We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, interesting rooms, pleasant facilities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Merchant's House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Merchant's House Hotel to your Saves list
Merchant's House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dunkri 4/6, Tallinn 10123, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great location, interesting rooms, pleasant facilities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I think this hotel might depend on the room you get and if noise bothers you, but for us it was fantastic. We had a huge room- almost the size of a small apartment- overlooking a street. You could hear everything outside, but we slept great anyway. The staff was friendly and helpful, there is a sauna that you can use (need to reserve and can use privately for one hour), the décor is very nice, and the location is perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstallinn, General Manager at Merchant's House Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Merchants House Hotel Tallinn.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and Tallinns old town. The hotel has 4 rooms that overlook the pedestrian road infront of the hotel.

Wishing you an enjoyable summer

Thank you again for your kind comments,

Jonathan Poole
GM Merchants House Hotel
Tallinn Estonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    165
    62
    16
    8
See reviews for
49
269
32
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed here to celebrate our anniversary, and chose an Executive suite, which has its own sauna, and a living room. The room was at the end or the inner courtyard, and the location was very quiet at least during our stay. There's also a fire place in the room which might be nice if travelling during the winter. The staff were helpful and friendly, the breakfast ok, the room clean, very spacious and nicely decorated. We used the sauna, which was nice although the steps are quite steep so perhaps not suited for people with disabilities. In the bathroom the tiles were partially loose in places, so a little tlc would be in order. Overall a nice stay, nothing big to complain about; the location can't be beaten and the hotel has a charming feel to it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstallinn, General Manager at Merchant's House Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Merchants House Hotel Tallinn.

I am sorry for the two loose tiles in the bathroom. Both where fixed by our maintenance man upon your check-out.

Thank you again and looking forward to welcoming you back to the Merchants House.

Regards,

Jonathan Poole
GM Merchants House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peasmoldtown
Level Contributor
96 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I have visited this hotel twice, booked each time through the SAME online booking agency: On both occasions I was traveling with friends, who were in separate rooms. So I have now experienced 4 rooms in the hotel. On the first visit (Jan 2012) our impression was of real quality, luxurious even, in a slightly downbeat way. The second time (April 2013) the same hotel felt decidedly dowdy. the difference of course, was in the room I was assigned, which surely accounts for the somewhat disparate reviews here. Upper floor rooms in the main building are very comfortable and well maintained, whilst the ground-floor rooms off the courtyard are correspondingly grubby, as well as being rather poky. The latter are in serious need of renovation- I second the comments of others about mold on the bath sealant, showers spraying all over the place, and inadequate heating. The radiator in my room was not working at all (nobody pointed this out to me when i was shown my room). After some fiddling around i noticed the electric heater under the desk, pulled it out and swirtched it on, after which the room warmed up adequately, even though it felt a bit out of keeping with the decor. As for the breakfast, here too the picture is mixed. I think some reviews on this site are a little unfair, though being vegetarian I can't really comment on the meats etc. The breads were nice, but the croissants dry and overbaked. The vegtables and fruits were more than adequate, grilled mushrooms, overcooked scrambled eggs and baked beans added a funky British touch, and the cheeses and yoghurt were delicious. But the tea and coffee service left something to be desired. Tea made one bag at a time in small porcelain cups always comes out tepid and underbrewed, unless there is a way of at least prewarming the cup (which there wasn't). The coffee was typical for Scandinavia, but the side-menu of specaility coffees at 3 e a shot left a poor impression. This can all easily be rectified, by supplying pots of breshly brewed coffee or tea at each table, to order. The hotel has a nice sauna available for guests on request and, as everyone says, its location in the old city is perfect. Service is also very kind and efficient. On balance, it's a lovely place if you get assigned the right room, and a disappointment if you don't. Caveat emptor.

Room Tip: upper floor, main building; avoid ground floor rooms around the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pershore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful spacious room, contemporary decor and roomy en suite with a good shower. Perfectly located for exploring the sites of the Old Town, just off the Town Square.

Friendly and helpful staff who speak good English.

Breakfasts are good although wider variety of cheeses/cold meats would be good. Maybe a plea more more towels although I'm sure they would have provided them if asked.

Would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lewes uk
Level Contributor
128 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Merchant's house hotel is in two lovely historic and slightly rambling buildings just a stones throw from the town square in Tallinn. The reception staff are extremely friendly and helpful and were able to let me check in early after my overnight ferry from Helsinki. I had a comfortable room on the 3rd floor which was warm and cosy and overlooked the inner courtyard of the hotel so was very quiet. Room was well equipped as was the bathroom and very warm, the underfloor heating in the bathroom was a bit fierce but you could turn it off. The bed was in an alcove so cosy but there was nowhere to put glasses etc, but a minor point - other rooms way differ.
Breakfast is served in the vaulted below ground dining room and was good, hot on the morning I had it and a nice selection of cold items. Altogether a very nice hotel, quirky but friendly and comfortable in an ideal spot in the old town.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The very helpful and friendly staff were the highlight of this hotel. I get the impression that rooms would have once been very lovely however they have not been maintained. Although large, our room was on the main corridor from the front door meaning we were woken in the night by returning guests. The corridor has a stone floor and is particularly echoey making you feel that other guests were inside your room.

The room could have been much cleaner- the shower had mould in the sealant and there were cobwebs, dirt under the glass on the desk and in need of a fresh coat of paint. The shower was very difficult to use- it sprayed the entire bathroom with water if you wanted to put it on the shower bracket. The room did not include tea/coffee facilities but the introduction book stated we could request this. On request we were told there were none available. In a four star hotel we would have also expected the use of an iron. We would have graded the hotel as 3 stars.

Breakfast was ok at the weekend and the staff did make us a take away on the morning we left early for Helsinki day trip. On our final morning however this was much better with items made to order.

Location is perfect although it is opposite a beer hall (A great place to visit) but very noisy at the weekend and the rooms facing this would imagine have noise issues. You are a few paces from the town square.

It's a shame as this had much potential but needs updating in the room we stayed in and better amenities in the room.

Room Tip: Avoid 101 - very loud!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Located seconds from main square. Very large room with comfy bed (decoration would need refreshing in next 12 months). Private sauna & spa in hotel basement, perfect to warm up in after a cold day. Breakfast selection varied and plentiful in nice restaurant in basement.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#1 of 84 in Tallinn
5.0 of 5 stars 780 reviews
0.7 mi away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#2 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 1,379 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#3 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#6 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 530 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#5 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 575 reviews
0.1 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#12 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchant's House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant's House Hotel

Address: Dunkri 4/6, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Business Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Merchant's House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in local history, the Merchant’s House Hotel stands on a charming cobbled street just a few seconds walk from Tallinn’s beautiful and captivating Old Town Square. The Merchant’s House Hotel has 37 suites and rooms, which all vary in shape and design due to the flexibility and character provided by these 14th & 16th Century historical buildings. Each room in the property offers guests an exciting combination of mediaeval architecture and state-of-the art fixtures and fittings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Venere and EasyToBook so you can book your Merchant's House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchants Hotel Tallinn
Merchants House Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merchant's House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.