We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent but dull.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of L'Ermitage Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added L'Ermitage Hotel to your Saves list
L'Ermitage Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Toompuiestee 19, Tallinn 10137 , Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Decent but dull.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I've been in Tallinn for a dozen times now and this time (in the end of March) I felt I'd try a hotel outside the Old town. I decided to go for L'Ermitage because of earlier reviews and the photos of the hotel looked nice. Not a very good decision. The hotel was actually rather dull and lacking character compared to most of the hotels I've stayed in Tallinn before. My room on the 6th floor was just tiny, with a sloped roof and a large window (and not a very good curtain). The staff seemed very stressed and not too friendly and the breakfast was nothing special. Actually there seemed to be two breakfast rooms and I was first quite confused which one to go to as I hadn't been told about that when checking in. L'Ermitage is not that far from the Old Town (only a 10-15 min walk), but it's rather far from the port of Tallinn. If walking is not your cup of tea, choose a hotel in the Old Town or in the eastern parts of downtown instead. If you don't mind walking I would recommend the Von Stackelberg hotel very close to L'Ermitage. For me it's back to the Old Town next time!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    186
    40
    11
    2
See reviews for
50
161
23
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

The hotel is located very close to the Old Town, at a walking distance from the Orthodox Cathedral, the Kiek In De Kök tower, and Toompea Castle, although to get to these places one must climb a steep hill which can be a lnot so confortable specially pn a rainy , windy or snowy day so common in beautiful Tallinn. Besides that, you have also to cross a small park where we saw a number of young people using drugs. We didn't feel insecure, but we never know...

The hotel staff is very kind and speaks excellent English - as everybody in the Baltics. They serve a very good breakfast. The hotel is well renovated, the rooms are clean, silent and well decorated. We've had a very pleasant time and we'll certainly come back.

Room Tip: If you want to avoid the traffic noise, please choose one of tha back rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed in a recently renovated area of the hotel so the room quality and its equipment were excellent. The hotel ranks really high in terms of comfort and cleanness. Be aware that the hotel is close to the Toompea Castle, so until the down town center is a 15 minutes walk.

The hotel breakfast is divided between the hotel's restaurant and cafe. We sat in the restaurant area and were invited to go to the cafe without understanding why. The breakfast was below the standard of a 4 stars hotel, being poor. In the restaurant the hotel had a special menu with a promotion. A couple sat next to us and waited around 1 hour and a half for their meal. So we opted to ask for something else and the food was really bad for the price asked, opinion shared by other guests. The hotel staff was unfriendly. So in conclusion and unfortunately the hotel great facilities and conditions are not followed by its staff or meals' quality.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I stayed in L'ermitage (where's the 'H' gone?) with a group of singers on a tour, and found the place clean and perfectly good for a short stay.

It's location is good in some ways, in that it's physically not far from the high town, and is reasonably quiet (though on a main road). To get to the main old town involves hiking over the hill which was an issue on a miserable wet evening since that's where all the restaurants are. It's also not far from the railway station, should that be useful.

My room, in the very front, was small with heavily sloping ceiling and a window sheer with the front of the building. It was by some distance the smallest room on the tour - though it may be that the price (had I paid it) would have made up for this. Others, staying in other parts of the hotel, reported better and bigger rooms. One, though, gave up and paid for an upgrade - which was very reasonable at E25/night to have his own Sauna. Given that they wanted E50 to use the main sauna he was delighted.

Breakfast was a little disappointing - with less quality in the offer than we'd had in other hotels on the trip. The pastries was nice, though. There was no gathering point or bar for the evening other than in the rather cramped lobby.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Located nicely near the old town, easy access from the harbour. I was glad there was a carage, but driving in was quite a challenge as the entrance was so narrow.
The standard room was smallish but very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linköping, Ostergotlands Lan, Sweden
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

While the room was very stylish and met every expectation (the bed! Oh, the bed is sooo comfy!) I have from a hotel in this category/price range, I was disappointed by the service - negligent and I don't think I ever saw a smile - and with the breakfast. There are two breakfast rooms, of which one is crowded, noisy and lacks air con. Also, there weren't many options so I ended up eating milk and cereals.

Upon checking out they wanted to charge us for a drink that we didn't have. The staff started looking through all the receipts from the night before, and just like we said, they couldn't find one. Everyone can make a mistake, but they didn't even comment it or apologize.

Location is good, close to the old town.

Room Tip: Ask for bathtub and a room towards the "backside".
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kouvola, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Location of this hotel is perfect. It's within walking distance from Old Town in the quiet area, so you get good sleep quality.

We had 3 different rooms.

Our Superior romance room was all what the title says. Room with Sauna was also excellent, all tough some one had turned sauna so hot that we needed to adjust it little down and we are Finn's! Normal superior room was .. hmm .. normal in it's category.

Breakfast room had a homely feeling, I love it on my travels. This atmosphere might change when the tourist season goes overdrive.

All together.. Excellent hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Ermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Ermitage Hotel

Address: Toompuiestee 19, Tallinn 10137 , Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#17 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#17 Business Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Ermitage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your L'Ermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Ermitage Hotel Tallinn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Ermitage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.