We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful city, fab hotel, free suite upgrade, happy wife” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Merchant's House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Merchant's House Hotel to your Saves list
Merchant's House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dunkri 4/6, Tallinn 10123, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful city, fab hotel, free suite upgrade, happy wife”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

For some bizarre reason, my wife wanted to go to Eastern Europe for a birthday short break. After a bit of research, cheap flights to Tallinn seemed available & it is very cheap to eat out there (dinner for 2 with 3 courses & wine 50 euros :-)

Merchant House Hotel has some glass sliding doors and is nicely appointed - high ceilings, old beams, random Dutch repros lining the walls and the staff are all really friendly & helpful, not typical in Estonia where the customer is often given orders!

Amazingly, there was a bottle of wine waiting for us plus a free suite upgrade which was lovely. The hotel is literally 100 yards from the central town square and 3 nights is more than enough to explore Tallinn's beautiful old town in winter, particularly when it's -10-20 (yes, minus) degrees celsius.

The only issue there is the restaurant (check out reviews of Entrecote Restaurant Tallinn for proof), even at breakfast the food was highly variable (watery scrambled eggs/singular sausage with bacon bits etc) but the buffet was good. We didn't attempt dinner there for obvious reasons and many of Tallinn's best rated restaurants are just around the corner (200 yards, literally).

On the plus side, in our courtyard beautifully warm (ahem) suite (3 seasons, room 207), there was free wifi that actually works, beautifully peaceful, 2 TVs that we never turned on and loads of space. The shower (rose) was wonderful once it warmed up - want a wet room at home now!

Don't expect Western luxury standards of furnishings and you won't be disappointed, although our bed was very comfortable which was fab :-)

Had a wonderful stay - Tallinn & Merchant House Hotel are both highly recommended, even in the depths of an Estonian winter, just take your long-johns/thermals/hats/gloves/scarfs, you will need them!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstallinn, General Manager at Merchant's House Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Mr. Hunting,

Thank you for posting your comments on trip advisor.

I am glad you and your wife enjoyed Tallinn and the Merchants House Hotel. Like yourself many people our suprized by the beauty and history of Tallinn and Estonia.

Tallinn has many amazing restaurants which I also believe our good value.

I am glad that you (like many other guests) appreciated the friendly and helpfulness of the staff at the Merchants House Hotel.

I am also glad that you appreciated the birthday upgrade and wine to help you celebrate your wifes birthday.

Tallinn can get very cold in winter but is also very romantic with the snow over the old town building.

As i have mentioned in a previous guests comment, I am presently updating and changing the Food and Beverage outlets, and hope you will have the chance upon your return to see the difference.

I am glad that your thought the beds where amazing, as I am presently upgrading all beds in the Merchants House Hotel and this is already positive news that guests already see the difference.

Thank you again for your kind comments

Jonathan Poole
General Manager
Merchants House Hotel
Tallinn Estonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    151
    61
    16
    7
See reviews for
48
253
31
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel has a small frontage but is an amazing place in the winter.. All rooms are spacious and even the single I had was the size of a double (My friends rooms were larger but not by much!) and the price was very reasonable for the standard. A friend had a massage in there relax room and said it was brilliant and extremely good value for money.
The mini bar was reasonable and the room came with a safe for valuables and the restaurant was to die for. (Try the steak)
The bar in the hotel is fantastic and does a reasonable range of drinks and cocktails although the ice shots were off when I visited due to a faulty freezer. but the beer was excellent..
The staff are really attentive and all speak English well. The hotel is situated just off the main square which makes it accessible to all areas by foot! overall for my visit this couldn't be bettered hence the Excellent status

Room Tip: One word of warning if you go in the summer is the beer keller opposite which has tables and chairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstallinn, General Manager at Merchant's House Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to read your very warm comment about Tallinn and the Merchants House Hotel.

I am glad that you and your friends tried and enjoyed all the facilities that the Merchants House Hotel has to offer.

I have forward your compliments to the staff.

Please dont hesitate to contact me or my sales team, directly if you or friend(s) plan to come back to Tallinn, Estonia

Kind Regards

Jonathan Poole
General Manager
Merchants House Hotel
Tallinn Estonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed in December with my girlfriend and our 2 year old kid. The location of the hotel is perfect, and the hotel itself is charming, very comfortable, personal and clean. We had an executive double room, which was nice and spacious for our kid to run around. The staff was very friendly. We kept our baby carriages in the hotel lobby.

The breakfast room was very nice and the breakfast itself was very good too.

I'm rating the hotel 4/5 and not 5/5 for few minor things: There was a dull smell of sewer when I was sitting in the lobby having a drink from the hotel bar. And while the breakfast was generally very good, the quality seemed to vary: First morning coffee was superb, second morning it tasted horrible. Also first morning croissants were fresh, second morning the were not.

I would recommend this Merchant's House Hotel to everyone, and we will definitely stay there again if we return to Tallinn.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I visited Tallinn again for the New year celebrations and this time brought other members of the family to enjoy all that an Estonian new year had to offer.

I booked the Merchants house and gave my family the Presidential Suite (3 bedrooms and two en suite bathrooms with one large living area split between three floors).

The food was good, the service was excellent and the location ideal - just 15 metres from the Christmas market). The beds are also excellent. I suggest however that you ask for a room overlooking the hotel courtyard as it is quieter than those overlooking Dunkri street. However I gave my family wax earplugs to sleep with just in case and they had no complaints - all slept like babies!

We spent our time at the hotel either in our rooms or around the open fire which is adjacent to the reception area.

There are of course more expensive and more luxurious hotels in Tallinn, but for the old town experience with a higher quality of service delivery, choose the Merchants House Hotel.

Room Tip: My room was 203, a small double bedded room. Perfectly adequate for me. My family of six (4 adults a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

If you want a hotel right in the very heart of Tallinn's Old Town then this hotel is in an excellent location.

If you want a comfortable room then, the room we had, was a comfortable room. It didn't have a "picture postcard" view, but the view was unique.

What pulls this hotel from "Very Good" to "Excellent"? The staff. Brilliant bunch. Very approachable, very helpful, and were some of the nicest people I met on my trip.

The only thing I didn't understand was the Ice Bar on the ground floor. Seems ... odd ... without being interestingly odd.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at the Merchant's House hotel for 3 days last week. It was our wedding anniversary and the welcome at the hotel was as wonderful as it was unexpected. The staff were friendly, the room was spacious and very comfortable and warm with outside temperatures of -15c. The hot and cold buffet breakfast was excellent although the format was changed on the last day to menu based for the hot dishes.

The location of the hotel is superb and can't be beaten for value for money as well as for the warm welcome from the pleasant staff.

Room Tip: The hotel is in a quiet street. There is no lift (elevator) and the rambling corridors might not be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Nice hotel, in a great location, a few metres from the main square.

Rooms were a little tired. Would have expected a little more luxury for the price. Threadbare towels, broken soap dispenser...

Communal areas seemed totally unused. Ice bar didn't really suit the hotel.

Breakfast was a little disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Merchant's House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant's House Hotel

Address: Dunkri 4/6, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#13 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#13 Business Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Merchant's House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in local history, the Merchant’s House Hotel stands on a charming cobbled street just a few seconds walk from Tallinn’s beautiful and captivating Old Town Square. The Merchant’s House Hotel has 37 suites and rooms, which all vary in shape and design due to the flexibility and character provided by these 14th & 16th Century historical buildings. Each room in the property offers guests an exciting combination of mediaeval architecture and state-of-the art fixtures and fittings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Merchant's House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchants Hotel Tallinn
Merchants House Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merchant's House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.