We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Viru Square

Viru Square
Tallinn, Estonia
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 246 things to do in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Shopping
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
521 reviews
308 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,453 helpful votes
“Central.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

After our Ho Ho tour we walked through the viru square as it was snowing hard, we bought some hot chocolate from the MacDonald`s for the road and headed to town centre passing many nice shops.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    38
    10
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naantali, Finland
Level Contributor
653 reviews
339 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
“Centre of everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I guess 99% of tourists goes to Old Town, if they are visiting Tallinn and 99% of those are going to Viru Square area. Especially summertime full of people, so this is basically centre of everything. Beautiful old buildings, cobble streets and little shops. And don't forget all those bars and restaurants. Must visit in Tallinn!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Nice entrance to the Old City Center, where you can take some great photos and buy some flowers for your other half. It is one of the things that best define Tallinn architecture. Can't and shouldn't miss it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
402 reviews
231 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 483 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

A nice square, not to miss as everything is closeby within the old town of Tallinn. The flower stands are beautiful

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, MA
Level Contributor
263 reviews
187 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 378 helpful votes
“Very Pretty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

This is a very pretty and colorful square with lots of flower stalls and other kinds of little shops. The flowers seem to be very reasonably priced compared to other things I saw. There are 2 towers which lead into old town that are very picturesque. It doesn't take very long to see it unless you want to visit some of the shops. We walked there a couple of times on our 3 day visit to Tallinn and it always seems to be quite busy. If you are going to visit the KGB Museum from old town you just need to follow Viru Street out of old town and you will end up at Viru Square. The Viru Hotel is at the end after you cross the Main Street.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viru Square also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Viru Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viru Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.