We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Telegraaf

Save Saved
You added Hotel Telegraaf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Telegraaf
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vene 9, Tallinn 10123, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 84 hotels in Tallinn
london
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Simply Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We loved this hotel. It's right in the heart of it all in the old town - which is where you want to be. The rooms are lovely. We stayed in an 'old room' - lovely and bright with high ceilings. We honestly didn't want to leave the room - even though Tallinn is a beautiful place.

The service from the moment I booked was outstanding - with restaurant recommendations and throughout the stay everyone went out of their way to make the stay special.

The sauna/steam room/pool area are lovely. We spent a great afternoon there.

We were sadly there for only one night - as would definitely like to have stayed longer.

Book this one. I don't think you could do better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    713
    146
    32
    11
    3
See reviews for
83
425
64
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pease Pottage
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Great little hotel in the centre of old town. The market square is approx 2 minutes walk and all other attractions are easily reached.

Staff all very friendly and helpful.

We had a standard room on the 6th floor - was a little small but had pretty much everything we needed. The only thing we missed having was an iPod docking station - but that's us being ultra fussy! Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel was very helpful.

The restaurant was superb and in our opinion is a must if you are staying - food quality and service was excellent. (See our separate review.)
We also had spa treatments which were very good.

Transfers can be arranged for only a little more expense than a taxi - we were met in the arrivals hall and politely escorted to a very nice black Mercedes - only a 10 minute trip but nice to arrive in style !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Hotel Telegraaf is a beautiful hotel located perfectly in the heart of Tallinn's old town, the staff are very hospitable & helpful too. Our friends had a room in the old part of the hotel which had beautiful high ceilings on the 5th floor, our room had a more contemporary feel, but was just as lovely on the 2nd floor (room 214), this was also very convenient for the spa, we just popped our supplied dressing gowns & slippers on and headed for the lovely pool, Jacuzzi, sauna & steam room after a days sightseeing around Tallinn. Elemis complimentary toiletries are all supplied in your rooms. Breakfast was all you could hope for, including hot dishes, pastries, cold meats & cheeses which you helped yourself to, there was also an À la carte breakfast menu which you could choose at no extra cost, and you can even help yourself to a glass of champagne! I would definitely be staying at this hotel on my return…

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

What can you say about the Hotel Telegraaf...

From the moment you are picked up a the airport (25 Euros) to the day you are delivered back your stay can only be described as fabulous. The rooms are tremendous, spacious and well furnished, the TV's could be a little bigger, the food first class, the position, unbelievably central and the staff, well, second to none.

We had a three day short break so had to cram quite a bit in, but with the help of the team we were able to plan our days well. Nothing was too much trouble and they all spoke perfect English...putting us to shame.

The only minor criticism was the pool was on the cold side but the sauna and steam room made up for it.

In short a little gem of a hotel...one you should be justly proud of..we will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Overall very pleased with our stay, Telegraaf is a beautiful hotel located perfectly in the heart of Tallinn's old town. Requested for a double but got a twin, however the room was in the sixth floor with beautiful views. Breakfast was versatile with sparkling wine and À la carte breakfast menu.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayd in Telegraaf for few days in February, we were 3 adults and 11 year old child. The oldest guest (77) had a bit difficult to walk, and with lots of stairs it was difficult to walk. The lift was always locked and even with asking it was awful hassle to get it open, so the old lady wanted to use the stairs rather than making all the hassle. We arrived at 10 am and the rooms were not ready ( I saw from the web that to hotel was not even fully booked). So we wandered around for 4 hrs, and they promised to call when the rooms were ready. At 2 pm we were so tired that we decided to go back to the hotel and they finally said the rooms are ready. We booked the silent nights with complimentary drinks on arrival, which we never got. Later I asked for the drinks and they gave me 2 vouchers. When we went to the bar they said that they will give us 2 drinks, so I needed to go back to the reception and ask for more vouchers .By the time they gave me 2 more vouchers half of the gang were so sick and tired of the service so they decided to go back to the rooms. We also decided not to drink those cheap proseccos which we almost begged for. For 5 star hotel, I felt like I am begging and not like I was a customer. Lousy service. Rooms were okeish and beds cosy, but all the rest are less than 3 star. Location is good, if you want to eat in expensive restaurants, all the shopping is too far. Next time swissotel.. I do not recommend this to old people nor people with young kids. I felt sorry for my old parents as this was their last trip abroad, and they did not get the service they should have received, and I hoped for, as I tried to book the best hotel in Tallinn which was not true at all, even Kalev spa next door is better even if the rooms are a bit outdated.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irmela H, General Manager at Hotel Telegraaf, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to review the Hotel Telegraaf here on Trip Advisor.
We do value all of our reviews greatly – the positive ones and the more critical ones - as they can be used as staff motivation and, as in your case, to further streamline our training initiatives.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the lack in communication both towards you and your family upon your arrival as well as internally as you did not receive what you have booked; here the welcome drink.

Allow me not to go too much into detail about the building structure of an old house, hence some stairs, yet we also think we are quite fortunate to have two well-functioning guest lift which reach all our guest room floors in our historic building as well as our handicapped lift - operator required to avoid mis-use - at the front door which is a slow moving lift designed for those of us who are wheelchair bound.

It is my understanding that at the time of your writing your review you were our in-house guests and that you were in contact with our Manager on Duty during your stay.
And the feedback I subsequently received is that you are indeed enjoying your stay and the beauty of the city of Tallinn.
Yet that does not take away from the fact that your initial experience was a negative one and again I hope you do accept my apologies for that.

Do rest assured that we are taking your review most seriously and our Reservations and Front Office Manager are already adjusting their policies and procedures to ensure that such a mishap will not occur again.
And maybe we have the opportunity of meeting in person prior to your family leaving Tallinn and our hotel.

Yet also through this platform, we do all wish you a safe and good journey back home !

With best wishes

Irmela Heinsius
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The room in old part ins very nice decorated. Good size. You have everything you need. Only if you watch TV - it does not have a lot of programs and size of screen is small.
Swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi are very nice, we enjoy. but its only 6 sunbeds, so could be not enough. Breakfast was too good!
Lobby bar is nice.
We didn't try hotel restaurant for dinner.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
Charming, City...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#1 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 985 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.2 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#4 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 455 reviews
Romantic, Free...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schlossle
Hotel Schlossle
#5 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
0.2 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#10 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 317 reviews
City Center, Fr...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#6 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 292 reviews
Quiet, City Cen...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Sky Hotel
Radisson Blu Sky Hotel
#7 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Telegraaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Telegraaf

Address: Vene 9, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#2 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#2 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#7 Family Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Telegraaf 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our building, constructed in 1878 and once an exchange station for the Estonian Telegraph company, has been transformed into a unique five-star hotel. Join us and become part of the ambience which has surrounded today's Telegraaf for well over a century.Spend an afternoon in our Elemis day spa, followed by a symphony of Russian cuisine in our restaurant, Tchaikovsky. The only hotel in the Old Town with underground parking, we encourage you to arrive comfortably in one of the most beautiful and stylish cities in Northern Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Telegraaf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telegraaf Hotel Tallinn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Telegraaf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.