We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good alternative to hotel in Tallinn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pilve Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Pilve Apartments to your Saves list
Pilve Apartments
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Pilve 4, Tallinn 10122, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 95 Specialty Lodging in Tallinn
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good alternative to hotel in Tallinn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

It was my third stay there and I would recommend it as a nice alternative to hotel while you are in Tallinn. The one bedroom apartment was very spacious, had a decent kitchen, good size TV and a balcony. I like location very much- close enough to the Old Town but in a very quiet residential area. The staff could not be nicer responding without any sign of annoyance to a few changes to our original booking. My only reservation with this place is showers, no shower base or bath with water just running in the hole in the floor. I know it is very common in Scandinavia and might be cost saving for builders but so inconvenient to use! But all in all it is a good place to stay if you prefer your own cooking and more space than any hotel room would offer (unless you can affor a suite). And also a very good value off season. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    16
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
11
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This was the third year in a row we stayed there while visiting Tallinn, everything seemed perfect before, but this year we had some disappointing experience. We were a group of friends and had several kinds of apartments and I can say that studio and 1-bedroom apartments need some serious renovation (think twice before book those). 2-bedroom apartment seems still ok, but they should clean carpets, sofas and curtains from time to time.. And the smell in the bathrooms is terrible! I wouldn't like to say anything bad about this place, but they should really warn about the condition of several rooms or reduce the price, if they can't afford renovation. I've attached some photos of 1-bedroom apartament (No.26) bathroom, it's just for those who are planning to stay there - be ready.. There was no other lighting in there, and that lamp was already there when we moved in - doesn't seem pretty safe when water reaches the lamp while you are showering :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilve, Manager at Pilve Apartments, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear guest,

We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced in our apartments.

Pilve building was built in 2005. In 2011 we started to renovate our apartments. We renovate them one by one, so some apartments are still in the process of renovation. At the beginning of 2014 we finished renovating apartment no 26. Please see new picture in the description.

If you come next time we would be glad to offer you a special discount to compensate the problems of your last stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

nice and cozy appartment, close to a big shopping centre, not so far from old town, many buses goes there...
just one thing... maybe is nececessary change towels one time every four-five days......

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I had been a bit worried by some previous reviewers who had noisy neighbours and clanging gates, but there was nothing like that at all. The apartments are at the end of a quiet residential cul de sac. We had apartment 13, a large one bedroom apartment overlooking the quiet street. We had three large modern windows that opened completely for fresh air or locked partly open at night.

We loved all the space after lots of small hotel rooms in recent weeks. We had a table with four chairs and a couch in front of the TV. The kitchen was quite good. The stove top worked well. Good fridge, coffee maker and kettle. We asked for wine glasses when we bought wine at nearby Kriistine.

The bedroom was small and a bit airless in summer. We were hot. I had to sleep in my Vietnamese silk sleeping bag.There is a permanently heated towel rail in the bathroom, which is good for drying things but adds heat to the apartment unless you keep the bathroom door closed. There is a big clothes drying rack.

Kriistine shopping mall is a round a couple of corners. Prisma supermarket inside is huge and open until 23:00 every night, although the vast alcohol section shuts earlier.

Pilve is two stops by trolley bus to the Old Town - they come frequently and cost €1.60 on board OR €1 if you get tickets at R Kiosk.People are friendly if you get lost!


Pilve 4 advertise massages and we organised one and Jaanika was terrific.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torun, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Very spacious apartment - clean and comfortable. Perfect for families. Only 5 minutes to big shopping center and just a quarter to beautiful Tallinn Old Town.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed in the hotel apartment with a group of friends. Big apartment, decent prices. Okay location but very good connections to the city center.

Not too many pieces of kitchen ware, nor extra towels, but for a few days there's everything you need to get by. We dined out mostly anyways. Cooking would have been difficult with the available kitchen equipment.

I could stay there again with a big group. On a couple's trip this would not be my choice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

I have rented an apartment twice at Pilve Apartments. The apartments themselves are nice for what you're paying. Ideal for staying with a group of friends. The equipment is very basic, so consider yourself lucky if you have enough glasses, forks, knives, ... for everyone in your group. Some apartments have a sauna which is a big plus.
Unfortunately, a lot of these apartments are rented to groups that are clearly on a drinking-only holiday in Tallinn, which means: a lot of noise at nights, fights between different groups under your window, etcetera.
Good place if you are looking for a cheap place close to the center, and you don't mind the noise at night.

Room Tip: Top apartments get very hot! It wasn't very warm when I was there, but still it was quite hot in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilve, Manager at Pilve Apartments, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear guest,

We are sorry about this situation.

It had been a problem in our apartments a few years ago. That’s why now we have an assistant who lives in one of our apartment building and controls peace and quiet at night. Guests who have noisy neighbors can call us and our night assistant will come to solve noise problems.

For hot apartments we can provide ventilators. Please feel free to ask at the reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.4 mi away
L'Ermitage Hotel
L'Ermitage Hotel
#22 of 84 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 439 reviews
1.0 mi away
Economy Hotell
Economy Hotell
#28 of 84 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 365 reviews
0.8 mi away
GoHotel Shnelli
GoHotel Shnelli
#29 of 84 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
#21 of 84 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 497 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#1 of 84 in Tallinn
5.0 of 5 stars 776 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#15 of 84 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pilve Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pilve Apartments

Address: Pilve 4, Tallinn 10122, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 95 Specialty Lodging in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pilve Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pilve Apartments (Apartment.ee) are situated in green and quiet area, just 15 minutes walking distance from Old Town. We offer 37 apartments to rent and providing accommodation for up to 140 people. We have fully furnished studio; 1-bedroom; 2-bedroom; 3-bedroom; 4 bedroom and 2 level penthouse apartments. All apartments have been furnished to high standards and offer guests every convenience (non-smoking rooms, baby cot (on request), central heating, iron/ironing board, fresh bed linen and towels, free laundry, weakly cleaning, electronic key, smoke detector in a room, internet, cable TV, hair-dryer, toilet, shower or bath, washbasin, heated towel rails, coffee machine, electric kettle, refrigerator/freezer, cooker, pots, pans, dishes and cutlery). It is the perfect choice for guests on business or leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelBookers, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pilve Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pilve Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.