We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tallinn Zoo

Tallinn Zoo
Paldiski Maantee 145 | Ehitajate tee 150, Tallinn 13522, Estonia
372 6 94 33 00
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #73 of 237 things to do in Tallinn
Attraction details
Douglas, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Brilliant zoo and so cheap for a family of 4 - about 12 euros. Plenty to see and do including polar bears, tigers, elephants, buffalo etc. Very interesting and an enjoyable day out. Food from the cafes very reasonably priced. Children LOVED the petting zoo and feeding the goats. Chicks, rabbits and guinea pigs could also be handled. Well worth a visit.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    55
    30
    17
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Getting better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

At the soviet period this was a horror show. The Estonians are making this into a very nice zoo, but there is still a lot to do. Nice selection of animals. Many of those were not on show due to renovations, and the zoo is a bit hard to navigate. Easy to get to by trolleybus, bus or car

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“2 Students only for 5.80 Euro's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

It was great!
We really liked everything! The Seals, lion, moose, especially elephants, tortoises and cute wild boars!
Zoo was really wide, and even if I am from Riga, I must say this Zoo beat's Rigas Zoo 100%.
You must go if you have free time in Tallinn, good memories.
P.S row for tickets was a bit long. :)

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“One of the best zoos in Europe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Tallinn zoo has beautiful setting and good selection of animals, for my opinion one of the best zoos in Europe

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“In need of investment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

This zoo made me feel sad. I enjoyed the trip and, for the animals in the newer enclosures, it was clearly a good place to be. However, the zoo obviously needs funding desperately and too many of the animals are kept in cramped conditions and many looked bored.

I would return in the future, in the hope that the zoo has managed to secure the funding it so desperately needs to move its beautiful animals into the surroundings they deserve.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tallinn Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Tallinn Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tallinn Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.