We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Town Wall

Town Wall
Old Town, Tallinn, Estonia
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 237 things to do in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Wonderful views across the rooftops and places to sit and enjoy the different view of the town. Photos and information in English informative.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    135
    39
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Short but good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We did the western side, I think that some of the eastern side is also open. Three towers and about 200m of wall. The stairs into the towers were very original - steep and dark. Great atmosphere. €2 each

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice piece of original medieval constructions in the middle of Europe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Tallinn is most probably the better conserved medieval town in Europe and the town walls are no exception. The park that follows the walls is actually very beautiful and hosts events and festival several times a year for what we understood. It is possible to get inside some towers and enjoy the view of the old town that is actually one of the best medieval sites I have ever seen. Moreover I have noticed several police officers walking by the area during the whole time I have been there and to my opinion that is a good point as well in terms of security for the tourists.
Overall a very good place to visit together with the main Toompea hill and parliament building.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“You can walk along one section”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is in good repair and pops up all over the city. Amazing to see something so old and atmospheric in such a war torn place.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Rocks of Ages”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Incredible that this was one of the few structures that has not been razed in war, fire and stands today on the only hill for miles around. Walk it ,climb, explore the life upon it. Just as interesting inside .

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Town Wall also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Town Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Town Wall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.