We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, pleasant hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Savoy Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Savoy Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Savoy Boutique Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Suur-Karja 17 / 19 | Old Town, Tallinn 10148, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Helsinki
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent location, pleasant hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I spent one night at Savoy Boutique on a business trip.

The location was excellent - a short walk to the restaurants and sights of Old Town and also to Viru Keskus shopping mall.

We were a group of 19 people, and had booked double rooms (cost effectiveness). For that the hotel is not necessarily ideal, since most of the double rooms we had were furnished with double beds that you could not separate. It's not the hotel's fault that we had to share rooms, but this is something that is good to be aware of.

We had soup lunch at the hotel on the day of our arrival. The fish soup was ok, but I had so many bones in the fish that it made eating the soup a bit cumbersome, and the portion was pretty small. Service worked well.

The room my colleague and I shared (202) was on the second floor and faced the square in front of the hotel. We seemed to have some constant noise in the room, so I used earplugs all through the night. It wasn't too bad, but again something that is good to be aware of.

I appreciated fresh fruit slices at breakfast, and very good fruit juices as well. The breakfast buffet was not very big, but it offered just about everything I thought should be there. I went early, so had lot's of room. Due to the small space, it may be a bit challenging during the peak breakfast time. The waiters offer coffee at the table, but you can also ask for cappuccino or espresso; the waiters do not mention this proactively, which is why I missed it myself, and only realized that when I was just about finished with my breakfast and someone else ordered a cappuccino.

The meeting room we had was below street level, so the room felt like it had no windows, even though it did actually have small windows close to the ceiling. The meeting arrangements were ok, but the room was a bit tight for our group of 19. Again, not the hotel's fault as such, but good to be aware of.

I am struggling with whether to give this hotel "average/three stars" or "very good/four stars". Many things are well taken care of at this hotel, the rooms are cozy and comfortable, the bathroom well equipped. The noise I experienced at night may not bother everyone. The location was very good from many points of view. I ended up giving "very good" but with some reservations.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Manager at Savoy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Sari,

Thank you for your suggestions and comments!

I am sure that many people will find your review a useful one and that you have helped a couple of them make a good choice of accommodation, even.

I sure do hope that you will visit us again and we can provide you with the five stars!
Kind regards,
Edith Mihkelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    155
    31
    7
    3
See reviews for
59
218
30
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

This is a brilliantly located hotel for the old town. It's lovely and clean and we really enjoyed our breakfast every morning (at the weekend it's served until 11 which was a lovely bonus after a late night out) but service isn't particularly welcoming.
Unfortunately due to it's central location it is right by some very loud night spots and the local taxi rank. Your room has ear plugs in the bedside drawer but even with those and the thick glazing it is still loud and the beat from a local club was thumping through on the first night :-( I probably wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Manager at Savoy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear SwissSooosi,

Thank you for your post!
I am sorry that you found the Old Town sounds a little bit too much for your taste. We are dealing with this concern constantly with our neighbours as well as the local government and some progress has been made time to time.

I hope you do decide to visit us again and find out that there is much more hidden in the Savoy Boutique Hotel than just the loud neighbours on weekends!

Kind regards,
Edith Mihkelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canvey Island
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We visited the Savoy Boutique Hotel for our wedding anniversary. I e - mailed the hotel for them to put a bouquet of flowers in the room this they did. The Savoy Boutique Hotel rooms could not be faulted light and airy the only problem being it tends to get dark very late in Estonia making it essential you closed the shutters. The staff could not do enough for you making sure you enjoy your stay you could even have Champagne and smoked salmon for breakfast if you wished.
Please keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Room 405 gives a view over the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Manager at Savoy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Alan,

Thank you for your kind words!
I am very excited to see that you were enjoying your anniversary here at Savoy Boutique Hotel.

And I will promise you, we will keep up the good work. Why not for your coming anniversaries? :)

Best wishes,
Edith Mihkelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

It's hard to imagine that there's a better hotel in Tallinn. The Savoy Boutique Hotel is charming, authentic, and convenient. Located right in Old Town, the location can't be beat. It's a 3 minute walk to the Old Town Square and it's possible to walk to the far side of Old Town in about 10 minutes. The Tallinn Opera House is across the street as are numerous bus and tram lines if you're keen to explore "modern" Tallinn.

The hotel itself is authentic and charming in every way that a big, business hotel is not. The rooms are spacious, clean, and finished with an exceptional attention to detail. From the stucco walls to the granite counters in the bathroom, to the double-pane windows; everything seems to be outfitted with quality. I had a room at the back of the hotel, on the third floor, so it overlooked the rooftops of Tallinn (rooms at the front would overlook a little square). I had three large windows; all which opened easily to let in fresh air and the sounds of the city. Free Wi-Fi (at a good, reasonable connection speed), an in-room safe, plenty of bath gels and shampoos made the room perfectly comfortable. Housekeeping was fantastic and provided turn-down service late in the afternoon.

Beyond the room, the hotel had a great restaurant for breakfast (included in my rate) and a fantastic bar with outdoor seating. The breakfast in the morning was a full-spread; it would be difficult to find a fault with it. The staff were attentive, polite and helpful throughout the stay.

There really is no need to look further. The Savoy Boutique Hotel is a great place to stay if you're going to spend a few days in Tallinn.

Room Tip: Rooms 203, 204, 205, 206, 207 (and 303, 304, 305, 306, 307, etc.) have great views across a small sq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Manager at Savoy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear ModernDayNomad,

Wow! Thank you so much for this positive energy you sprayed all over us!
I cannot even begin to describe what it feels for a hotel staff to see something that rewarding as your review was.

You can sure bet that you are always welcome back any time!
Kind regards,
Edith Mihkelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, Highland Region.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Most enjoyable hotel on our Baltic Capitals tour. Nothing plasticy or chrome plated brashness of some chain hotels. Quiet corner of the old town with pavement tables in summer. Taxis available at the door. Buses 3mins walk. A cosy modern/old world charm of a boutique hotel. Highly recommended. Lucky chimney sweep statue out front sums up this place`s charm. Dont forget to rub his nose and buttons for good luck, local tradition. Worked for us !

Room Tip: Street facing rooms offer good late night people watching, Casino other side of square. Quiet even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Manager at Savoy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Doddie,

Thank you for this enjoyable read!
I am very glad that even the traditions seemed to work out and everything went great!

Hopefully this is not the last time you are experiencing the magic of Tallinn. Our doors will certainly be wide open for your return!

Sincerely,
Edith Mihkelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a lovely hotel. Great staff, location and excellent food. All the staff were friendly and helpful and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. They also have one of the best restaurants in town.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Manager at Savoy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear walk1485,

Thank you for reminding others that we are a hotel to be remembered!
I am very happy to see that you found our aspirations fulfilling.

Hopefully we will meet again so I can show you our gratitude in person!
Kind regards,
Edith Mihkelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
37 hotel reviews
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

The Savoy Boutique Hotel is on the edge of the old town, within walking distance of most places. It is a friendly small hotel, with a nice gas fire to sit around on a damp afternoon.
The twin rooms are quite small but it had everything you needed.
Breakfast was nice - with lots of choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Manager at Savoy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear AJ,

Thank you for your post!
I am very glad that you found Savoy Boutique hotel a pleasant experience.

Hopefully these memories will have a continuation the next time you are in Tallinn!
Best wishes,
Edith Mihkelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Savoy Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Boutique Hotel

Address: Suur-Karja 17 / 19 | Old Town, Tallinn 10148, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#4 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Savoy Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sincere hospitality in an exclusive environment!* Superb location in Tallinn Old Town* A romantic, dignified and cozy boutique hotel* Amidst all cultural events and historic sights, built in 1890's* Houses restaurant MEKK, which tempts you to discover Modern Estonian Cuisine. The Savoy Boutique Hotel is located at the very heart of Tallinn, in the medieval old town. It is a superb place for people who travel for business as well as for pleasure. The capital city's most noteworthy business, entertainment and shopping centers are nearby. The hotel building was constructed in 1890 and renovated in 2006. A piece of luxury that makes you feel at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel, Cheap Tickets and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Savoy Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Boutique Tallinn
Hotel Savoy Boutique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savoy Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.