We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best avoided” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kalev Spa Hotel & Waterpark

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kalev Spa Hotel & Waterpark to your Saves list
Kalev Spa Hotel & Waterpark
3.0 of 5 Spa   |   Aia 18, Tallinn 10111, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best avoided”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

I booked this because of the pool and sauna as well as the location near the old town. I was sorely disappointed. At reception you are met by a very grumpy man (one of the several). I had problems with my digital key and after i was sent on a couple of trips up and down the stairs to sort it out, still no apology or anything just grunts.

The sauna is not signposted and if you find it in the pool changing rooms you might be unlucky like me and find it full of russian army-types. Not very relaxing.

The bath in the room is not much better ... the plug doesnt fit properly so bathtime is strictly time-limited.

The hotel guide in the room is really a list of rules of varipus types. Nothing too unreasonable when you read them but this approach says a lot about the attitude to customer service. I think i'd describe it as 'soviet'.


I planned to swim here .. in fact its the main reason i booked it. However i cant because i brought my swimming shorts and the rules are no shorts, trunks only. Not that i was told this beforehand.

The location is close to the old town but the local roads are sketchy at night. Im not easily concerned about that kind of thing but the nearby main road and park had some distinctly undesirables in it and the back road it badly lit and there are a few dodgy types around.

The bathroom is great but the room is a tiny double ... if i open a suitcase in the only place i can, i cant open the door very well or use yhe chair at yhe desk.

Overall ive stayed in a million times better places in tallinn for only marginally more. Avoid this place like the plague.

I hope the breakfast is ok in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    83
    49
    7
    10
See reviews for
45
71
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hämeenlinna, Finland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

If you make your decission based on price and location - and you want to stay in spa hotel, then this is your choice, absolutely. But if you are looking for good service minded personel, great breakfast, then skip.

Suites are nice: the bathroom is huge and they have terrace of their own with view towards old town and sea.

Room Tip: 5th floor suites. And I think that all the other rooms on 5th floor have similiar terraces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We (2 adults, 1 teenager) stayed in Kalev Spa Hotel for two nights. The room was spacious enough for three and the only thing that I found a bit disturbing was the noise from the street below - it may look like a quiet, peaceful little street but is actually quite busy both day and night. We were, however, staying on the 2nd floor; we had some friends staying on the 5th floor and you did not even notice the traffic from there, plus the view from the top floor was absolutely great. The location of the hotel next to the old town is excellent. The room was nice, the decor maybe somewhat old-fashioned but quite tidy and there was plenty of space for clothes and things. The beds were OK, not too hard. The breakfast was quite adequate and the service on the whole very friendly. The spa and waterpark with the 50 m pool were excellent. My husband and son both had a haircut at the hotel and were very pleased with it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Kalev Spa Hotel for six nights to celebrate our anniversary. We loved this hotel. When we told them that it was our anniversary the front desk staff sent up a bottle of nice champagne for us to celebrate. The facilities at the spa and gym were really nice. We really enjoyed the pool every day that we were there. Finally, the location of the hotel was excellent - it was right outside of the old town area and near a park. It was really easy to get anywhere in the city from this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siilinjarvi, Finland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed in Kalev Spa Hotel for three nights. As a family we enjoyed the two room apartment. Spa was very nice, boys of age 10 and 13 were enjoying the water slides and good hamburgers of pool bar.Too bad I coldn't get myself to gym which seemed well equipped. Location of the hotel is nice. Right next to Old Town and Merekeskus shopping center.
With taxi it took 5 euros to harbor and 10 euros to Pirita beach.
Breakfast was OK. That was our second time in Kalev Spa Hotel and I think we are going to stay there sometimes more.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

My family spent 2 nights in this establishment.

The room was spacious and comfy. The only complaint was the noisy spring bed, but it was a minor issue as was the antique television system:)

The breakfast was some plain but adequate.

For us the free use of the water park was great and the children pool was great!

All and all service was great and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I'm a swimmer so I enjoyed Kalev Spa as it is a combination of a pretty good spa with hot tubes, slides, etc but also had a full 50 pool which was almost empty so I had some good trainings. My kids (4,8,10) enjoyed the place as well.
Hotel is a very standard one so I'd give it three stars. Location is extremely good, just next to old town.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kalev Spa Hotel & Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalev Spa Hotel & Waterpark

Address: Aia 18, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kalev Spa Hotel & Waterpark 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kalev Spa Hotel & Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalev Spa Hotel And Waterpark
Kalev Hotel Tallinn
Kalev Spa Tallinn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalev Spa Hotel & Waterpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.