We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Telegraaf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Telegraaf to your Saves list
Hotel Telegraaf
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vene 9, Tallinn 10123, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
berlin
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Right in the old town. Lovely room - well designed with pretty furnishings, but not over-done. Friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful breakfast buffet to be consumed in the delightfully appointed restaurant or outside on the terasse. Small, but relaxing spa area. Only downfalls: steps into the hotel (not easy with the case, although the porters are happy to help); received an unrequested wake-up call at 4am; some of the guests need to be educated in courtesy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    767
    159
    33
    12
    4
See reviews for
96
475
71
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Centrally located and spaceous rooms. It's like living in a part of Tallinn's history! The beautiful and private back garden, spa and fabulous restaurant adds that final touch that makes this hotel one of Tallin's best. Highly recomended! Oh, and the beds are to die for!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This hotel is in a quiet spot but round the corner from the market square in the old town. Everything was within walking distance. The service was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble. We had a problem with the shower. When we came back a completely new shower had been fitted. The breakfast was excellent - so much choice, including local delicacies and sparkling wine. It was so nice coming back tired from sightseeing to a relaxing spa and swim. The staff were really helpful providing information, taxis etc.The room was comfortable and a good size. Although the building is old the decor has a contemporary feeling. The extra cost for a higher grade hotel was definitely worth it

Room Tip: We aked for a room with a view so we were on the 6th floor with a view as far as the port, so we cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in the telegraaf at the end of May/beginning of June that coincided with a very nice warm spell of about 25C during the day. The hotel is very central and hence everywhere you want to visit is walkable. All of the hotel is beautifully decorated, elegant and smart and it is a pleasure to be inside or on the terrace. Our room was very well presented,medium size and very quiet.
Breakfast, included in the price, was good and was served in a very elegant dining room.
We tried the hotel restaurant and agree that it is excellent.
The terrace/garden is also such a nice place to sit on one of the rattan settees and have a coffee or pot of tea.
Service from the staff in the restaurant, reception or terrace very good and pleasant.
This is an up market hotel at a reasonable price and you can guess we enjoyed our stay there.

Room Tip: The views over the terrace/garden are probably the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Really liked this hotel in terms of style and the location was absolutely superb. our room which was on the 2nd floor was roomy and even though it was street facing it was incredibly quiet. The staff were very polite (not too many smiles) and the reception staff very efficient.

Our only criticism was breakfast and some of it is unavoidable. breakfast tables were not cleared quickly resulting in us sitting at a table piled up with used crockery and having to ask someone to clear and relay. I did notice some people actually sitting at tables that had not been cleared and having to eat their breakfast amongst the used crockery. I think the problem was that there was not always someone on the front reception to buss you to a table and therefore people just wandered in. however on the 2nd day we were shown to a clear table on the terrace but all the other tables were empty and piled with crockery which did not give a good overall impression. this needs to be worked on.

The other issue is that if you are on the terrace you have to go in and out through the restaurant. the restaurant is not huge and there are tables by the door that keeps opening and closing - annoying if you are sitting at them.

however still really liked the hotel and would go back.

Room Tip: 2nd floor room overlooking the street was roomy and extremely quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irmela H, General Manager at Hotel Telegraaf, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and thank you for recommending the Hotel Telegraaf to fellow travelers.

Also, thank you for your good description of your experience at breakfast.

We are encouraging all our staff to read our online reviews, and they are being posted on the staff notice board as well as being discussed internally.

Your feedback will be part of our ongoing in depth breakfast trainings for our new starters as it gives a good and clear “guest impression”.

Thank you again for the time taken for this review !

And we are looking forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful city and to the Hotel Telegraaf in Tallinn’s Old Town !

With best wishes

Irmela Heinsius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband and I have just been staying at hotel Telegraaf Tallinn. We have been traveling for a month and it has been a delight to stay in such a comfortable hotel and relaxing hotel. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We booked this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews and hotel location. Hotel location is the best you can get if you want to be in the middle of old town and still, want some peace, when in hotel.

When we arrived we got wrong room. We got superior instead of executive. However, hotel staff fixed it very fast. They said us, that we were upgraded for free, but for our opinion we wanted executive room because they all are located to the inner garden and we wanted the peace.

Breakfast buffet was ok. Small but ok. Not even near, that what should expect from this much rated hotel. Basic at all aspects.

Service was also ok.

So overall, I think that hotel is a bit overprized. Take this if you get a decent bargain or if you want to locate in a perfect spot even it would cost you a lot.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irmela H, General Manager at Hotel Telegraaf, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review here on trip-advisor regarding your stay at the Hotel Telegraaf in the beautiful hanseatic city of Tallinn; Tallinn, a very popular weekend destination especially now with the warm temperatures and the long days / white nights.

We value our guests and customers feedback as they help and assist us to streamline our training efforts and keep them up to date, so, again, thank you for the time taken...!

I am sorry to read that you did not appreciate the kindly meant gesture of the room upgrade from an Executive Room to a Superior Room yet I am happy to read that our colleagues were able to solve / rectify this quickly. Please allow me to comment that all our windows feature double glazing so that street noise stays where it comes from: on the outside..!

We also discussed your comment regarding our breakfast buffet internally.
As the hotel is housed in a heritage protected building in the "Unesco" protected "Tallinn old town" (construction)space was indeed a bit limited. If you could find time in your busy schedule to write to us at info@telegraafhotel.com as to what exactly you felt our shortcomings were regarding our buffet breakfast that would be fabulous. At present our breakfast buffet features -among others- a variety of breads, rolls, danish, croissants, cold cuts, cheeses (incl cottage and goat cheese), salads (eg salad with shrimps), a variety of bread spreads (various jams, honey etc), salmon, rollmops, our Estonian breakfast corner, a selection of cereals, diary products (yoghurt, milk etc), juices, sparkling wine, fruits and fruit salad and as a hot selection: porridge, scrambled eggs, mushrooms, tomatoes, sausages etc and not to mention the a la carte option for "eggs a la minute", eg many of our guest's favourite "Eggs Benedict"...

It was nice to read that your liked the service provided.

Dear Guest, thanks again for the time taken to review your trip to Tallinn and should your travel plans bring you back to our beautiful city it would be a pleasure to welcome you back to the Hotel Telegraaf.

With best wishes,
Irmela Heinsius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Telegraaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Telegraaf

Address: Vene 9, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#2 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Family Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Telegraaf 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our building, constructed in 1878 and once an exchange station for the Estonian Telegraph company, has been transformed into a unique five-star hotel. Join us and become part of the ambience which has surrounded today's Telegraaf for well over a century.Spend an afternoon in our Elemis day spa, followed by a symphony of Russian cuisine in our restaurant, Tchaikovsky. The only hotel in the Old Town with underground parking, we encourage you to arrive comfortably in one of the most beautiful and stylish cities in Northern Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Telegraaf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telegraaf Hotel Tallinn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Telegraaf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.