We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Ermitage Hotel

Save Saved
You added L'Ermitage Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
L'Ermitage Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Toompuiestee 19, Tallinn 10137 , Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 84 hotels in Tallinn
london
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Good location, good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The hotel is a few minutes walk from the castle and 15 minutes walk from the historical center.
Rooms are nice, big enough and clean.
I desegree with people who wrote that the hotel is noisy. I think it is very quite.
For breakfast it is better no to wait last minute because the selection is less, otherwise they prepare a very tasty fruit salad.
The hotel offer a sauna option but I think that even with special offers the price was too high.
The only disappointing part was the restaurant: very very small portions and no vegetables available. Well, this is what the waitress told us in her very poor English.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    157
    32
    9
    2
See reviews for
39
135
20
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ruudje67
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We found this hotel as one of the best rated in Tallinn. Located just outside the old town it's only a 10 minute walk away from the main attractions. Best deal is the dinner, 15EUR per person for a (real) main course and yummy dessert is hard to beat, especially compared to any restaurant in Old Town. Very sweet reception (thanks Eliis, you rock) and very charming. Too bad our room was next to the courtyard - new construction between 10 AM and 6 PM... however we were out most of the day anyway.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a room in the back of the hotel - Toompuiestee is a busy street with a bus stop a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed a night with my wife and my younger son (6 month old). We enjoyed staying in this hotel. Staff were overall friendly and available to answer our numerous questions/request.
Room are clean, modern and operational.
Breakfast is good enough. The restaurant offer also very decent dinner at a very good price (about 30 euro for 2 course menu for 2 people).

So yes, defintely a good adress in Tallinn. I will stay there again if I come to Tallinn.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed here when visiting family in Tallinn, its well located and is close to all the sights the rooms are decent and upkeep was to a high standard. The only down side was that all the tv channels are russian, where one would expect to see at least a english language news channel and the breakfast was uninspiring, but for the overall room price we would recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the property as there is a busy road at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

It was absolutelly perfect.
The rooms were very confortable, quiet, clean; the staff was very kind and spoken english and russian as well; there was no problems with our booking; the hotel is near the "old city", so we did everything walking, no need for cabs, buses.
The breakfast was great too, a lot of options; there was free Wi-fi.
Perfect!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metz, France
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Really good value for money.
The room was clean.
I enjoy my business trip for 2 days and this hotel was good.
The hotel was a bit far from the center, but taxi was easy to catch.
I enjoyed my stay in the city and the staff was friendly to tell me where I should go.

I recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My girlfiend and I stayed at L'Ermitage for two nights before last Christmas. Hotel was smaller than I'd expected, but worked for this kind of short stay quite nicely. Room was standard sized, clean and quite modern. I found the bed very comfortable, which is important since I have some back problems. My girlfriend said she smelled cigarette smoke in the room, but I didn't notice it. I've never smoked and can usually spot the smell really easily so I would not consider this an issue.

Breakfast was reasonably versatile and plentiful, and everyone fitted in the smallish dining area. The small fireplace and comfy couches at the lobby were a big plus as it was freezing outside. :)

I would've otherwise given the hotel 4/5, but the blunt customer service at the front desk drops it to 3/5. That said, I would stay in L'Ermitage again due to its good value vs. price ratio.

Room Tip: There's a busy road in front of the hotel, so rooms facing the inner ward are probably more quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to L'Ermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Ermitage Hotel

Address: Toompuiestee 19, Tallinn 10137 , Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#17 Business Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Ermitage Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your L'Ermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Ermitage Hotel Tallinn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Ermitage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.