We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Anniversary mid December” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Merchant's House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Merchant's House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Merchant's House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dunkri 4/6, Tallinn 10123, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 84 hotels in Tallinn
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wedding Anniversary mid December”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at the Merchant's House hotel for 3 days last week. It was our wedding anniversary and the welcome at the hotel was as wonderful as it was unexpected. The staff were friendly, the room was spacious and very comfortable and warm with outside temperatures of -15c. The hot and cold buffet breakfast was excellent although the format was changed on the last day to menu based for the hot dishes.

The location of the hotel is superb and can't be beaten for value for money as well as for the warm welcome from the pleasant staff.

Room Tip: The hotel is in a quiet street. There is no lift (elevator) and the rambling corridors might not be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    228
    140
    47
    15
    5
See reviews for
40
219
26
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Nice hotel, in a great location, a few metres from the main square.

Rooms were a little tired. Would have expected a little more luxury for the price. Threadbare towels, broken soap dispenser...

Communal areas seemed totally unused. Ice bar didn't really suit the hotel.

Breakfast was a little disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Without doubt, one the best hotels we have stayed in for atmosphere, occasion and being fully immersed in the history of tallinn!

We stayed in the Boardroom suite which featured a Unesco protected wall, a beautiful carved feature ceiling and a leather sofa seating area. The design had been well thought out and it felt like you we're staying in a real piece of history! Location wise it is superb...a hop, skip and a jump and you are in the town square with all of the snow topped market stalls.

The breakfast was good....it was a nice change to have a choice of hot meal freshly prepared on order (full English, eggs Benedict, pancakes etc) in addition to the standard continental choices.

Reception was very helpful throughout our stay...we wanted to go snowmobiling but couldn't find anywhere....the spent a good chunk of time searching and then organising the trip for us. Very much appreciated.

We will be recommending the hotel to all of our friends. It's just a shame that after a night in Helsinki that they are fully booked for us to stay tonight!

Ten out of ten.

The O'Gradys

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstallinn, General Manager at Merchant's House Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Paul O'Grady,

Thank you for your comments. The staff and I will be looking forward to welcoming you or friends back to the Merchants House Hotel.

I will forward your kind words to the Team.

If you or friends, plan to come back to Tallinn Estonia, please ask them to contact me directly via email or telephone.

Kind Regards

Jonathan Poole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The location of this hotel is amazing, just a few seconds from the main square of the old town, which had the Christmas markets on whilst we were there, so it was really beautiful. The hotel itself is a lovely old building full of character. The staff were helpful and the breakfast was good. Our room, the hansa suite, was a really good size with a huge bathroom with separate shower and bath and its own sauna! This was fantastic in the cold Tallinn November. Room service was good and the room was clean. The only downside to the hotel is that it looks a little bit tired, the doors and frames could do with a new coat of paint, the carpet was a little worn and the dressing gowns provided, although freshly laundered, were tatty and one had a tear in it. It was also a bit chilly in the room. Would recommend this hotel for a fantastic location.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms will be quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Located just off the main square in the old town. Comfortable, clean and quiet rooms. Hotel staff very helpful and friendly which made our stay perfect. Excellent breakfast. Would recommend both the hotel and Tallinn for a visit. The Christmas market was just opening up at the end of November and sold lovely locally crafted goods at a reasonable price. Had a fabulous time.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darfield, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Merchants hotel is perfectly located in the 'Old town' just metres from the main square. The staff at reception are very courteous and helpful. The rooms are very quiet and comfortable.
The hotel management make an effort to make you feel special by leaving a personal welcome note in the room, a nice touch. Tallinn accommodation is not that cheap and given the hotels location it is probably priced appropriately.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstallinn, General Manager at Merchant's House Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Mr Brent D,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on trip advisor.

I am constantly updating different prices in the systems and always try to offer guests value for money.

Please dont hesitate to contact me directly upon your return visit to Tallinn, Estonia.

It our pleasure having you stay with us at the Merchants House Hotel and we are very much looking forward to your return visit any time.

Kind Regards

Jonathan Poole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The Merchant's House hotel is in an historic building with a central courtyard. It is in a perfect location in the heart of the old town so is ideal for exploring the city. We stayed in room 110 which was very comfortable and roomy. However we found the bed tho very comfortable was on a raised platform with two steep steps up to it! Looked like it was on a stage. A bit unnerving especially if you get up during the night and are fearful of falling off the platform. Very odd! Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good. Cooked to order during the week and a buffet at the weekends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstallinn, General Manager at Merchant's House Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely comments. The bed in room 110 is designed on a raised platform due to the old stairwell going underneath the room.

We look forward to welcome you back any time to the Merchants House Hotel.

If you or friends/family decide to come back to Tallinn/Estonia, please contact me directly next time when making your booking, where I hope to offer you a better price .

Kind Regards,

Jonathan Poole
General Manager
Merchants House Hotel - Tallinn Estonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Merchant's House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant's House Hotel

Address: Dunkri 4/6, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#9 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#9 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#16 Family Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Merchant's House Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in local history, the Merchant’s House Hotel stands on a charming cobbled street just a few seconds walk from Tallinn’s beautiful and captivating Old Town Square. The Merchant’s House Hotel has 37 suites and rooms, which all vary in shape and design due to the flexibility and character provided by these 14th & 16th Century historical buildings. Each room in the property offers guests an exciting combination of mediaeval architecture and state-of-the art fixtures and fittings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Merchant's House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchants Hotel Tallinn
Merchants House Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merchant's House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.