We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in the old town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel CRU

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel CRU to your Saves list
Hotel CRU
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viru 8, Tallinn 10140, Estonia (Formerly Hotel Viru Inn)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #13 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Kendal, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in the old town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights the week before xmas, and it was excellent. The building itself is very well positioned for the town sq, etc. The room and breakfast were faultless, as were the staff. We would definitely stay there again

Room Tip: We were in room 6, no view as such but very quiet and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    39
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
54
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Excellent location, extremeley friendly staff and beautiful room (superior) with extra large bed. Really nice breakfast with yammy house bread and sparkling wine. The only downside may be the long winding corridors with a bunch of stairs...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Had my third visit in this hotel, and I'm still convinced this small hotel is one of the best options in the old Tallinn.

My positives:
- the location next to the old town square is superb
- the hotel itself is small, cozy, well maintained and quiet
- the rooms are all unique and relatively large, and the materials chosen are of good quality
- the main entrance is closed most of the time and in order to get in you need to ring the bell so that the staff really sees everyone entering the hotel

And negatives:
- it takes a several twists and turns, and a few pairs of steps to get to the rooms, at least to those ones on the top floor
- the downstairs restaurant used to serve very good pizzas, but they are no longer in the menu ..

Overall very nice experience, so I'm also very likely to get back there.

Room Tip: The rooms in the upper floors are very quiet, but since it's a medieval building the plan is a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warsaw
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Ugh, left with mixed feelings.
Hotel is few steps from old town square, in old building, having character, nicely renovated. Cozy restaurant downstairs and throughout the hotel staff is super...

But, the room... I got the number 1, next to stairs so basically heard everything from corridor, including staffs loud chat after closing restaurant and finally bit too well the sound of hoovering at midnight. Luckily had earplugs. Otherwise, room ok, old style but clean. Desk wasnt so comfortable for working as no sockets were available.

Please, consider replacing the fridge. It is screaming like weasel. Please, do not change the staff.

Next time hope to get room from higher floor...

Room Tip: not a number 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have visited Tallinn very many shorter and longer periods. Last weekend in CRU hotel should have lasted much longer! Every time we have chosen different hotels always in Old Town just to experience different atmosphere. Our room was nearly perfect, large and beautiful, the bed was enormous and comfortable and the little sauna was helpful to ease the aching feet in evenings. Unfortunately we did not have time enough to try all the facilities of which we had read earlier. The most fascinating thing in many hotels in Old Town is the skillful and interesting way of building new space inside the old walls and still keep it historical in good way. We would so much wished to have seen more rooms inside. So we must come back, absolutely! Hotel Cru is a pearl!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We chose this hotel for its location in the centre of the Old Town. Just step out of the door and you are right in the heart of the Old Town, just a few paces from Old Town Square.The hotel is a 15th century merchant's house, full of quirky corners. But it has been beautifully adapted with attractive rooms, comfortable beds and great bathrooms with excellent showers. Breakfast was good. The staff were wonderful, helpful and friendly. This hotel enhanced our brilliant visit to Tallinn.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are very small. When booking it's probably best to ask for a spacious room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Affordable, full and varied breakfast included, happy staff, helpful, clean, central to the old town. I a, loving my six night stay here. Nothing is too hard for the staff and they just go out of their way to make sure we are happy and comfortable. I had a minor complaint which was out f their control and they went out of their way to remedy the situation. The manual on customer service must have originated here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel CRU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel CRU

Address: Viru 8, Tallinn 10140, Estonia (Formerly Hotel Viru Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#13 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#18 Business Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel CRU 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel CRU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Viru Tallinn
Viru Hotel Tallinn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel CRU, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.