We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Hotel Portus

Save Saved
You added City Hotel Portus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
City Hotel Portus
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Uus-Sadama 23, Tallinn 10120, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 84 hotels in Tallinn
Surrey
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unforgettable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

I had the time of my life at City Hotel Portus! It was fairly quiet and business-like, which suited me well, even though I was there for leisure. The hotel is almost an equal distance from Kadriorg and Old Town, which made sightseeing very easy and enjoyable - I didn't use public transport at all while I was there, because everything is easy to get to (even in all the snow!).

The hotel itself is very clean, modern and bright and Cafe Retro is lovely. It's obviously not a five-star restaurant, but that made it even better, because there was a really laid-back atmosphere. The service, both in the cafe and in reception was amazing and everybody speaks much better English than I do Estonian! As a female solo traveller, I always felt very safe in the hotel and very, very welcome - I really miss it now I'm back in the UK! City Hotel Portus is great value for money (as is Tallinn as a whole, provided you know where to go!) and I would highly recommend it to solo travellers, couples, students, large groups and business people.

Thank you to everyone at City Hotel Portus for an unforgettable holiday! xx

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office at City Hotel Portus, responded to this review, November 27, 2009
Hello Penny!
Thank You so much for taking the time to write Your positive review. It was very delightful and pleasant to read Your kind words about our hotel and staff!
We are extremely happy that we were able to assist of making Your holiday successful and unforgettable. Your comments give us a lot of positivity and strenght to be better and to improve ourselves.
Should You visit Tallinn in the future, it would be a great honor for us to accommodate You again in City Hotel Portus.

Warm regards from Tallinn and from hotel staff!
Terje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    88
    81
    9
    3
See reviews for
38
71
31
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kerava
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2009

The location was perfect.Very nice and friendly staff.Free internet and wlan was a nice extra.
Breakfast was good.A safe carage for our car was perfect for our purposes.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office at City Hotel Portus, responded to this review, November 9, 2009
Hello "taotao71",
On behalf of the hotel staff i would like to thank you for your adequate and nice feedback. We hope that on Your next visit to Tallinn we can accommodate you again !

All the best from Tallinn!
Terje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Südtirol- Pfalzen
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2009

it is the best hotel in Tallinn for this price. it is well located, close to the center and harbour. Clean and friendly staff is another plus. the only minus is the breakfast but you can't expect everything with that price. I can't complain at all.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office at City Hotel Portus, responded to this review, November 9, 2009
Hello "tomobe"
Thank you for taking time and sending Your review to Tripadvisor. We are always pleased to hear kind words from our guests!
Hoping to see You again in our hotel and wishing You a great autumn!
Kind regards from a City Hotel Portus,
Terje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

service was friendly and helplful
rooms were simple, but cosy hairdryer in the room would be nice
and shower curtain or door

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Sales and Marketing at City Hotel Portus, responded to this review, October 29, 2009
Hi "matikati",
Thank you for taking the time to give us good score. It was pleasure to read that You liked our staff and service here. City Hotel Portus is a good tourist class segment hotel, no hairdryers required in every room in this segment. But we have them at the reception, You can lend it from there, it is for free.
We are very much looking forward to your next visit.

Warm regards from Tallinn,
Alver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

great clear and spacious hotel at an excellent location, right next to the harbour and not too far from the center.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office and Housekeeping Manager at City Hotel Portus, responded to this review, October 22, 2009
Hello svenpauka,
Thank you for your review about your stay with us. We are very pleased to hear positive comments, these give to us lot of energy to continue.

Thank you for choosing our hotel and you are always welcome back.

We would like to wish you a beatiful autumn.

Regards to You from a City Hotel Portus staff,

Maiken Popkov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

This place was OK - not enough staff on reception - huge wait to check in - and further from the Old Town than we expected - took 25-30 minutes to get to old town centre. Internet access was good - breakfast was good.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office at City Hotel Portus, responded to this review, December 22, 2009
Hello!
We would like to thank You for Your feedback. Every opinion is important to us so that we could improve and get better through that. We are sorry to read that You had some problems during check in. This unfortunate matter happened due to the big group, who checked in. Ferry from Helsinki came to port and many clients wanted to have rooms at the same time with You. It is not that crowded all the time here, unfortunatelly :) Despite that incident we hope Your stay in our hotel was enjoyable, we wish You a great Christmas and hope to see You again next year!

Regards from City Hotel Portus
Terje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

We stayed at the Portus for 4 nights in July '09. The hotel is about a 20 minute walk to the Old Town, although we felt pretty safe even at night around the port. The rooms were basic (e.g. no hairdryer in the room), but quite spacious and clean - towels were changed on a daily basis. Noise from cars or ferries was not a problem. We were very diisappointed with the breakfast: A very limited selection of food and due to the large number of guests they often ran out of coffee or even dishes, and you had to wait for minutes before it got refilled. Despite these minor annoyances, we had a pleasant stay and would say that the hotel was good value.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office at City Hotel Portus, responded to this review, November 10, 2009
Hello "tt293"
Thank You for sharing Your opinions and thoughts about our hotel, it is highly appreciated! It was nice to read that Your overall experience in our hotel was enjoyable! We were sorry to learn that You had an unpleasant breakfast experience. This unfortunate thing was due to the large number of groups that stayed in the hotel on that day and these groups all regrettably had breakfast at the same time. We have since critically examined our breakfast arrangements and now breakfast tables for groups are set also in the conference room, so that the restaurant has more space for individual guests. We sincerely apologise for the case and hope to welcome You and Your friends again at City Hotel Portus!

With very best regards from Tallinn!
Terje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to City Hotel Portus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Portus

Address: Uus-Sadama 23, Tallinn 10120, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 84 hotels in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Portus 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Hotel Portus is a nice place with a reasonable price in Tallinn centre!* Spacious rooms, up to 25 m2* Very convenient when traveling by ship (Helsinki, Stockholm)* Café Retro – one of the best cuisines in the port area* Parking, indoor garage. City Hotel Portus offers for its guests 107 rooms decorated in joyful colours and featuring warm, environmentally-friendly cork floors. The rooms are equipped with everything you might need at an accommodation establishment. The larger rooms of this type (25m2) include family rooms with conjoining doors, disabled rooms, all rooms are for non-smokers and also allergy rooms are available. The conference and sauna facilities on the 5th floor of the hotel make City Hotel Portus a great accommodation facility for business travelers, as well. For guests traveling by car, we offer free parking in front of the hotel (ask permission from the reception)and for a small fee You can leave Your car in our secured garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your City Hotel Portus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Tallinn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Hotel Portus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.