We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Merchant's House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Merchant's House Hotel to your Saves list
Merchant's House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dunkri 4/6, Tallinn 10123, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
NYC
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Brilliant boutique hotel perfectly located within the heart of beautiful Tallinn. The rooms are decorated differently but all are quite lovely. We had a UNESCO Heritage wall in our room. Very nice, helpful staff. Having a to-go breakfast ready for us upon our early departure was just an example of the helpful service. Location could not have been better. Overall wonderful visit - just wish it could have been longer!

Room Tip: Request a courtyard facing room if planning on going to sleep early but if staying up late until the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    147
    56
    16
    6
See reviews for
44
237
30
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I enjoyed a couple of days in the hotel with friends. I have visited Tallin before and this hotel is very well located right in the old town adjacent to the square. Breakfast very good - buffet style and we had a private BBQ , brought inside due to weather but very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

we have stayed in Tallinn many times and wanted to try somewhere different.

the hotel is centrally located which helps and the main part of the building is medievil and looks great.

our room was large but for soemrrason the bed was on a large platform which meant getting out of bed was interesting as it was easy to fall. the shower wasn't the best either i remember.

on the whole though the hotel was nice and i would stay there again. there maybe better hotels but there are worse ones too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Inside it looks just as the name implies....the former home of a wealthy merchant, with many of its ancient walls and ceilings designated part of the Tallinn UNESCO Heritage site. Our room, with one such ceiling, was huge and comfortably and stylishly furnished.
Merchant's House couldn't be more central in the old town, the downside being the proximity of several very noisy bars (as almost anywhere in old Tallinn). But don't let that put you off; either stay Sun to Thurs - which are much quieter - or book a room at the back.
Breakfasts aren't the greatest, but quite adequate - and the happy hours are very appealing.
The hotel staff are superb..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballygally, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at The Merchants House Hotel for 3 nights over the May bank holiday.I had e-mailed the hotel before hand to arrange a pick up from airport,driver was waiting for us in terminal on arrival,perfect.Clean spotless car,all very professional for €20.
The hotels location is absolutley perfect,about 20 seconds off the square,dont think you could get better.
We had a executive suite in the courtyard,rooms were great- bath robes,slippers,hair dryer,toiletries,mini bar ect and 2 tvs,one in bed area and other in the seperate lounge area.
The only down side for me was the room was a little dark and a mirror was needed in lounge area were table is,for hair and make up.The room we had 214 was so quiet,i was a little worried when we first arrived as the courtyard is set up with table and chairs for drinks ect but we never heard a thing.
The staff were really friendly and helpful,ringing tourist attractions for us and always very pleasant,we also met the manager,Jonathan,who was great,very knowledgeable and helpful,my mother-in-law is due to visit Tallinn soon with a cruise ship and he told us to ask her to visit the hotel for a complimentary drink and a little tour about,so nice.
We are definatley going to visit Tallinn again,and we will be staying again at The Merchants House Hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in Executive room 214 in courtyard,very spacious and quiet,our room had a bath with shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We enjoyed a 3 night stay using the special offer which included an excellent 2 hour private tour around Tallinn which lifted the veil on what it was really like there both now and in the past in the occupation years. We were treated to a wonderful meal in the restaurant and were the only ones eating there. Every effort was made to make the meal and atmosphere special even with rose petals leading to our table.
Our room (209) was fine and the thing to remember is that this is a really old building with lots of character and eccentricities. If you are looking for the standard international hotel this may not be the place for you, but if you are looking for atmosphere and being in the very heart of the old town, with pleasant and helpful staff then I highly recommend this hotel to you.
Our room overlooked the courtyard, on the first floor and was very quiet.
Thank-you for a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstallinn, General Manager at Merchant's House Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Brenda,

Thank you for taking the time on writing a review on tripadvisor.

The hotels private 2hr tour is amazing as Tallinn has so much history to soak up, with many interesting facts.

I am glad that you enjoyed the rose petals and food in the restaurant.

Thank you again for all your comments, which I will pass to the team in the Merchants House Hotel.

Kind regards

Jonathan Poole
General Manager
Merchants House Hotel
Tallinn, Estonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This hotel is in a great location...just off Old Town Square. Great and attentive service and a solid breakfast (always appreciated!). Extremely comfortable bed. Unfortunately, our room was a little small (in my opinion). It was also right on the courtyard - kind of like being right next to the elevator! Please, please invest in some black-out curtains - seemed to be a lot of light coming in.

Room Tip: Request a courtyard-facing room, not on the ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstallinn, General Manager at Merchant's House Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Merchants House Hotel and the restaurants in Tallinn that where recommended.

I will forward your positive comments to all staff.

I am additionally very happy with your comments regarding breakfast and we our spending alot of time updating this and always adding things after guests reviews.

Each room in the Merchants house is of a different shape and size due to the buildings dating back to the 14th and 16th century. I will review all curtains and blackouts in all rooms.

Thank you again for your comments

Jonathan Poole
GM Merchants House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Merchant's House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant's House Hotel

Address: Dunkri 4/6, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#13 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#18 Business Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Merchant's House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in local history, the Merchant’s House Hotel stands on a charming cobbled street just a few seconds walk from Tallinn’s beautiful and captivating Old Town Square. The Merchant’s House Hotel has 37 suites and rooms, which all vary in shape and design due to the flexibility and character provided by these 14th & 16th Century historical buildings. Each room in the property offers guests an exciting combination of mediaeval architecture and state-of-the art fixtures and fittings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Merchant's House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchants Hotel Tallinn
Merchants House Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merchant's House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.