We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in Tallinn Old Town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel CRU

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel CRU to your Saves list
Hotel CRU
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viru 8, Tallinn 10140, Estonia (Formerly Hotel Viru Inn)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #7 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Finland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location in Tallinn Old Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed two nights with my friend on room no 1. Room wasn´t very big but it had a nice big window and big bathroom. Room was comfortable and very clean. Bed was one of the most comfortable I´ve ever slept in! Hotel is small, cosy and personal. Free wi-fi worked good.

We found the service in the reception very polite and friendly. Service on the breakfast was also friendly but hotel seems to have problem with the breakfast. Although very good high quality food something was all the time ran out. No juice, no bacon (they ran out totally!), no cheese, no vegetables, no hot water for tea... Seemed to us that on both mornings most of the time we spent on breakfast was waiting for food to appear!

Location of the hotel is really good, very short walk to Old Town square, shopping etc. It gets a little bit noisy during nights (because all the restaurants nearby) so bring earplugs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    51
    17
    4
    1
See reviews for
20
77
28
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Having stayed at this hotel for 2 nights I can say about no disadvantages but absence of elevator (quite explainable in protected historical building) and poor lightning in the room (also OK for medieval-style hotel). Location, staff, atmosphere, breakfast - all was just great. I can see absolutely no reason to pay twice for Schlossle (been there too). But don't go there in case you like hilton-style inns, you will surely be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Cru Hotel is in the Old Town, which made our trip easy. We were able to walk to most of the famous attraction and other places. We booked 2 rooms and they were both good size room. The rooms had mixture of both old and modern furniture. The staffs were not that friendly but they were helpful. We ate out; didn’t use their restaurant. Overall it was above average experience at Cru Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The reception and the corridoors were wornout and untidy. The restaurant and its service was good, breakfast wery good using lokal products

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This place is stunning, with lovely rooms in an old merchant's building and great service. Right in the heart of Old Town, easy to walk everywhere. They have a sauna but I didn't get a chance to try it. The attached restaurant was amazing too!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rostock, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed here for two nights.
The hotel is placed directly in the Old Town of Tallinn and you can walk to the famous attractions.
When we arrived the stuff welcome us a German. A nice gesture. Our room was big and a very successful blend of old and modern furniture. Old brick walls and cupboards, modern technique and bathroom. Very nice.
In the hotel you can find a good pizzeria where you can eat dinner or lunch. The breakfast was good.A range of continental and local food. Maybe they could serve a little bit more jams.
Tallinn itself seems to be a town that never sleeps. You can go out all night. Bars, clubs, restaurants.
If you want to see something other than the famous things you should visit the palace "Kadriorg" from the times of the czars a little bit outside of the town (30-40 minutes by foot) and the town museum.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We chose to stay here for our "baby moon" and were very pleasantly surprised! The place is very quaint, cozy, traditionally stylish with a prime location! Just step outside the hotel and you are in the middle of the lively and vibrant Old Town, Tallinn! Just step inside and the hustle and bustle of the busy streets (spring/summer) drift away as though a far away memory. Mostly quiet (except for the balconies that open to the restaurant's courtyard). Rooms small, but comfortable. We stayed in a double standard. Larger rooms are available. If you are not intending on staying in your hotel room during your entire trip, the size will not matter. Had the best night's sleep in a very long time! Once the night fell and the restaurant closed - peace was all I felt :-). The complimentary breakfast was one of, if not THE best "included" breakfasts I have ever had. And as a frequent traveler I have had many! They also coordinate massages for you! Would recommend this place for anyone looking for something unique with excellent service in Tallinn's prime location. Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#1 of 84 in Tallinn
5.0 of 5 stars 876 reviews
0.5 mi away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#2 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 1,441 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#3 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#6 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 581 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merchant's House Hotel
Merchant's House Hotel
#15 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 520 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#5 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel CRU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel CRU

Address: Viru 8, Tallinn 10140, Estonia (Formerly Hotel Viru Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#12 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#13 Business Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel CRU 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Late Medieval architecture in one of the oldest houses in Tallinn together with first-class service and possibilities create a unique atmosphere which connects with the environment surrounding the hotel. When renovating the house we respected both the initial architecture and the strict national heritage protection requirements that ensure that both the location and design of the hotel rooms is as loyal to the original concept of the house as possible. In 1997 Tallinn Old Town was included in the UNESCO World Heritage list and that can be regarded as the highest international acknowledgement to any historic town! In addition to a usual lodging experience we offer you an exclusive luxurious boutique-type experience, deriving from the unique design of the hotel building and its medieval legacy. Since all the rooms are unique and different from each other, the visitors may choose the intimacy or luxury of their preferred environment. Our breakfast is made of self-made or farm-grown fresh high-quality ingredients that are not so easily, if at all, found in shops. Natural and fresh breakfast is a unique experience that lights up the whole day! On the lower storey of Hotel Cru you will find a cosy and highly regarded restaurant of the same name. Hotel guests enjoy 10% off all items on the restaurant menu. Dmitri Haljukov, the head chef of the restaurant Cru, represented Estonia in the chef olympics final Bocuse d'Or in Lyon 2015. CRU Hotel is a good choice for both - leisure and business trips! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel CRU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Viru Tallinn
Viru Hotel Tallinn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel CRU, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.