We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Tallinn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Swissotel Tallinn to your Saves list
Swissotel Tallinn
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tornimae 3, Tallinn 10145, Estonia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% OFF SEASONAL SAVER
Ranked #2 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is an exceptionally nice property, that is very well maintained with a great staff of helpful and friendly people. The only negative from my stay was that I found the staff from the top floor restaurant and bar to be very rude and snooty, I would not recommend giving them your business after repeatedly being insulted I walked out. On the other hand the ground floor bar and concierge are some of the nicest people, some of the best in the business. I would happily visit these friends again while avoiding the top floor areas.

Room Tip: The views of the water are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    875
    207
    34
    7
    11
See reviews for
122
447
74
314
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We (group of 4) arrived in Tallinn by ferry from Helsinki, and took a taxi to the hotel. The journey took about 5 minutes and cost just over €5 total (not per person).

We had a room on the 26th floor with views over the city. The room rate was €104 for a twin room, not including breakfast, but it did include a free cocktail at the hotel bar. (This is one of the highest in Tallinn, with great views). On the last day we discovered we had access to the executive lounge, which was surprising as we booked the cheapest rate and were not told we had access when we checked in.

We didn't have breakfast as it was very expensive (which is often the case) and had to walk to the old town area, as there are not many places for breakfast immediately close to the hotel.

Our room contained two double beds and had plenty of storage space to unpack, and put our suitcases away. Each bed had an LED reading light and small shelf with access to power sockets. The floor was polished wood, with a large rug around the beds. A Lavazza coffee machine was provided, along with a separate kettle.

The bathroom door, and the wall dividing the bathroom from the bedroom, is made from darkened glass. However it is not entirely opaque; you can still clearly see the outline of people as they shower or use the toilet. This was even worse if the bedroom lights were off but the bathroom lights were on. For this reason I would not recommend the hotel if you are travelling on business and sharing a room with a colleague.

On our first day we left the hotel at 10am, and returned at 4pm to discover the room had not been serviced (neither had our friends in the second room). Although we were able to call reception and request housekeeping service the room, I thought it unusual that this wasn’t done as standard during the day.

The hotel has a very nice swimming pool, steam room and sauna, which have windows overlooking the city.

The hotel is approximately a 10 minute walk to the old town area, which contains most of the tourist attractions.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kotka
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Nice and clean hotel, but not as good as we expected from five star hotel, four or four and half maximum stars. Location is good and breakfast is nice. Top floor bar is fantastic. Gym is small, spa ok.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Tallinn has a lot of nice hotels, I've stayed in a few but this is the best so far:
- Service is excellent
- Rooms are totally up to date, clean, and decent sized
- Bathroom clean, mine had a bathtub and a larger than normal shower cubicle
- Room had plenty of wardrobe and desk space, chairs were comfortable
- Lots of uplighters and downlighters therefore you can set the light level to however you want it
- Room service very efficient. I ordered breakfast as I was leaving before the restaurant opened and it was good (warm, fresh tasting, good quantities)
- Room was modern, large flatscreen TV, various TV inputs available
- Wireless internet available and was a reasonable speed

I didn't make it to the gym nor swimming pool, but it looked great looking at the pictures.

There is also a bar on the top floor which was great - a bit expensive by Estonian standards but a great view, atmosphere, service and good cocktail choice.

If you're lucky then you'll find your room also has a good view (of either the city or harbour).

The hotel has a taxi stand outside it and is a couple of minutes walk to the city centre. The old city is approx. 10 min walk away.
I'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STL_Swissotel, General Manager at Swissotel Tallinn, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you very much for choosing Swissôtel Tallinn and for giving such a nice overview of your experiences during travelling! We are delighted to hear that our design and service have met your expectations and also for naming our hotel the best in Tallinn. We are also happy to see that you had the chance to get to know our selection of cocktails while enjoying the stunning views from the top floor. Pürovel Spa & Sport is definitely good enough reason to visit Swissôtel Tallinn again in the nearest future. Therefore please do not hesitate to contact us in case you are planning to get to know more about Tallinn during summer time or plan to have another business trip here; it would be an absolute pleasure to try and even exceed your expectations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

True value for money! Rooms were better than you could imagine and service works very well. I had a trip with friends and this hotel offered the best location and the room was so comfy that you could spend the whole time without leaving the room!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

After much prevarication, I booked this hotel with a nagging concern that it would be characterless and off the beaten track. In a sense it was both - but not in a bad way. It's a modern, well-designed corporate hotel but it's supremely comfortable and the friendly, knowledgeable, outgoing staff bring it to life. And yes, it is ten minutes' walk from Tallinn Old Town but we were actually pleased to be staying in a more 'real' part of the city, somewhat away from the now slightly 'Disney-fied' Old Town. It's also well-located for the airport; the bus stops right outside and whisks you there in fifteen minutes.

The buffet breakfast offers an almost ludicrously wide choice of options and the spa was a good place to spend a wet afternoon when the charm of pounding the streets in the rain waned.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STL_Swissotel, General Manager at Swissotel Tallinn, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and for choosing to stay in Swissôtel Tallinn!
We are glad to hear that the staff and the design of our hotel created a good impression and that you were pleased with your choice of the hotel. Pürovel Spa & Sport is indeed a good place to spend some quality time, especially during a rainy day. We are happy to hear that you also enjoyed our breakfast selection and hopefully it gave a perfect start to your morning. It has been an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and we would be delighted to welcome you here again in the nearest future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaasa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Most comfortable hotel in Tallinn! Even "normal" rooms gives you a great value for your money. We did really enjoy our weekend there with my girlfriend. Really relaxing experience. Sleep quality where even extraordinary! Ben, pillows and blankets where even better than I have in my home.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swissotel Tallinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Tallinn

Address: Tornimae 3, Tallinn 10145, Estonia
Phone Number:
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#1 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#2 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Tallinn 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary hotel is set in Tallinn's city center, 800 meters from the Old Town. The hotel offers 238 elegantly appointed guest rooms. Uniquely in Tallinn, the hotel has Executive Floors and a dedicated Swiss Executive Club Lounge. The hotel houses two restaurants and a deli for guests on the run; Purovel Spa & Sport delivers private fitness and relaxation facilities, including an indoor pool, a gym, a sauna and a steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Swissotel Tallinn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Tallinn Hotel Tallinn
Swissotel Hotel Tallinn
Tallinn Swissotel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Tallinn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.