General Manager at Swissotel Tallinn, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for choosing Swissôtel Tallinn! We appreciate your kind words and would like to thank you for sharing your impressions with other travelers on TripAdvisor. Compliments towards our service and in-room amenities are much appreciated! I could not agree with you more about the views. The hotel indeed boosts great views of Tallinn in each direction, which I believe is a great value during all seasons. I am happy to see that you chose to spend some quality time in our Pürovel Spa & Sport facilities. I hope you also had a chance to visit our restaurants. If not, this would be reason enough to visit us again. It has been a pleasure to have you here during your stay and we would be delighted to welcome you back in the nearest future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Everything in the room deserves five stars. There is also a hidden compartment under the TV with a UK socket outlet. Best thing about this hotel is the food. Delicious! And try the local fish especially.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a bath, although shower very good, so ask for a bath if you want one. Also upper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STL_Swissotel, General Manager at Swissotel Tallinn, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay in Swissôtel Tallinn. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the in-room media box useful. We truly appreciate your compliments towards our Food & Beverage department and feel happy that our cuisine reached your expectations. I hope other travelers using TripAdvisor appreciate your recommendations the way we do as the fish indeed is something one would not want to miss out. Hope you´re planning to visit Tallinn again soon and allow us to make your stay here memorable once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Stayed in Tallinn early Jan. Flippin' freezing, snowy and empty (of stag do's and cruise groups - thankfully) but the Swissotel delivered in every possible way.

The best room I've ever stayed in. The nicest most luxurious bathroom. An incredible sea view. The most comfortable huge bed, shower and bath - and for the price of what about four hours in a London 3* would cost you.

Free wifi, great service, handy central location two streets from
the Old Town - a travellers dream.

Can't recommend high enough.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STL_Swissotel, General Manager at Swissotel Tallinn, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words and for finding the time to share your experiences on TripAdvisor! Such a thorough and positive conclusion gives us great pleasure and we can´t thank you enough. I am delighted to hear your stay with us went well and that the guest room with its bathroom made an impression. The location and the views are indeed two of the things we also like to point out as positive characteristics. It would be an absolute pleasure to welcome you back already this summer so that you can experience something warmer than a freezing and snowy Tallinn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel and we were really impressed with the excellent level of customer service we received throughout our stay. We booked online and found the process was easy and all our queries were answered promptly by email and the family double room rate was a major bonus. We had 2 interconnecting rooms - the kids room had beds made up with kids duvets, colouring pencil sets and a welcome toy each on their pillow. They also got complimentary milk, fruit and cookies in their room on arrival - what a brilliant thoughtful idea! The rooms were spacious and had amazing views of Tallinn and on the evening when we were too tired to go to dinner there was plenty of room to make up a table for 4 via room service (fantastic!).
The front desk staff were helpful in advising us the best routes to walk into the Old Town, about a 10min walk and giving us a map just in case. We were met at the airport by a hotel car and although its not far it was very convenient to have an English speaking driver upon arrival in a new City. The taxis we used in Tallinn and on our return journey were very good value too.
We used the spa on the 8th floor and couldn't believe our luck that we had the pool to ourselves and that children were made welcome in these luxury facilities.
Breakfast was a remarkable range of foods, covering the familiar cereals, dried fruits, bircher muesli and pastries to the more European tastes - smoked fish, herrings and cold meats. We set ourselves up for plenty of sightseeing by having eggs, bacon, sausages etc from the hot buffet which was all freshly cooked and our son also ordered an omelette made while you wait. The juices changed daily - we particularly liked the green one, possibly kiwi, apple & cucumber(?). The standard of food throughout our stay was exceptionally high.
On our last night we couldnt resist taking the children to the 30th floor cocktail bar - I know bearing in mind that they aren't allowed in some pubs in England this didn't cause any problems here. The atmosphere was more formal - clearly cocktails and fine dining however we were made to feel very welcome and had drinks ( amazing cocktails for us, mango juice for them!) and bar snacks and we were able to see the incredible view of Tallinn and the Baltic coast at night.
Overall this hotel completely exceeded our expectations and made our Christmas city break very memorable indeed - I highly recommend it to parents who are looking for luxurious surroundings and a very special stay with their children.

Room Tip: Interconnecting rooms are a major bonus for family groups travelling together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STL_Swissotel, General Manager at Swissotel Tallinn, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you very much for choosing Swissôtel Tallinn to be the place to stay during your visit to Tallinn. I am amazed by these wonderful comments and am happy for your entire family for enjoying yourselves here to the fullest. It is one of our goals to exceed the expectations of our guests every day with our service and product. It makes us incredibly happy that your expectations were exceeded during this stay and that we could make your Christmas holiday memorable. You were indeed lucky to have had the Spa facilities all for yourselves; I believe the children must have had lots of fun here! We definitely recommend you to find time for a city break in Tallinn during summer season as well, since there are a lot of places to visit while travelling with family. We are truly happy that your stay with us went fluently and that we had a chance to share Christmas with your family. We wish you and your family happy travelling and hopefully we have a chance to welcome you here in the nearest future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

It's the best hotel in Tallinn and I recommend to stay there anytime ! Been there many times and always had a great experience. Have a harbour view room and higher floor ! Also try room service - caesar salad with salmon - the best ! Highly recommended hotel. Very friendly staff and rooms are very clean.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STL_Swissotel, General Manager at Swissotel Tallinn, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for finding the time to share your experiences in TripAdvisor! We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your loyalty to our hotel. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our room service and the Caesar salad. Recommending us to other travellers is highly appreciated and we thank you for putting your trust into our property and staff. My team and I would be happy to welcome you back to stay with us in the nearest future and hopefully provide a memorable stay once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#1 of 84 in Tallinn
5.0 of 5 stars 773 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#3 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 1,119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Sky Hotel
Radisson Blu Sky Hotel
#8 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Nordic Hotel Forum
Nordic Hotel Forum
#13 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 834 reviews
0.7 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#5 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 575 reviews
0.5 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#6 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Tallinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Tallinn

Address: Tornimae 3, Tallinn 10145, Estonia
Phone Number:
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#1 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Family Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Tallinn 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary hotel is set in Tallinn's city center, 800 meters from the Old Town. The hotel offers 238 elegantly appointed guest rooms. Uniquely in Tallinn, the hotel has Executive Floors and a dedicated Swiss Executive Club Lounge. The hotel houses two restaurants and a deli for guests on the run; Purovel Spa & Sport delivers private fitness and relaxation facilities, including an indoor pool, a gym, a sauna and a steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Swissotel Tallinn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Tallinn Hotel Tallinn
Swissotel Hotel Tallinn
Tallinn Swissotel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Tallinn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.