We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort, Location, Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Telegraaf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Telegraaf to your Saves list
Hotel Telegraaf
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vene 9, Tallinn 10123, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Comfort, Location, Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The Hotel Telegraaf is situated right in the centre of Tallinn and the location of the Hotel makes it very easy to visit Tallinn and beyond. As you leave the Hotel and turn right up a small street, you walk straight into Town Hall square. One advantage of being so close to the centre is that it is possible to be at the main sights before the tour groups arrive. As mentioned, the location is great for exploring Tallinn and it is only a short walk to get to the busses and trams to visit outside of Tallinn for instance Kadriorg Park.

The Hotel staff were very attentive and I found the reception gave helpful advice to any questions I had. The rooms are good and come with a fridge and a good size bathroom. I had a room on the top floor with quite a nice view, the room faced out to the front of the hotel but there was not any noise from the street below.
There was a good choice of breakfast and had everything from cereals, fruits, toast, sausages, eggs and everything you would expect in this type of Hotel.

All in all a great place to stay, the location is perfect and has the advantage in being very close to the Town Hall Square and other sights but at the same time in a very quiet area. I wanted to go to Tallinn for many years and hoped when I did that I would stay at the Telegraaf, I wasn’t disappointed with the choice of hotel and would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: The top floor was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    882
    189
    37
    13
    6
See reviews for
119
547
77
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We recently spent a weekend in Tallinn and feel very lucky to stay at the Telegraaf. We were on the sixth floor with views into the old town. When you walk into the lobby you're stunned and when you see your room you're completely blown away. Not only is the room gorgeous, but the mattresses was super comfortable! The staff is friendly and very helpful, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I was last weekend in Superior room (203). It was small (second floor) and just under the room there was a stony street corridor where lorries and clients with their suitcases caused noise early in the morning so - you woke up from that noise ! The service in breakfast room was slow in the Friday morning but better on Saturday.

Room Tip: Ask the room from higher floors and check it first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irmela H, General Manager at Hotel Telegraaf, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review here on tripadvisor. For us, all our reviews are valuable, they are being read, discussed and acted upon.

Thank you for your positive comments on the Breakfast service on Saturday morning, you also mentioned this to be high-rated on your Guest Comment Card; thank you for that.

We are looking into the two other shortcomings mentioned; thank you for pointing them out; you had also mentioned them on the comment card; please accept our apologies for any inconvenience.

Furthermore, based on the above mentioned Guest Comment Card, we have noted your preferred room type and we are looking forward to being able to welcome you back to the Hotel Telegraaf and to the beautiful city of Tallinn in the not too distant future.

With best wishes


Irmela Heinsius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

A weekend trip to Tallinn with wife and son. Had the Executive Suite in the fourth floor, overlooking a courtyard. Excellent quality and design in the room, didn't like the wall to wall carpet but otherwise really really good. Service and the mood of the staff was great during our visit, the breakfast area is not so big but the quality of the food was top. The spa area is also nice, and to having a morning swim while watching the leaves fall from the nearby trees was an experience. All in all, a nice quality hotel with interesting interior and design, with great service. Would recommend to anyone visiting Tallinn.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the inner courtyard could are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Well located hotel in the center of the city. Nice building.
Good service, good restaurant and nice rooms.
Interesting menu, varied breakfast. In weekends longer open.
Laundry service and ironing.
A stay to recommend.
Staff also fluent in english, and of course in russian.
There is a pool though very small.
I did not check out the SPA neither.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
286 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We got one of the best rooms, Executive Room but the room was small and dark. I would try Junior suite for an airy room. Tchaikovsky restaurant is good, location is fantastic. I also like that wifi is free but very slow. Overall not sure if I would come back

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irmela H, General Manager at Hotel Telegraaf, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear tripadvisor’s FiddlingTravelNotes, dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to review that Hotel Telegraaf, its facilities and services.

We read, discuss and share all our online reviews; both the encouraging ones (for staff motivation) and in case of not so good ones, those are being used to streamline our training purposes.

We were all very happy to read that you appreciated our location, which indeed is just some few steps away from the historic Town Hall Square !

On your comment about our rooms, please allow me to point out that we feature different room types: the Executive Rooms with a contemporary design and one of the distinctive features of those Executive Rooms are their long French windows giving these rooms daylight and space. The 6th floor rooms of the Executive Room category make up this missing feature by impressive views of the Old Town eg St Olav Church and a presently operating Ferris wheel (ref review of tripadvisor’s Chinagan entitled „Right on the edge of Old Town Square...“ mentioning room 613). Our Superior Rooms with a historic design feature (among others) high ceilings, as those are located in the historic wing of the building, facing Vene street. As a seasoned traveller I am sure you appreciate the architectural challenges put forth on a heritage listed building such as ours and for that we thank you.

Furthermore, I would like to thank you for your comment on our Restaurant Tchaikovsky, we are glad that you enjoyed it !

Should your travel schedule bring you back to our beautiful city it would be our pleasure to be able to welcome you back to our Hotel Telegraaf; feel free to contact our reservations department directly at info@telegraafhotel.com with a reference to this review.

Thank you and best wishes,

Irmela Heinsius
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Old architecture retained from the old telegraph exchange with comfortable modern interiors.

Great reception who was multitasking as Operator, Receptionist, Cashier, Concierge, Bell Hop. Salut to the staff.

Tried the Tchaikovsky on our 1st night. A modern twist to traditional Russian food. Loved the Elemis Spa & the therapists.

613 on the top floor on the new wing was cosy with an attic feel. Lovely view of Olaf Church & the Ferris wheel. Service was prompt & enjoyed the Elemis toiletries.

Highly recommended but book early as the hotel appears full all the time.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irmela H, General Manager at Hotel Telegraaf, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear tripadvisor’s Chinagan, dear Guest.

Thank you for taking time of your busy schedule to write a review about the Hotel Telegraaf here in the beautiful city of Tallinn.

We read and share all our online reviews with our colleagues as they are a great tool for us to both streamline our training initiatives as well as to use them for motivational purposes.

Thank you also for your kind and encouraging words and comments on the great work of our Receptionists as well as sharing your great experience at our Restaurant Tchaikovsky as well at our Elemis Spa.

Tallinn is a popular destination during the summer months with its long days and warmer temperatures and its short „white nights“; yet it would be our pleasure to welcome you back during a less busy time eg pre-Christmas as Tallinn features a very nice and decorative Christmas Market right on the Town Hall Square, with a decorated Christmas tree and real reindeers and much more.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future !

Thank you again and best wishes,

Irmela Heinsius
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#1 of 84 in Tallinn
5.0 of 5 stars 786 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#2 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 1,387 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#5 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#6 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 530 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schlossle
Hotel Schlossle
#4 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 371 reviews
0.3 mi away
Three Sisters Hotel
Three Sisters Hotel
#10 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Telegraaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Telegraaf

Address: Vene 9, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#4 Family Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Telegraaf 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our building, constructed in 1878 and once an exchange station for the Estonian Telegraph company, has been transformed into a unique five-star hotel. Join us and become part of the ambience which has surrounded today's Telegraaf for well over a century.Spend an afternoon in our Elemis day spa, followed by a symphony of Russian cuisine in our restaurant, Tchaikovsky. The only hotel in the Old Town with underground parking, we encourage you to arrive comfortably in one of the most beautiful and stylish cities in Northern Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Telegraaf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telegraaf Hotel Tallinn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Telegraaf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.