We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant but flawed experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Ermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added L'Ermitage Hotel to your Saves list
L'Ermitage Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Toompuiestee 19, Tallinn 10137 , Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A pleasant but flawed experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Well, we started off on the wrong foot: the room wasn’t ready on time and as a consequence we were:
1. offered a much more expensive “business class” room, and
2. flatly refused to be compensated with a cup of coffee from the nearby espresso machine (my half-joking proposition) by the humorless receptionist.

The room we eventually got was okay but with a serious flaw:

The okay part: the room on the fifth floor was smallish but adequate for our short (3 nights) stay. The amenities included a comfortable bed and a spacious bathroom, a cabinet with a safe and a small mini bar (that warmed up our clothes), and a flat screen TV - mainly soap operas dubbed in russian, with estonian subtitles. Everything was clean and exellently maintained.

The serious flaw: most rooms of the hotel face a noisy street, so the windows are usually tightly shut. The problem - the rooms are poorly ventilated and got very hot (at least in the summer). The windows open only a tiny bit - enough to bring in noise but not cool air.

The breakfast was okay, and we even got a fine assortment of sandwiches and fruit on the morning of our early flight home.

The hotel is a ten minutes pleasant park walk from the old city - the main attraction of Tallinn.

In conclusion: I recommend L’Ermitage hotel in winter. In summer - be warned.

Room Tip: Well, avoid rooms facing the busy street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    232
    53
    14
    3
See reviews for
63
210
27
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
130 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The hotel is a few minutes walk from the castle and 15 minutes walk from the historical center.
Rooms are nice, big enough and clean.
I desegree with people who wrote that the hotel is noisy. I think it is very quite.
For breakfast it is better no to wait last minute because the selection is less, otherwise they prepare a very tasty fruit salad.
The hotel offer a sauna option but I think that even with special offers the price was too high.
The only disappointing part was the restaurant: very very small portions and no vegetables available. Well, this is what the waitress told us in her very poor English.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruudje67
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We found this hotel as one of the best rated in Tallinn. Located just outside the old town it's only a 10 minute walk away from the main attractions. Best deal is the dinner, 15EUR per person for a (real) main course and yummy dessert is hard to beat, especially compared to any restaurant in Old Town. Very sweet reception (thanks Eliis, you rock) and very charming. Too bad our room was next to the courtyard - new construction between 10 AM and 6 PM... however we were out most of the day anyway.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a room in the back of the hotel - Toompuiestee is a busy street with a bus stop a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed a night with my wife and my younger son (6 month old). We enjoyed staying in this hotel. Staff were overall friendly and available to answer our numerous questions/request.
Room are clean, modern and operational.
Breakfast is good enough. The restaurant offer also very decent dinner at a very good price (about 30 euro for 2 course menu for 2 people).

So yes, defintely a good adress in Tallinn. I will stay there again if I come to Tallinn.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed here when visiting family in Tallinn, its well located and is close to all the sights the rooms are decent and upkeep was to a high standard. The only down side was that all the tv channels are russian, where one would expect to see at least a english language news channel and the breakfast was uninspiring, but for the overall room price we would recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the property as there is a busy road at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

It was absolutelly perfect.
The rooms were very confortable, quiet, clean; the staff was very kind and spoken english and russian as well; there was no problems with our booking; the hotel is near the "old city", so we did everything walking, no need for cabs, buses.
The breakfast was great too, a lot of options; there was free Wi-fi.
Perfect!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metz, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Really good value for money.
The room was clean.
I enjoy my business trip for 2 days and this hotel was good.
The hotel was a bit far from the center, but taxi was easy to catch.
I enjoyed my stay in the city and the staff was friendly to tell me where I should go.

I recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#18 of 84 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 861 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
#21 of 84 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 502 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#14 of 84 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#12 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 443 reviews
0.8 mi away
PK Ilmarine Hotel
PK Ilmarine Hotel
#27 of 84 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 617 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baltic Hotel Vana Wiru
Baltic Hotel Vana Wiru
#40 of 84 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Ermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Ermitage Hotel

Address: Toompuiestee 19, Tallinn 10137, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#17 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#18 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Ermitage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Venere, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your L'Ermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Ermitage Hotel Tallinn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Ermitage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.