We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb stay at Savoy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Savoy Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Savoy Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Savoy Boutique Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Suur-Karja 17 / 19 | Old Town, Tallinn 10148, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Turku, Finland
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Superb stay at Savoy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

Just spent Easter in Tallinn at Savoy. Hotel's location could not be better and service at the lobby as well as at the bar was excellent.
I read somebody complaining about a hole in dressing gown; well that they had not fixed, because I found the funny hole in the armpit as well!

Breakfast was crowded, but food was good. I found everything I wanted on the buffee and coffee was served to the table. Nothing to complain. No noise from the streets or from inside the hotel!

Room 502 was not very big, but the view to the street was nice.
Defenately will be coming back.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Savoy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
Dear Mari,
Thank You! We very much appreciate You taking the time to give us feedback!
We are really sorry that the dressing gowns were in such bad condition. We have replaced the gowns
completely with new ones by now.
We are sincerely happy to hear that You will visit us again! We are looking forward to hosting You again.
Kind regards,
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    129
    28
    7
    3
See reviews for
47
166
24
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

Excellent hotel, ideally located in old town Tallinn. Short taxi ride from airport (8 euros). Staff very friendly and cannot do enough for you. Breakfast OK, had dinner one evening and this was superb. Only one slight complaint, no tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Overall fantastic stay and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Savoy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2011
Dear Steve,
Thank You very much for the good feedback about the service and cuisine!
We are planning to put the coffee and tea making machines in the rooms in the near future.
Hopefully You will visit us again and by that time we have the facilities in every room!

With best wishes,
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

Great hotel walking distance to all major sights. Staff very helpful and willing to please.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Savoy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2011
We would like to thank You for taking time to give us the
feedback.
Excellent service is a high priority for us and we are very glad that
You enjoyed the visit to Savoy Boutique Hotel!
Hopefully we see You soon!

Whit best regards,
TallinnHotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

Beautiful hotel, excellent service from all staff. The location was just right to explore the city from, and although we noticed some taxis and people around outside, they were having a good time, as they were obviously enjoying their holiday so this is to be expected from a city centre hotel. A fantastic stay, the room was lovely, the bathroom was much bigger than we were expecting and the breakfast was good value too.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knowle
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

We stayed on 21st Feb for 4nights and thought the hotel was lovely and a great location.

The only negative that needs attention was the breakfast service.

Whilst the waitress did everything possible to provide good service the breakfast operation was poor.

Every morning you had to wait for the waitress to ask you whether you wanted a tea or a coffee! This was fine if there was no one else there but if the breakfast area was crowded then the system broke down.

The once with 15 people there the service took ages. Also what was more rediculous was that the waitress had to walk across the whole reception area to get the hot water every time she needed to get a top up. Why couldn't they put a kettle in the restaurant area?

What was funny on the last morning of our stay, was that the toaster packed up. When I asked the waitress she said not to worry as it would be fixed by tomorrow!

Overall I would recommend although my wife would want me to mention that the towels were too thin and that there was a hole in the dressing gown!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Manager at Savoy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2011
Dear "LordKixley"!
First of all I would like to thank You for taking time to give us the
feedback about Your visit in Savoy Boutique Hotel.
Every guest comment is very important to us in order to find out our
shortages and improve our service in future.
We are very sorry to hear about Your unpleasant experience in our hotel
breakfast.
About the disappointment that You received during the breakfast service
please accept our deepest apologies.
Of course this does not make any better your experience but by your feedback
we have learned about our mistakes and are able to avoid future guests
dissatisfaction.
I really hope You´ll visit us again and get service whitch is according to
Savoy Boutique Hotel standards,
Yours sincerely,
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

This suppose to be 4 or 5 start hotel, right? Hotel itself is very nice and historical. Service was very polite and good. Rooms were clean and nicely decorated, even there was odd structural things in the bathroom (flooding after the shower) . These were the nice things. But... There is a taxi station next the hotel and if you happen to have room from that side of the building, you can say goodbye for your sleep. There seems to be a competition who uses the horn most. And where you have taxi station you have also all the drunk people from the near area. This might be the issue only during the weekend. Also the buffet breakfast wasn't on the level you would expect from this kind of hotel. Summary: it all depends from where you will get your room and is it a weekend.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Savoy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2011
Dear Nieminen,
Thank you for expressing your opinion and some constructive criticism!
We were truly sad to learn that your good-night-sleep was disturbed by some noise from the street despite the efforts that were made to sound-proof the building already when it was renovated 5 years ago. Looking into what might have been the reason for such unusually great noise in the street we discovered that there were several events held in the city this weekend and, thus, a much bigger number of youngsters in the streets at night than normally. Therefore, the situation was probably the same in all Tallinn Old Town buildings and doesn’t necessarily reflect the everyday situation.
As far as your comments about our breakfast are concerned, we have received similar feedback a few times lately and are at the moment seriously working on improving the quality and selection.
All in all, we are glad that the facilities and service of the hotel were to your satisfaction and hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you here again!
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

This hotel is well located for the Old Town & Viru shopping centre. The hotel itself was lovely & good value. Breakfast was good, although it was the same every day.

On the negative side we stayed at the front of the hotel on the 3rd floor. Over the road is a noisy bar and a very busy Taxi rank which are in full use until 4 am consequently the room was noisy despite the shutters and double glazing. Snow clearing then seemed to start outside around 6am.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Savoy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2010
Dear Vegavision,
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! We were sorry to hear that the noise from the street reached you despite our sound-proof windows; if you come to Tallinn again, please inform us beforehand and we’ll be more than happy to find you a lovely room facing the back of the building.
Wishing you a snowy Christmas,
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Savoy Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Boutique Hotel

Address: Suur-Karja 17 / 19 | Old Town, Tallinn 10148, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#5 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#7 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Savoy Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sincere hospitality in an exclusive environment!* Superb location in Tallinn Old Town* A romantic, dignified and cozy boutique hotel* Amidst all cultural events and historic sights, built in 1890’s* Houses restaurant MEKK, which tempts you to discover Modern Estonian Cuisine. The Savoy Boutique Hotel is located at the very heart of Tallinn, in the medieval old town. It is a superb place for people who travel for business as well as for pleasure. The capital city's most noteworthy business, entertainment and shopping centers are nearby. The hotel building was constructed in 1890 and renovated in 2006. A piece of luxury that makes you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Savoy Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Boutique Tallinn
Hotel Savoy Boutique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savoy Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.