We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, Very good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of GoHotel Shnelli

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added GoHotel Shnelli to your Saves list
GoHotel Shnelli
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Toompuiestee 37, Tallinn 10133, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 83 Hotels in Tallinn
Ipswich
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good location, Very good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We'd picked out this hotel before booking flights & usually book direct with the hotel, but when we came to book the flights we found Easyjet were offering it at even cheaper rates than the hotel so of course we booked via the airline. Because of the all in one price I can't remember how much the hotel was but the price was sufficiently low that we were initially a bit concerned that it was just too cheap. However, the Trip Advisor reviews were pretty good so we decided to take the chance & it proved to be a really good choice.

OK, the rooms are a little bit more basic than we would normally expect - for instance there isn't a wardrobe, just a rail & hangers for your clothes & there's no room safe or coffee & tea making facilities in the room. However, on the positive side the location is good, beds are comfortable, the shower is good, the heating works well (it was well below freezing for most of our stay) & the place is spotlessly clean. Also the staff are friendly & helpful & (a bonus from our point of view) speak good English. The hotel is directly next door to Balti jaam, Tallinn's main raliway station & there is a covered walkway on the 3rd floor of the hotel leading into the first floor of the station. This is where you'll find the hotel's spa facilities & the breakfast restaurant. If this sounds a little odd, there is evidently a tie in between the hotel & the station - for instance there is a travel desk on the ground floor of the station which is also part of the Go Group (we used it to buy day return tickets to Helsinki which is only 2 hours away by ferry). Breakfast offers a good choice - cold meats, cheese, porridge, eggs, bacon, sausage, toast, jams etc & is of reasonable quality. We rather liked the slightly quirky breakfast room. The hotel also has a nice cafe adjacent to reception.

Being located next to the station makes the hotel easy to find. If you flying in to Tallinn you can get a bus from outside the airport's lower ground floor exit that stops at Balti jaam. The bus is a Hansabuss, easy to spot as it has an airplane logo on the side. It does a circular trip from the airport around the outside of the old town centre stopping at strategic points. They run every 20 minutes, there is luggage space & a fixed price of 3 euro.

Our room overlooked a busy main road (although we didn't find the noise a bother) that has a small park on the other side & the outside of the old town walls. I imagine the park must be attractive in spring as it has plenty of trees & a lake. It was all covered in snow when we were there so still very attractive, if in a different way. The view from our room was very nice, particularly at night with the snow covered trees in the foreground, the old town walls behind & the rather grand illuminated buildings rising above the walls. We'd pass through the park several times a day for the pleasant 10 to 15 minute walk to the old town centre. I believe Tallinn is reputed to be the best preserved medieval town in Europe & having visited I'd say its a deserved reputation. As far as the architecture goes, we probably didn't see the old town square at its best as it was filled with a Christmas Market but it did look very nice with a large central Christmas tree surrounded by illuminated stalls & it does have some lovely old buildings. The old town is not very large so I think if you're considering a visit to Talllinn, a 3 night stay would be ideal (we did 4 but that included a full day trip to Helsinki). Food seems to be very good - we ate 3 dinners & a couple of lunches at various restaurants throughout the old town & everywhere was excellent.

To sum up, I hadn't been expecting too much from this hotel because of the very low price we paid but was pleasantly surprised to find it was actually rather good. If you plan to visit Tallinn & want to keep your costs down I can recommend this hotel as a very good choice.

Room Tip: Opt for a front facing room if you can for a view of the park & old town
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    298
    113
    16
    6
See reviews for
69
253
61
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Krakow, Poland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

If you look for a good hotel on a tight budget it's an excellent choice. Location is perfect for sightseeing. Just cross the street and you're in Old Town or take one of the busses or trams to go anywhere you want. Spotlessly clean. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. My room on 2nd floor was facing the street so was a bit noisy, but earplugs solved the problem.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergamo, Italy
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Direclty at the train station, but very safe. 5 min on foot to downtown. Modern, clean, free WIFI, a nice bar at the ground floor, friendly staff, basic of course, but it would be wrong to expect more than that. Choose a room facing the the town for a little extra. On thr other side train station.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Nice hotel to book a triple room. Very centrally located and near bus and train stations. Short walk from old town.
The TV, the WI-FI and room applianced all worked.
The service was polite, somewhat friendly. The beds were very good.
Breakfast was very good and it was served in a restaurant next door. Enjoyed it a lot.

Room Tip: You get your money's worth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is one great hotel comparing to so many hotels I have ever been,good price , excellent service, nice people, clean and big enough rooms , perfect breakfast and really helpful staff, one of these young ladies translated a very difficult english text to stonian language for me for free. Iocation is excellent not in the middle of the city center but right beside the train and tram station which you can get to the city center only by one euro tram ticke, I really suggest this nice hotel to everybody.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panevezys, Panevezio Apskritis, Lithuania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed there for two nights in November. Hotel is perfect located for those who are coming by trains and actually old town is reachable by hand. We hadn't any catering, but were going to eat out and you can find lot of good restaurants/bars just 10-15 min walking from the hotel to old town (here we always find helpful City Guides by In Your Pocket). Girls at reception were helpful and we got anwers to all our questions.

Room Tip: Rooms on train station side can seem bit noisy, although isolation is very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to GoHotel Shnelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GoHotel Shnelli

Address: Toompuiestee 37, Tallinn 10133, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#15 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#18 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — GoHotel Shnelli 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your second home in Tallinn! Go Hotel Shnelli is a tourist class hotel providing personal and friendly service in the immediate vicinity of Tallinn's Old Town and the historic passenger terminal Balti Jaam. Our cosy hotel is an ideal stop for anyone who appreciates kind service, superb location and affordable prices. We offer our guests hotel rooms in four comfort classes and a wide range of additional services, most of which are free of charge. The hotel includes a meeting room with an exciting train car design, which is ideal for hosting meetings and seminars. Go Hotel Shnelli offers its guests a total of 137 hotel rooms with two different views. Superior and family rooms overlook the beautiful Old Town and Shnelli Park, and standard rooms offer views of the historic railway. The newest addition - Apartments - allow us to offer even more cosiness and homely feeling to families with children, but also for couples who appreciate comfort, space and privacy. Unlike other hotel rooms, the new family rooms include a kitchen nook, which is equipped with a microwave oven, fridge, kettle and dining table. We have rooms for people suffering from allergies, people with special needs and rooms for smokers. The hotel also welcomes pets. All our guests enjoy free parking, luggage storage, wireless internet (WiFi), use of a safety deposit box and round-the-clock reception. We are looking forward to having you visit us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your GoHotel Shnelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gohotel Shnelli Tallinn
Gohotel Shnelli Hotel Tallinn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GoHotel Shnelli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.