We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a fantastic city centre location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Telegraaf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Telegraaf to your Saves list
Hotel Telegraaf
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vene 9, Tallinn 10123, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a fantastic city centre location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stayed for two nights during a business trip to Tallinn. Hotel looked great on website and it lived up to my expectations. The hotel is very conveniently located in centre of the town, very close to the centre square. The hotel is beautifully designed with smart bar area and stylish restaurant. Bedroom was lovely with very nice furniture, flat screen tv, mini bar and super comfy beds with great pillow menu. No tea or coffee making facilities in the room because of legislation and the age of the property but room service will provide if you want. Lovely high spec toiletries and a powerful shower. Slight disappointment in the threadbare towels but bathrobes were fluffy! Breakfast was great -full buffet and joys!! a freshly cooked section. Had eggs Benedict both mornings and it was delicious and no extra cost. Staff were great too. Only criticism really was the extortionate prices at the hotel bar-appreciate that it is a high end hotel but prices ridiculous. My advice, go to the main square and have a beer and people watch. In all, good experience and would stay again

Room Tip: Stayed in 611 - two single beds but had a very small balcony that was good to get a breath of air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irmela H, General Manager at Hotel Telegraaf, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Guest, dear Tripadvisor’s „Cmutter“

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to write a review on our Hotel Telegraaf here in the beautiful city of Tallinn; we value each and every one of our reviews: as you might have read below we here at the Hotel Telegraaf are using the reviews both for staff motivation and also for prioritising our training initiatives.

I am very happy to read that you appreciated our hotel, its facilities and services offered and that our service was promptly delivered and well received. Thank you !
Thank you also for your comment regarding our bar prices yet it leaves us a bit baffled as we have conducted a competitive pricing analysis of our bar beverages (beers, cocktails, etc) and feel that they are not extortionate but competitive. If we can possibly ask you to let us know which beverage / price you were irritated by that would be great (email: info@telegraafhotel.com); again: Thank you !
And finally, for your kind information: we are currently in the process of replacing all our bath towels in all guest bathrooms, so for your next visit, which we hope will be in the not too distant future, you will find nice and fluffy bath towels in your bathroom !

Thank you again, and we are looking forward to being your hotel of choice for your next visit to Tallinn!

With best wishes,

Irmela Heinsius
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    879
    186
    36
    13
    6
See reviews for
117
546
77
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

It is located in the old city of Tallinn. The hotel is a historical building with classic room design.
Breakfast was of good quality. The restaurant seemed to be a famous russian one.
Hotel staff were nice and helpful and could speak english well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Ideally located for the tourist in the Old Town of Tallinn, this hotel provides everything you need to be enjoy a visit without the obsequiousness often found in top establishments. Our Executive Room was reasonably spacious. The beds were comfortable and had good quality linens. The breakfast was more varied than in most hotels and the buffet was kept up well throughout the meal period. Anytime we had a question or needed guidance, the concierge and others at the desk were very helpful. On top of all this, the hotel houses the Tchaikovsky, an excellent Russian-themed restaurant which we will review separately. A very minor problem: because the hotel is retrofitted into an historic building, there are a number of steps up to the lobby which might make it difficult for a handicapped person. Even though we are old, we did not find this a serious inconvenience. In sum, we would definitely stay here again were we to return to Tallinn, which is a very interesting and rewarding place to visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naantali, Finland
Level Contributor
653 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Been here few times and planning to go again, because we have friends in Tallinn and I have enjoyed everytime. Location is perfect, in the middle of everything. Building is beuatiful, both exterior and interior.Service has always been good and summertime it's nice to sit in the courtyard and have a drink, while listening live music. Room isn't that huge, but clean and bed is great. Breakfast is great, but it's true that it might get crowded. Spa area is small, but nice.

PS.It's true that You have to be careful with taxis is Tallinn and my personal opinion is, that
Tulika Taxis are most reliables

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
109 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This hotel should tick all the boxes: very good location in the middle of the old town, historical building with a lot of nice modern touches And there is a lot of staff available who will give you personal attention. So normally, it would mean a "five star" TA rating. However, out of our 3 nights stay we had 2 bad nights due to inadequate actions of the hotel.

When we arrived in the room we found out that the room was really hot (the temperature went up to 26 degrees!) In the afternoon we asked one guy from reception to take action on this, but we never heard from him again. In the evening we called reception again. We found out that they had not switched on the airconditioning yet (probably for economical reasons). We slept with the windows open as much as possible with the curtains closed but it was hard to sleep and my wife had a terrible headache in the morning. Minus 1 star in the TA rating, not only for switching the airconditioning off but also for not acting to correct the problem quickly because we already notified the hotel late afternoon.

As another reviewer commented was that breakfast was really crowded in the Tsjaikovski restaurant. They wanted to direct us to another room. However this looked more like an upscale canteen and had not the refinement of the Tsjaikovski restaurant. When we said that we rather wanted to wait for a table, the waitress really showed contempt for our wish to sit in the Tsjaikovski restaurant. We got a table in five minutes but we found out that because it was at the end of the breakfast session they didn't want to prepare the tables for new customers but rather send them to the other room. Because the other sessions went well, we don't want this incident to influence our rating.

But what really upset us was that when our little daughter wanted to go to sleep on the second night, her cuddly toy rabbit "Harry"was gone. We knew for sure that it must be in the hotel because she never goes to sleep without 'Harry"and we had not taken him outside. We spent more than one hour searching the entire room, getting the mattresses off the beds to look under them, going through our suitcases, all the cabinets everywhere, Then I went to reception and asked them to check with housekeeping. They had not found Harry.

Our daughter had a very bad night (and so had we, for the second night in a row). In the morning my very sad daughter and I went back to reception. They would check with the company that is doing the laundry for them. When we came back from the city, the reception called housekeeping and we found out that Harry was at the laundry company. A real five star hotel would have gotten the cuddly toy rabbit and would have presented him immediately to our daughter. They suggested to get Harry next morning with the regular laundry transport but I asked them to get him immediately having lost all trust in the hotel. It is really unbelievable that my daughters toy rabbit got send to the laundry with sheets and towels as he is over a kilogram and not a small toy. The reception suggested that because the hotel was full the cleaning ladies were in a hurry. Minus 2 stars in the TA rating not only because of almost loosing a very valued possession of my daughter but also because of the very reactive way in dealing with this case.

I just read the most recent reviews and it looks that things are changing at the hotel Telegraaf in a negative way. Maybe they are too successful and it is too busy to service customers in the way the used too. We hope that the hotel gets its act together and will be a winner again in beautiful Tallinn.

One additional tip: be careful with taxi's. There are no set rates and we've seen fares as high as over EUR 4 per kilometer. Tulika taxo is one of the reliable companies that is also at the airport and charges EUR 0,65 per kilometer during the day with a starting fee of EUR 3,10. For EUR 7 - 8 you can go from the airport to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irmela H, General Manager at Hotel Telegraaf, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest, dear tripadvisor's "TripleDutch"

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to review your stay at the Hotel Telegraaf in the beautiful city of Tallinn. We do value all reviews about our boutique hotel, they are being read, shared and discussed between all team members and used both for motivational purposes as well as to streamline our training efforts.

It is with great regret that I read that we did not react upon your calling our front desk regarding the temperature in the room. Please accept my sincere apologies. It is indeed correct that during the last days of April and the first three days of May our air condition was not switched on, and the reasoning behind this is the tendency of inclement weather and the unpredictability of the same in our northern region during this time of year, ie the change of season from a long winter to beautiful spring and subsequently summer days. The weather is now stable enough and I am happy to write that therefore our air condition has now been activated in all our rooms and suites.

May Day and the days around it are customary busy days in Tallinn and indeed the hotel was well booked. I am sorry to read that you did not appreciate our Symphony Lounge as a breakfast alternative, and yes it does not have the same interior design as our Restaurant Tchaikovsky, yet with its decorative fireplace and large windows it is more of an all-day venue.

The incident surrounding your 10- year old daughter's cuddly toy "Harry" was a really regretful event for which not only myself and our Executive Housekeeper would like to apologise, but also your room-maid who serviced your room throughout your stay. Indeed, during the process of changing bed linen daily, unfortunately sometimes white coloured items within a bed are not recognised as non-linen and like so many other hotels our laundry activities are not located within our building, yet are rather given to an outside laundry house and these types of businesses are usually - as in our case - located a good 50min drive away. As I am sure you appreciate this is a larger laundry operation , it therefore required time to look through all (!) their laundry baskets, those on their premises as well as those having just arrived. It indeed was unfortunate that Harry was only found a day later after you reported him missing, and again please accept our apologies for not having delivered him back to your family in a more timely manner, yet we were all relieved and delighted to know him ultimately being reunited with your daughter.

Please allow me to present you again with our apologies for the incidents that you described and we hope you and your family will accept these apologies herewith.

Thank you and with best wishes from Tallinn,

Irmela Heinsius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We spent a weekend at Hotel Telegraaf and I would come back anytime! Both Tallinn and this hotel was a pleasant surprise for me. The interior was very nicely decorated, the room was great, and the spa very nice. I also took a treatment which was very good. The only negative point would be that the floor was very slippery between the pool and the saunas. We ate very late in the bar the first evening and both the food and the drinks were truly great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irmela H, General Manager at Hotel Telegraaf, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear guest, dear Tripadvisor's "Jessieno"

With this quick note we would quickly like to thank you for your kind review of the Hotel Telegraaf, and the time you took out of your busy schedule to review your stay with us here in the beautiful city of Tallinn!

We were all very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and especially your comments on your room as well as the drinks and food offered delighted me! Thank you!

We are all looking forward to being able to welcome you back to your Hotel Telegraaf and to the beautiful city of Tallinn in the not too distant future.

With best regards,

Irmela Heinsius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Just back from Tallinn where we stayed at Hotel Telegraaf. Everything was perfect: the room was nice and big, extremely quiet and the location is the best in town - literally around the corner from the main square in the old town. Close to restaurants, museums and others sights. But probably the best of all is the staff - extremely professional and attentive. About the spa, I wouldn't call it that, but it is a nice pool area, nevertheless.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irmela H, General Manager at Hotel Telegraaf, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

With this quick reply to your kind review of the Hotel Telegraaf, we would just quickly like to thank you for the time you took out of your busy schedule to review your stay with us here in the beautiful city of Tallinn !

We were all very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and especially your praise and nice comments regarding our staff delighted me ! Thank you !

We are all looking forward to being able to welcome you back to your Hotel Telegraaf and to the beautiful city of Tallinn in the not too distant future.

With best wishes,
Irmela Heinsius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#1 of 84 in Tallinn
5.0 of 5 stars 778 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#2 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 1,377 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#5 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#6 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 529 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schlossle
Hotel Schlossle
#4 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 370 reviews
0.3 mi away
Three Sisters Hotel
Three Sisters Hotel
#10 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Telegraaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Telegraaf

Address: Vene 9, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#4 Family Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Telegraaf 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our building, constructed in 1878 and once an exchange station for the Estonian Telegraph company, has been transformed into a unique five-star hotel. Join us and become part of the ambience which has surrounded today's Telegraaf for well over a century.Spend an afternoon in our Elemis day spa, followed by a symphony of Russian cuisine in our restaurant, Tchaikovsky. The only hotel in the Old Town with underground parking, we encourage you to arrive comfortably in one of the most beautiful and stylish cities in Northern Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Telegraaf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telegraaf Hotel Tallinn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Telegraaf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.