We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and classy hotel with very professional staff / low sleep value, non-functional breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Tallinn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Swissotel Tallinn to your Saves list
Swissotel Tallinn
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tornimae 3, Tallinn 10145, Estonia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Europe
Level Contributor
166 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Modern and classy hotel with very professional staff / low sleep value, non-functional breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The best about this hotel is the decor and the highly professional staff. The spaces are beautiful, modern and very clean. The staff is very attentive, professional and friendly. Everyone were just amazing starting from the bellboy, the receptionist, restaurant staff and the people at the spa and by the pool. We didn't have to ask for anything because absolutely everything was told or offered before we even thought of asking for it.

The room was very spacious and the view was great! Breakfast was very good, but we really didn't like that the staff offered us coffee instead us getting it ourselves - we really had to wait for it for a long time every time. The waitresses were extremely busy and they seriously couldn't keep up with the customers. People were waiting for coffee, spoons, cleaning of the table etc. Also, when we left breakfast on one morning there were about 15 people waiting to get in the breakfast room. The room was full and people had to wait for their turn for quite a long time.

Also, I must complain about how the sleep quality was quite low. We heard the traffic even though we were on 19th floor! We also heard sounds from the room near us during the night. It was quite annoying. Also, the room got really cold during the night even though we adjusted the heating.

The spa and pool area were great! There wasn't a jacuzzi or even a second pool but it didn't matter because the pool area was beautiful, the pool was huge and the two saunas were great! Very nice facilities!

All in all, a good hotel, special thanks to amazing staff. Location is good and central, near Stockmann and Kaubamaja/Viru Keskus, about 10-15 min walk from the Old Town. There's a cute little cafe in the hotel, just by the entrance offering beautiful pastries! =)

The hotel bar was small but nice. Good wine selection.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,024
    239
    37
    11
    12
See reviews for
152
519
77
365
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This was our first visit in Swissotel Tallinn, and we liked the stay there. The location is a little bit further away from the old town, but convenient thinking about shopping at Stockmann´s or at Kaubamaja or Virukeskus. We found the service extremely professional and friendly.

The standard rooms were spacious and decorated in a calm and even a bit luxurius style. Our double bed was really large and very convenient. The view over the town with lights shining in the dark was special. The bathroom was really nice with the small dark and bronze coloured decoration tiles. The cleaning staff had taken some liberties, though, as the bathroom was a bit dusty.

The breakfast was lavish, with practically anything we could hope for. Even a chef to prepare the eggs to our liking. The fruit selection was fresh. The only minus was that on Friday morning the cafe was full and we needed to wait for a while to be seated. This is definitely not something you expect for this price.

A complimentary use of the small spa area with a gym, a 20-meter long swimming pool and two saunas was a nice extra to our stay.

We felt we got what we paid for, and are happy to return and recommend the hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This was the third time my partner and I stayed in Swissotel during our weekend trip in Tallinn.
Tallinn is such a good destination as it's only two hours away from Finnish capital Helsinki by a ferry.
Two previous times in this hotel we have stayed in normal rooms. This time we decided to upgrade us to the executive floor.
Our room was located in 29th floor, the highest floor that accommodate rooms in this building. Fast and smooth check in was made in the executive lounge, one floor lower.
When we got into our room, we found out that it was identical with normal rooms. The only difference we noticed was the bathroom amenities that were bigger in size.
However, Swissotel has nice rooms with comfy beds and pillows. The room also offered amazing views so no complaints.
Soon after checking our room we returned to the lounge to have some "snacks" as they advertise. We were positively surprised.
This so called snacks turned out to be a full dinner buffet and it included, for example, pork escalopes, mussels, pike perch, and ravioli. The quality of food was excellent and we decided not to eat out.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed at this Hotel in 2011 for 2 nights. The rooms were spacious, beds comfortable and the staff at the front desk helpful, they organised an early morning taxi pick-up for us to go to the airport. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naantali, Finland
Level Contributor
171 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

The Swisshotel buffet offers a number of delicious first dishes, main courses and wonderful desserts. The service is very friendly and the staff speaks good English. The space is sober and the atmosphere is paeceful. The hotel parking garage makes the access very easy.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Modern hotel very quiet rooms and lovely spa. Will happily return to use it again when next in Tallinn. Professional unobtrusive service. Always a taxi outside and very handy for the airport.
Not in the oldtown but only a couple of minutes walk.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for three nights and I wish I didn't had to leave. We booked the one-bedroom suite which was BEAUTIFUL! The staff was excellent and very serviceminded! The suite was absolutely gorgeous with (what I believe) the best view in Tallinn. The bathroom was breath-taking, really spacious with an awesome shower (I usually don't like hotel showers) and a bath-tub. The bed was comfortable, and the livingroom had a sofa, a chair, a TV, coffee maker and a work-desk. I could just stay in that suite for the whole weekend I think.. (I didn't though). The Purövel SPA is also great. Both the SPA section and the gym section.
The hotel is not located in the Old Town, it takes about 10 minutes to walk there, but the Swissotel is worth it! Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Swissotel Tallinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Tallinn

Address: Tornimae 3, Tallinn 10145, Estonia
Phone Number:
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#1 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#2 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Tallinn 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary hotel is set in Tallinn's city center, 800 meters from the Old Town. The hotel offers 238 elegantly appointed guest rooms. Uniquely in Tallinn, the hotel has Executive Floors and a dedicated Swiss Executive Club Lounge. The hotel houses two restaurants and a deli for guests on the run; Purovel Spa & Sport delivers private fitness and relaxation facilities, including an indoor pool, a gym, a sauna and a steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Swissotel Tallinn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Tallinn Hotel Tallinn
Swissotel Hotel Tallinn
Tallinn Swissotel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Tallinn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.