We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and a very nice location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Savoy Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Savoy Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Savoy Boutique Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Suur-Karja 17 / 19 | Old Town, Tallinn 10148, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Espoo
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel and a very nice location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

This hotel is very centrally located. It was only a very short walk away from all the places we visited. There is a nice place for foot massage very close, and there are lots of very nice restaurants close to the hotel.

Our room in the third room (on top of the entrance) was very nice. It was very quiet, the safe was big enough, and the wifi worked very well. Bed was very comfortable, and the air conditioning worked very well too. The breakfast was very good.

We'll definitely stay at this hotel again when we return to Tallinn.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Manager at Savoy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Tero,

Thank you for your kind words!

It makes us very happy here at Savoy Boutique Hotel to see that you enjoyed your visit to Tallinn as well as to our hotel.

I am already looking forward to have you back here soon!
Kind regards,
Edith Mihkelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    141
    29
    7
    3
See reviews for
51
187
26
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire,England
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Distance from airport approx 15 minutes by taxi, on the edge of the old town.
Cost of taxi - €10.40 arriving and €6 departing??? I can only think that the airport taxis on rank charge more !!!
The hotel staff work very hard, are efficient and friendly. Tips are expected but they give good service for it. The hotel is well decorated and gives an air of being posh without the snootiness.
The upper floors appeared to be renovated during our stay but we only saw workmen carrying carpets up the stairs and we weren't inconvenienced at all.
Breakfast was very nice, even bubbly provided. Good selection of cold meats/cheeses/salads, porridge and cereals, sliced bread and baguettes, I would have likes bread rolls provided but a minor niggle. Breakfast was 7am to 10am and if you went down before 9am you virtually had the placed to yourself, most people came down between 9.15 and 9.30, to be fair only about 12 couples seemed to be staying there, nice and quiet.
Our room was not extremely large but well laid out, large marble bathroom, toiletries, robes and slippers, room safe, tea/coffee (but no milk ???), minibar (expensive as always), large tv on the wall, small table and 2 chairs, a room safe, room temperature gauge, very thin decorative drapes and wooden shutters at the windows, to be fair they shut out most of the light, we were facing the front and during the week fairly quiet but I could imagine at weekends it would be too noisy to sleep without ear plugs (which are provided free in the bedside drawers- wonder why ??). If you stay at weekends get an upper room at the back, the restaurants and bars seem to stay open all night, which is strange for a city clearly deserted in wintertime. but I would think at weekends this city comes alive. We stayed mon to weds and it was nice and quiet, still plenty of restaurants and coffee shops to choose from but annoyingly some have staff outside pestering you to go in- clearly a sign of not much business.
The location is right near the old town, cobbled streets, plenty to see and do.
If you come out of the hotel and look down the street to your left, you will see a shopping mall/cinema which has a supermarket on the lower level (I think it was called Solaris), perfect for buying alcohol and food for the room. We used the minibar to keep milk and beer cold.
We really liked the feel of this city, quaint and friendly, we didnt like the new town- too busy and business like but stay in the old part/harbour and you cant go wrong.

Room Tip: Weekends, higher floor and at the back, otherwise be prepared to use ear plugs and eye masks !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Manager at Savoy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear redmin,

Wow! Thank you for this comprehensive letter!

There is no doubt in my mind that you have been very helpful to more than just us here at Savoy but to many other users on tripadvisor who are trying to find a perfect location to stay at when visiting Tallinn.

I am extremely happy that a person with such a showingly clear view of the trip they expect has only compliments towards our hotel.

I would be more than happy to show my gratitude to you in person the next time you are here in Tallinn!

Sincerely,
Edith Mihkelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

This hotel had some beautiful touches with a boutique feel to it. It had a great restaurant and cute bar. The room itself was very comfortable and of a decent size. The beds were comfortable and the toiletries were nice. The staff was fairly friendly and helpful. Housekeeping was thorough and efficient. The hotel is very centrally located in the old town, however, it was located next to a few bars that were open until early in the morning. It could be quiet noisy (especially on the weekends). Also, the elevator was quiet small so you had to make a couple of trips with your luggage (not a big deal though). Overall, I would actually give this hotel a little above a four rating but that's not available on TripAdvisor. I would stay at this hotel again and would visit Tallinn again as well. Tallin is such a beautiful city and they actually enjoy having American tourists (there's very few of us there).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Manager at Savoy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your overview!

It surely sums up the experience of Savoy quite nicely.
I believe this report can be a big help for someone looking for a place to travell or choosing a hotel in Tallinn.

Hopefully I can pass my gratitude in person the next time you visit us from across the Atlantic!
Sincerely,
Edith Mihkelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Great hotel and very nice situated, just 2-3 minutes walking from the main old town square.
Many restaurants and bars around.

Clean, large and quiet rooms.
Smiling staff and good breakfast. :-)
Will come back again with pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Manager at Savoy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Mike,

Thank you for your kind feedback!
We will certainly have you back with pleasure.

Best wishes,
Edith Mihkelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

This is a lovely hotel with great rooms, great food and very attentive staff but if you want sleep then it's the wrong place. I suspect that during the week it's fine but on Friday and Saturday night it's totally impossible to sleep really at all due to the noise from nearby bars and drunk people shouting on the street outside. It's a shame because apart from this it's really nice. Unfortunately I would never stay here again if it was at a weekend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Manager at Savoy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Andrew,

Thank you for your thoughts!

It is good to hear that you liked the hotel overall. At the same time I understand your concerns about the sleep quality. We try to grant our guests a sleep as good as possible in Old Town conditions. Furthermore, we are constantly highlighting these questions to the Town Hall as well as our neighbours nearby. I think the city has taken a big step by regulation the opening hours of some of the bars at Suur-Karja street.

Hopefully you will give us another try some day so you can see the improvements!

Best wishes,
Edith Mihkelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Great hotel in a superb location. They accomodate our dog too! The most helpful staff, special thanks for helping us find a veterinarian (for echinococcosis medication, before leaving Estonia), and for searching Christmas events.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Manager at Savoy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear File,

Thank you for your comment!
I am glad to see that you were happy with our accommodation as well as the service.

This is how we manage to put an effort every day - because of kind words from people like you.
I am already looking forward to have you back at Savoy.

Sincerely,
Edith Mihkelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

My husband and I have just spent 3 nights at the Savoy, and what a wonderful place it is too. The staff were most obliging and the hotel spotlessly clean. The rooms are well laid out and have an in room safe at no extra charge. Coffee/tea making facilities were provided and replenished each day. It would have been nice to be provided with some dried milk but the supermarket was nearby and fresh milk could then be kept in the fridge. The bathroom was well equipped and shampoo etc replenished regularly. There was even under floor heating which was great. We would like to have seen a couple of hooks in the bathroom to hang wet towels. There was one just above the hairdryer but hanging a towel on that would have covered the dryer. There was another but that would only take one towel. Another item we would have liked was an over bath washing line.
Breakfast was fresh and plentiful. The selection of juices were wonderful and you could even have a 'bucks fizz'. Cereals, toast, cold meats, cheeses, smoked salmon, sausages, bacon and scrambled egg were plentiful and the 'hot' choices were just that - hot.
The location of the hotel was ideal for both the old and the new town. We would thoroughly recommend this accommodation. Well done.

Room Tip: A view over the front of the hotel would be my choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Manager at Savoy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Tufty,

Thank you for your very pleasant feedback!

It is nice to see that you found it in you to write such a comprehensive comment on us. I am absolutely thrilled by your kind words and we will surely try to improve based on your suggestions, also.

Kind regards and happy holidays!

Sincerely,
Edith Mihkelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Savoy Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Boutique Hotel

Address: Suur-Karja 17 / 19 | Old Town, Tallinn 10148, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#4 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Savoy Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sincere hospitality in an exclusive environment!* Superb location in Tallinn Old Town* A romantic, dignified and cozy boutique hotel* Amidst all cultural events and historic sights, built in 1890's* Houses restaurant MEKK, which tempts you to discover Modern Estonian Cuisine. The Savoy Boutique Hotel is located at the very heart of Tallinn, in the medieval old town. It is a superb place for people who travel for business as well as for pleasure. The capital city's most noteworthy business, entertainment and shopping centers are nearby. The hotel building was constructed in 1890 and renovated in 2006. A piece of luxury that makes you feel at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Savoy Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Boutique Tallinn
Hotel Savoy Boutique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savoy Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.