We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in a renovated old building” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Merchant's House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Merchant's House Hotel to your Saves list
Merchant's House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dunkri 4/6, Tallinn 10123, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel in a renovated old building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed here for one night and it was a very nice experience. Staff was very welcoming and professional. Free fast internet. Rooms big with high ceilings. Bathroom excellent with a bath! Breakfast is in the basement and is very nicely decorated with old bricks. Breakfast was superb with big variety. Although the place at breakfast time was a bit crowded. There isn't much to say about this place you just have to stay there yourself. Loved the experience, although dearer then most of the hotels near by. Will definitely come here again. Oh one more thing. If you need to park a car, do not park at the car park recommended. It's too dear! Something like 20+ EUR a night. Instead you can park it right behind the Monument near by and it cost only 7 EUR a day. Look for the place "Eesti Kristlik Nelipühi Kirik" place - its right in front of it. 10 min walk to hotel but you save quite some money, plus the parking there is guarded, the proposed parking by hotel has only video cameras and again is very expensive. Near hotel there is a loads of places to dine and eat. Shopping is about 10min walk away. Tallinn even has Vapiano food place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    157
    61
    17
    7
See reviews for
48
258
31
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

As our second visit to Tallinn was with friends we required 3 rooms so booked direct with the hotel, they provided the best rates and excellent service. They even arranged transfers to and from the airport for a very reasonable price. All communication before the trip was very quick and extremely helpful, thank you Jonathan and Elenni. Rooms 308 & 309 were occupied by our friends and proved to be extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean, they were surprised at how far they exceeded expectations. We had 310 and found it to be ideal for our needs and even a little larger than our friends rooms (result).
The facilities in the room were very good, though tea and coffee making equipment has to be requested from reception but arrived quickly. The Staff at reception were very helpful and accommodating, even when we had booked the sauna and had to cancel on the last minute because our friends were still Shopping (in the pub!!). Food in the hotel was of a very high standard and breakfast was really nice, a selection of buffet style continental fayre from cereals, pastries and even cured smoked salmon through to a a la carte menu of cooked food, Full English to Eggs Benedict, all delicious. One point though was that on Sunday only the buffet food was available but a selection of hot food (eggs beans bacon sausage ect) was available on the buffet.
We also had the fun experience of tasting a small (large) selection of drinks in the Ice bar and would recommend Vanna Tallinn in the ice glasses... surprisingly warming!
Overall I can not recommend this hotel highly enough, We all had a great time and each of us has promised a return very soon. Congratulations to Jonathan Poole and team, you have created a very warm and welcoming environment that could very easily become addictive.
Thank you.

Room Tip: Rooms 308,309 and the slightly larger 310 at rear of hotel and are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

The location in the lovely old town is perfect. Very impressed by the friendly & efficient service. Problem with one of our rooms handled quickly & well. The bedrooms are round a courtyard at the back of the hotel, and have character. I would like to have stated longer.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in January with a group of friends for a friends birthday. I had an amazing weekend from the pre arranged transfers that was organised by the hotel to the relaxing spa treatment.

We dinned in the hotel of the 1st evening, and it is one of the best meals I have ever had.

The breakfast was great, nice selection of continental products from cereal to fruit, to meats and cheeses, to the freshly cooked breakfast.

Staff are brilliant and make the hotel, very helpful and always there to help.

I work in a 4 star hotel in the UK and know what to look for in a hotel for service and quality. This hotel is one of the best I have ever stayed in

Well done to All!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This was our 5th trip the Merchants House and each time we come and stay it gets better and better. The Hotel staff on reception are exceptionally helpful, friendly and super efficient. The room we were given was out of this world, very romantic and made my birthday extra special - Thank you to the management for the extra special added touches. The rooms are spotless and cosy and the cocktails in the ice bar are amazing. My favourite Hotel in Tallinn situated in the heart of the old town you cant beat the location and its very quiet at night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstallinn, General Manager at Merchant's House Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Terry & Kelly N,

Thank you for such positive feedback. My team and I are glad to hear that you carry on to enjoy Tallinn and the Merchants House Hotel each year.

Again wishing you a happy 4th fo February.

p.s. Eneli the merchants house hotel sales manager also would like me to say thank you for the chocolates.


Kind Regards

Jonathan Poole & The Merchants House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I feel like coming home year after year. Staff and service is super, location is perfect 50 m from Raekoija Platz, rooms are all charming and spacious, lobby even has Cranach's on the wall and they now have free Wifi.







  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstallinn, General Manager at Merchant's House Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Mrs Liesbeth V V D,

Thank you for your kind comments on trip advisor.

I glad that you enjoyed your 6th stay at the Merchants House Hotel and keep on choosing the Merchants House Hotel since 2007.

My staff and I am looking forward to welcoming you back to the Merchants House Hotel and Tallinn Estonia.

Kind Regards

Jonathan Poole
Generla Manager
Merchants House Hotel
Tallinn, Estonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stayed here in January with a group of friends for my birthday. We'd arranged the booking online through the hotel, on arrival I received an upgrade to a suite with a bottle of bubbles to share with my friends. All the other rooms were lovely and great value for a hotel literally round the corner from old town square.

We ate in the hotel the first night and had an amazing meal. The staff at the hotel were great, all very friendly, helpful and spoke excellent English.

We all had a fantastic time and I would highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Merchant's House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant's House Hotel

Address: Dunkri 4/6, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#13 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Merchant's House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in local history, the Merchant’s House Hotel stands on a charming cobbled street just a few seconds walk from Tallinn’s beautiful and captivating Old Town Square. The Merchant’s House Hotel has 37 suites and rooms, which all vary in shape and design due to the flexibility and character provided by these 14th & 16th Century historical buildings. Each room in the property offers guests an exciting combination of mediaeval architecture and state-of-the art fixtures and fittings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Merchant's House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchants Hotel Tallinn
Merchants House Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merchant's House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.