We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay at Hotel Telegraaf” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Telegraaf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Telegraaf to your Saves list
Hotel Telegraaf
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vene 9, Tallinn 10123, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay at Hotel Telegraaf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

If it comes to location it doesn't get much better than Hotel Telegraaf - you are literarily in the center of the Old Town. It takes less than 5 minutes to get to the main square of Tallinn. When it comes to service there is surely nothing to complain about. The staff was very, very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great and really tasty. The pool in the spa area is rather small but the whole setup in the spa is very relaxing and inviting. It is also a great place just to hang out and read a book.
The beds were a bit soft for my personal taste.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irmela H, General Manager at Hotel Telegraaf, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to comment on your recent stay here at the Hotel Telegraaf !

We were all very happy to read that you had a great and relaxing time with us ! Thank you !

With your next reservation please feel free to mention your preference for a firmer bed set up; this can easily be done by quickly removing the softening mattress topper.

We are looking forward to being able to welcome you back in the not too distant future !

With our very best wishes, on behalf of the entire team,

Irmela Heinsius
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    877
    186
    36
    13
    6
See reviews for
116
545
77
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ittigen, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

For a one week stay, a very good located place in old Tallinn, close to most of all places of interest in foot distance, Design Interior, charming staff, good russian-french restaurant Tchaikovsky (delicious New Years Eve Gala Dinner), nice Bar, very good breakfast buffet; in the new part of the hotel, rooms are quite spacious and well equiped; Hotel offers possibility for personal city guide (40€/h very well invested money!), free W-LAN everywhere.
Some suggestions for improving:
Specific services such as room service for breakfast are sometimes not 100% exact (earlier or later than requested);
Elemis SPA is good, but unfortunately not a quiet zone (playground for kids, chattering groups of youngsters or adults, pop music of local broadcasting radio station in the steam bath.....) -> to be improved and indicated by signs for users...unfortunately no inhouse fitness
Technical equipment: room temperature regulation device is not easy to handle...
Room cleaning for a longer stay: no vacuum cleaning of carpets during all the week -> to be improved
Breakfast (Breakfast room is the same as the Tchaikovsky Restaurant): at peak time (for us 9.30-10 a.m.) you have to queue...

All in all nevertheless a very good place to come back!

Room Tip: Ask for room in the new part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irmela H, General Manager at Hotel Telegraaf, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear tripadvisor’s Matthias R.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Telegraaf and that you enjoyed visiting our beautiful hanseatic city !

Always a pleasure to know our guests are satisfied with our services and facilities; and yes, the New Year’s Eve Gala Diner was much appreciated by all our guests and we are happy that you enjoyed the high standard cuisine of our Restaurant Tchaikovsky !

Thank you also for your suggestions to further enhance your services, very valuable comments, thank you and please also accept our apologies for the shortcomings you experienced; they are being worked on !

If and when you travel plan brings you back to Tallinn it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the Hotel Telegraaf !

As Tallinn is worth a visit during any time of the year, already today we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Telegraaf and our Restaurant Tchaikovsky !

Aitäh, thank you, merci and with best regards,

On behalf of the entire team of the Hotel Telegraaf,

I. Heinsius
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarau, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Dear Telegraaf Team, thank you very much for the splendid evening at Restaurant Tchaikovsky, which I enjoyed with friends during new years eve. The band trio did a great job, as did the opera singer and, not to forget, the Tchaikovsky team. Everyone of the Hotel staff is very friendly, couteous and allert with a friendly smile on her/his face at all times. The rooms are what you can expect in a "Small Luxury Hotel", cosy and charming with views onto the roofs of the old town. Another great experience was the Elemis Spa, where I decided to have a relaxing massage, which turned out to be exactly what I needed after some days of Walking the town.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

If 2014 starts in the same way 2013 finished - it is going to be a great year. For those wishing to hold onto the xmas feeling a little longer than opening the stockings on Christmas Day, when all of the family celebrations are over, we can highly recommend Tallinn, Estonia, as a location. And in the middle of this prime location is Hotel Telegraaf, a great little deluxe hotel. Not only for the amazing location, location, location, (slap-bang in the centre of town) but also for the ever ready to please hotel brigade. We did not encounter one person without a smile, eagerness to give good service - without gushing or being pushy, and always time for the personal touch. A highly recommended bijou hotel, not the run of the mill faceless corporate kind; pleasant comfortable rooms, sumptuous breakfast and fine dining in the restaurant Tucholsky.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Practically nothing worked ok in this hotel!

We planned to have a luxury christmas in a five star hotel, but during our three days we coudn't get even a single meal in our own hotel, because the restaurant was too small and allways fully booked. They had no tables for their own hotel quests! But on the other hand, maybe we were just lucky, because the live music in the restaurant was terrible and played by bunch of helpless amateurs. Also the Christmas Day -breakfast in the same diningroom was a total chaos, because there simply wasn't any seats left! They tried to build an emergency breakfastroom in the lobby, but there they offered only cold scrambled egg, some cheese, but no coffee or tea ...

Our two superior rooms were not properly cleaned and there was dust on tv:s, lamps, under
beds and tables. Also floors and armchairs were dirty. Wallpainting was cracking in bathrooms.

Reception was too small and slow, staff was arrogant. Also SPA and lobbyarea were too small with uncomfortable chairs.

Alltogether this expensive hotel was a total dissappointment, and we will definitelly never gonna come back again!

Room Tip: On the street side you will wake up before 7 am because of the carbage truck! On the old side of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irmela H, General Manager at Hotel Telegraaf, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear TripAdvisor’s Daddy-57

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel Telegraaf here on TripAdvisor and please accept our apologies for your negative impressions.

Feedback of any kind is important to us and our team at the Hotel Telegraaf and at the Restaurant Tchaikovsky is striving to be of utmost service to all of our guests and customers and to show to our guests that they are most welcome.

I was saddened to read that we were not able to do just so in case of your booking.

You were staying with us over Christmas so we hope that you were able to appreciate our small Christmas –initiative, you should have found it (a gift) on the 24th of December in both your rooms and we hope you liked it as given as a token in spirit of the season.

Due to the popularity of our Restaurant Tchaikovsky we try to communicate to our customers and guests that reservations are very recommendable to avoid last minute disappointment.

It is our effort to have „last minute“ tables available to hotel guests yet at popular times, as Christmas is in many a places, even those tables can be booked up last minute by other hotel guests.

The live music which is being performed by the „Salon Trio“, a small ensemble of piano, cello and violin, are quite experienced professional musicians with a sound international reputation to their name and their repertoire - true to the name of the restaurant - is classical music by Pyotr (Peter) Tchaikovsky and his contemporaries.

The Hotel Telegraaf is a member of the „Small luxury hotels“ and with its 86 guest rooms, it is exactly just that.

The lay out of the „public areas“ ie the lobby, bar area, symphony lounge and restaurant had that taken into consideration and the pictures in the internet reflect the same in terms of design, size and layout; please accept our kind apologies that those did not meet your expectations.

With our Service Manager we have discussed your comment regarding the breakfast set up and we think you are referring to our Symphony Lounge which, with its atmospheric real fire place is a welcomed alternative to many guests both for breakfast and throughout the day. Yet – again here our sincere apologies – the fact that the breakfast was set up yet lacking the offer of hot beverages left us left for words and this will be looked into in more depth.

Our Housekeeper will share your comments with her team-members as well and an in-depth training will follow with the maid in question.

Dear TripAdvisor’s Daddy-57, again, thank you for the time taken, and in the spirit of the season, we wish you, your family and loved ones the best of wishes for 2014.

Irmela Heinsius
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located in the old town, with a lot of good restaurants close by. The service was friendly, effecient and friendly. The room was not big, but nice, and the bed was good and soft. The breakfast was included in the room price and excellent, with both a buffet and possibilities to order an omelet etc. A perfect place to stay

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I wouldn't think twice about this hotel. Beautiful location. Probably the best. The rooms are large and very comfortable. A little cold but we like it that way.. Always smiling staff from the entrance to exit.. No view from the rooms but oh well!

Room Tip: well we had a suite. room 610. but I peeked at the standard rooms and they were fine as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#1 of 84 in Tallinn
5.0 of 5 stars 768 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#2 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 1,370 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#5 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#6 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 523 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schlossle
Hotel Schlossle
#4 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 370 reviews
0.3 mi away
Three Sisters Hotel
Three Sisters Hotel
#10 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Telegraaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Telegraaf

Address: Vene 9, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#2 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#4 Family Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Telegraaf 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our building, constructed in 1878 and once an exchange station for the Estonian Telegraph company, has been transformed into a unique five-star hotel. Join us and become part of the ambience which has surrounded today's Telegraaf for well over a century.Spend an afternoon in our Elemis day spa, followed by a symphony of Russian cuisine in our restaurant, Tchaikovsky. The only hotel in the Old Town with underground parking, we encourage you to arrive comfortably in one of the most beautiful and stylish cities in Northern Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Telegraaf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telegraaf Hotel Tallinn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Telegraaf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.