We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, poor breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Merchant's House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Merchant's House Hotel to your Saves list
Merchant's House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dunkri 4/6, Tallinn 10123, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, poor breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Lovely hotel with excellent location,reception staff very attentive, the room was spacious, clean and quiet with a lot of windows, extra heater, bathrobes and slippers.. all in all a very well equipped room and we did not miss anything. Would definitely stay again despite the poor breakfast.

Yes, the breakfast. The chef should get some serious training in basic cooking.. boiled eggs were overcooked to the point where there was a black layer inside, scrambled eggs were fried to total dryness, sweet buns were raw, bacon was either burned totally black or almost raw (depending on the morning) yoghurt were all warm (not a desirable feature in a dairy product).. All this happened 3 mornings in a row so it is not just a single mistake. All in all it is a lovely hotel but the breakfast desperataly needs some changes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    149
    57
    16
    7
See reviews for
46
241
30
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Altrincham
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Absolutely loved this hotel. It has the perfect location, about 10 metres walk from the main square. The rooms were lovely and spacious with trendy decor. The bar area was tiny but great for pre-dinner cocktails and breakfast was substantial. The staff were fabulous with great command of English. I would highly recommend for anyone visiting Tallinn.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstallinn, General Manager at Merchant's House Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing with Tripadvisor readers your impressions of the Merchants House Hotel.

Our staff are pleased that you appreciate their efforts to provide excellent service. We are really happy to know that you felt most welcome in our unique property that is full of character.

We shall be happy to have you back at the Merchants House Hotel

Regards

Jonathan Poole
General Manager
Merchants House Hotel
Tallinn, Estonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

At first, I was quite pleased with the hotel. The location is excellent, right next to the Old Town Square, near all hip restaurants, cafes and bars.

The service at the front desk was very attentive, informative and friendly and I have no complaints about that.

But then things started to go downhill.. We were taken to our room or should I say dungeon. The entrance was from the courtyard, which was cute in a way till we noticed that there was no windows in the room! The door did have a window, but that didn't help much. The room was actually underground, three steps down from the courtyard. It seemed that the floor had not been vacuumed at all since there were small pebbles all over. Thankfully I found complimentary slippers which I wore all the time in the room, otherwise the feeling of the pebbles under the soles of my feet was very unpleasant.

We had a double bed but it was actually two twin beds hauled together. This would've been okay but since there was only one blanket, it meant that one of us fell into the void in the middle in order for both of us to use the blanket!! Not comfortable at all.

There was a safe in the room but it was unattached to the cabinet. So if someone wanted to rob the safe, all they had to do was take it out of the cabinet and carry it out.

However, the worst thing was that there was no heating whatsoever in the bathroom. It was obviously broken because the floor and the whole bathroom were absolutely freezing. The shower curtain was strange material which got absolutely soaked when showering. As there was no heating, it did not dry at all. The shower hose was designed for very short people because you had to crouch down in order to wet your head!!

Breakfast was disappointing as well. The choices were okay and there was fruit which is always a plus. But the cheese, cold cuts, salmon and yogurt were all kept at room temperature, ie. they were all warm. The room where the food was laid out was very warm, so that made it even worse. Keeping these products in such a way increases risk of spoiling and thus food poisoning. I lost my appetite!

For the price we paid (115 euros), I would've expected much better than just good location. I guess the establishment has better rooms, at least considering all the good reviews the hotel has received.

I certainly regret not choosing the Savoy or Nordic Hotel which have been good, solid choices before.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which has a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstallinn, General Manager at Merchant's House Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor. All reviews are important to us.

My sincere apologies for the lack in our serves provided by our housekeeping department and also I would like to add the front office department, All hotel in Tallinn and around the world have a certain amount of twin rooms that are also used as doubles (universal hotel bedroom format rooms). These beds have special clips to turn them from twin to doubles which where not correctly fitted. I do apologise that this was not done and also more important checked.

The Merchants House Hotel has checking procedures that where not followed. This could have been recified within 20 seconds if front office, housekeeping or I where informed.

The hotel has a certain amount of rooms on the ground floor (courtyard) that have steps into them. I am sorry that you did not like this room. We could have moved you to a different style of room if you had spoken to front office or myself.

The switch for the bathroom floor heating is before the entrance on the righthand side on the door.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy the hotels breakfast...... I would like to correct you on what you have written. The hotel takes very seriously health and hygiene. ALL cold meats, cheese, fishes, our firstly stored, dated, sealed in the kitchens refridgerators and then placed when required on a professional chilled hotel cold buffet serving tray...

I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your stay at the Merchants House Hotel, as my aim is to please everyone.

Kind regards

Jonathan Poole
General Manager
Merchants House Hotel
Tallinn Estonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The one word that comes to mind in describing this hotel is "interesting" and not in the way 'interesting' has come to be a back handed compliment of sorts; or a consolation prize for a compliment when there is nothing special in a superlative manner of speaking. I mean 'interesting' in a very literal context. This place is interesting because everything about it is engaging, and holds your attention and curiosity. From the way the rooms are laid out to the odd decor that borrows references in an endearingly amateurish way from indo chine and baroque aesthetics as comfortably as it does from a very average scandinavian palette and tone. The restaurant in the cellar is odd in an (almost but not quite) alice in wonderland kind of way. The staff speak excellent English and know the difference between a poaching and steaming eggs but they don't quite get the logic of freshly squeezed juice. The service is precise, and always adequate. The rooms are spacious with a full bath. Ours had a sauna as well. I loved that. The beds are very comfortable. I was almost convinced they were Haastens beds. The location is fantastic. You can walk everywhere. And the restaurants in the neighborhood rival some of the best in Europe. Tallin is full of secrets and surprises and this property does not fail to deliver. I highly recommend staying here. Of course you can stay at the Telegraaf (I'd rather eat there. Tchaicovsky is the best Russian restaurant I have ever been too; after cafe Pushkin in Moscow; and now in NY) Or you can splurge at the 3 sisters hotel. But none will surprise like this. Seriously, if you're in Tallinn on holiday, you are clearly a traveler with curiosity, and interest. Stay somewhere that's got the same kind of vibe.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed here for one night and it was a very nice experience. Staff was very welcoming and professional. Free fast internet. Rooms big with high ceilings. Bathroom excellent with a bath! Breakfast is in the basement and is very nicely decorated with old bricks. Breakfast was superb with big variety. Although the place at breakfast time was a bit crowded. There isn't much to say about this place you just have to stay there yourself. Loved the experience, although dearer then most of the hotels near by. Will definitely come here again. Oh one more thing. If you need to park a car, do not park at the car park recommended. It's too dear! Something like 20+ EUR a night. Instead you can park it right behind the Monument near by and it cost only 7 EUR a day. Look for the place "Eesti Kristlik Nelipühi Kirik" place - its right in front of it. 10 min walk to hotel but you save quite some money, plus the parking there is guarded, the proposed parking by hotel has only video cameras and again is very expensive. Near hotel there is a loads of places to dine and eat. Shopping is about 10min walk away. Tallinn even has Vapiano food place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

As our second visit to Tallinn was with friends we required 3 rooms so booked direct with the hotel, they provided the best rates and excellent service. They even arranged transfers to and from the airport for a very reasonable price. All communication before the trip was very quick and extremely helpful, thank you Jonathan and Elenni. Rooms 308 & 309 were occupied by our friends and proved to be extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean, they were surprised at how far they exceeded expectations. We had 310 and found it to be ideal for our needs and even a little larger than our friends rooms (result).
The facilities in the room were very good, though tea and coffee making equipment has to be requested from reception but arrived quickly. The Staff at reception were very helpful and accommodating, even when we had booked the sauna and had to cancel on the last minute because our friends were still Shopping (in the pub!!). Food in the hotel was of a very high standard and breakfast was really nice, a selection of buffet style continental fayre from cereals, pastries and even cured smoked salmon through to a a la carte menu of cooked food, Full English to Eggs Benedict, all delicious. One point though was that on Sunday only the buffet food was available but a selection of hot food (eggs beans bacon sausage ect) was available on the buffet.
We also had the fun experience of tasting a small (large) selection of drinks in the Ice bar and would recommend Vanna Tallinn in the ice glasses... surprisingly warming!
Overall I can not recommend this hotel highly enough, We all had a great time and each of us has promised a return very soon. Congratulations to Jonathan Poole and team, you have created a very warm and welcoming environment that could very easily become addictive.
Thank you.

Room Tip: Rooms 308,309 and the slightly larger 310 at rear of hotel and are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

The location in the lovely old town is perfect. Very impressed by the friendly & efficient service. Problem with one of our rooms handled quickly & well. The bedrooms are round a courtyard at the back of the hotel, and have character. I would like to have stated longer.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Merchant's House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant's House Hotel

Address: Dunkri 4/6, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#13 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#13 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Merchant's House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in local history, the Merchant’s House Hotel stands on a charming cobbled street just a few seconds walk from Tallinn’s beautiful and captivating Old Town Square. The Merchant’s House Hotel has 37 suites and rooms, which all vary in shape and design due to the flexibility and character provided by these 14th & 16th Century historical buildings. Each room in the property offers guests an exciting combination of mediaeval architecture and state-of-the art fixtures and fittings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Merchant's House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchants Hotel Tallinn
Merchants House Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merchant's House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.